I hope the Jamaican court

• I hope the Jamaican court

does not embarrass itself and allow this to get to Privy Council...

The opponents to this advert don't even have a toe to stand on !

<Queen's Counsel Lord Gifford argued that the stations violated the Charter of Fundamental Rights and Freedoms by refusing to broadcast the advertisement.

The court heard that the Charter guarantees the right of Jamaicans to seek, receive, distribute, or disseminate information, opinions and ideas through any media.

But the attorneys for the defendants asked the court to dismiss the claim, with Queen’s Counsel Hugh Small arguing that the advertisement could be viewed as support for homosexuality, some of which were illegal in Jamaica.>

Homosexuality is not illegal in Jamaica !

Ah wheh di ?! lol ! woiiee !

<Solicitor General Nicole Foster-Pusey, who is representing the PBCJ argued that the stations have editorial control over what they air and noted that the court has to exercise a balancing act between the freedom of expression and human dignity.>

Human dignity ?! um.. that's the whole point !

lol !

What a joke.. Judiciary is in danger of becoming a laughing stock if they don't rule the obvious on this !

Nice discussion with yourself...would you care to edify us on the issue?

That is all moot...CVM & TVJ have the right to decide with whom they want to enter into a contractual relationship...that is all that matters...

Something wrong wid wi (jamaicans ) , when we waste time advocating BM rights and ganja man rights isnt an issue , seriously the economical ,psychological(social cost ) on the ganja man rights is an anchor that is holding Jamaicans down .I argue that everyday 300 Jamaicans are locked up behind bars according to G2k stats , its a soul lost by in effect criminalising the individual from social advancement.

BM lucky !..and yuh waaan know why wi Bun dem out ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Difficult argument for Gifford to make successfully when you are talking about a business arrangement.

Justice Pusey: You are using the right as a sword, so an individual becomes an advocate for whatever someone else wants to say.

Lord Gifford: This is a paid advertisement. You are not adopting what they want to say.

Justice Pusey: If I have a radio station to play reggae music, and you have an ad contrary to that, I don’t have the right to say I don’t want your country and western ad?

Gifford: You might have the right to refuse, the balancing exercise might come out differently.

Justice Williams: So freedom to disseminate is also freedom to disseminate it to as many people as possible, for example in prime time (television)?

Lord Gifford: Yes, television is a powerful medium, dissemination in the constitution has a meaning, it turns what might have been a passive right into a positive right.
          I think at the very least you would need homosexuality to be legal before this argument could hold water.

homosexuality is not illegal in Ja...anal sex is
            Last edited by Skeng DX; May 31, 2013, 08:22 PM.

Oh a so it go? Well in that case.....

Is that their case ?

lol !

Yuh nah read mi thread dem good..

A guess that is why the threesome getting so much popularity these days. LOL. Them want to comply with the law.

these days?

Is a Yard ting.. since when yuh into Foreign Affairs ?

Just pointing out your inability to start a thread properly...despite your self-voiced schooling.

opinion noted...

That is irrelevant...the TV stations need not even mount a defence...the Supreme Court will rule on the legality of the claimants case in the absence of a defence...the claimant has no case...saying that a TV station has the obligation to act in the public interest and that the PSA would be in the public interest so they have to show it is not a case at all...