Baffling...

• Baffling...

...one of my contractors submits a bill for work he did involving TING (the grapefruit soft drink)...of course he refers to the "THING" job on the bill

...maybe he meant the SALT "thing"
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

And it it was THING him woulda write the bill for TING...baffles me...

LOL! You good!

I think i posted this before...but still find it funny.

A Jamaican customer came into the store to ship an item.

The sales associate ask for the ship from, ship to and item description.

"And what are you shipping"? ask the Associate.

'A hair-bag' replied the customer

"What"? asked the Associate.

"A hair-bag!" repeated the customer.

"A hair-bag?" said the Associate with a confused look on her face.

I saw where this was going to I said..."he is shipping an AIR-Bag for a motor vehicle....

The associate simply said "oh".

We offer Notary Services too.
          It is not unusual for folks to come in and ask for a Notary REPUBLIC!

If they hear everybody else pronouncing a word a certain way...wouldn't it clue them in that they are pronouncing it incorrectly? I just don't get it...

"It is not unusual for folks to come in and ask for a Notary REPUBLIC!"

Not only Jamaican.

You know I can't get "Justice of the peace" out my head, even though I haven't live in Ja for a long time. I have to think twice before asking for a Notary. LOL

If they hear everybody else pronouncing a word a certain way...wouldn't it clue them in that they are pronouncing it incorrectly? I just don't get it...
                The Associate is not Jamaican. She is not very familiar with the Jamaican vernacular. (Not many Jamaicans come in to do transactions).

No not the associate...Jamaicans who add and drop h's etc...don't they watch television...don't they hear everyone else pronouncing the words correctly...wouldn't that clue them in that they are pronouncing it incorrectly?

You are asking for too much nowTopBrick!!

Jamaicans are very 'special'.

BTW: Jus mek sure you attend the Jamaica v.US game!!

They may know but it is not an easy thing to change so why bother.

Had a geography teacher in Jamaica who use to say AR-KAN-SAS...an American bredda in the class always tried to correct her and tell her it was pronounced AR-KAN-SAW...you know she run di bredda outta di class

Jamaicans say CONNECT-TI-CUT. Americans say CONNE-TICUT. We say handbag, they say pocketbook. In my line of work, I had to make a conscious effort to learn NY Yank because I got tired of hearing "huh" when I spoke the Queen's English with my Jamaican flavo(u)r.....and also learn American spelling.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

go a little bit out your wealthy suburbs, a little further north and tell me how those Americans pronounce things. LOL.

Nuff inna a lot of Georgia not better so mi nah beat down our own at all a just so the thing set.

There are a few subtle things as well...for example when Americans say "a couple of....." they mean two and only two. When we say "a couple" it could mean 2 or more. That can cause some issues if you are not aware of it.