Calabar Headmaster Defends Move To Expel Eight Students

• Calabar Headmaster Defends Move To Expel Eight Students

Corcho is not my favourite principal. I believe he used Munro College as a stepping stone to Calabar. Anyway, I congratulate him on this move.

Calabar Headmaster Defends Move To Expel Eight Students
    Published: Thursday | May 30, 2013 20 Comments

Corcho
    Nedburn Thaffe, Gleaner Writer

Just five months after taking up the job as headmaster at Calabar High School, principal Albert Corcho has sent one of the strongest signals that indiscipline would not be tolerated at the school following a recent decision to expel eight students from the institution.

"I have 1,700 boys and parents who I have to give an account to. We have to send the message right across this country - and especially on this Calabar campus - that indiscipline will not be tolerated. That has been our mantra from day one," Corcho told The Gleaner yesterday.

He said it was his hope that the disciplinary action taken would resonate with the students to prevent the school board from coming to a similar decision in the future.

HOPING LESSON LEARNT

"What I am hoping is that I will not have to do this again at Calabar. We are hoping that the young men who are still with us will listen to us and take heed and obey the regulations of the school," Corcho said.

"However, I am prepared, as the headmaster, to do what is necessary to keep the institution the way it ought to be. So if it means that I will have to take more boys to disciplinary committee meetings, I will, but I am hoping that this is the last one," he said.

The expulsion of the eight students came weeks after boys at the institution were arrested for the alleged robbery and stabbing of a Jamaica Urban Transit Company (JUTC) bus driver.

Yesterday, Corcho noted that of the eight students expelled, only three were implicated in the incident involving the JUTC driver. The others were expelled for breaching other aspects of the school's rules.

As it relates to the three boys involved in the attack on the bus driver, Corcho said: "We looked at what happened in the JUTC incident. The bus driver was assaulted, he was beaten, he was kicked, he got cut all over his body. This is something that goes against the laws of the country, hence Calabar had to do something. We stepped in and we evaluated the cases and made a decision."

The principal said also that based on investigations conducted by the school, it has been found that the driver was not stabbed as was previously reported.

Adding that he believes a change of environment will redound to the benefit of all the students expelled, Corcho said the school has been assisting some of the students to get into other schools. He said some have already found places in other institutions.

nedburn.thaffe@gleanerjm.com

what is the problem here. Why is the principal even defending himself???

because that is how bad the culture is now when someone actually does the right thing.

Unu remember when the Munro headmaster expelled the ganja-smoking students how the ministry reinstated the boys? The entire board resigned and MC has not since recovered.

Principals have to be walking on pins and needles when it comes to disciplining students.

and we expect a better school system?? If Principals and teachers are afraid to act, aren't we setting them up for failure?

Granted there must be guidelines but they have to act in the best interest of the students and school.

let me be devis advocate though... if this was Riverside hs in new york one would argue that the incident ( the bus one) did not happen on school property and the principal has no right to intervene...

Boss yuh wearing school uniform , yuh represent the school , New York youth wear wah dem parents buy .

It has always been the case in Jamaica.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Most high school in NY can expel you for your behavior in public, because it can affect the school directly.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                  let me be devis advocate though... if this was Riverside hs in new york one would argue that the incident ( the bus one) did not happen on school property and the principal has no right to intervene...
                  OJ you know that in Toronto they would be expelled school property or not.

no they would not. It they spent time in jail and not attended school yes the cicumstances would. But there is nothing that says as a student if there is an allegation of a crime against you off school property you will be expelled. If that were the case the school would be sued all the time. I know in Jamaica as a student even going to a school football match and taking off your epilets would get you suspended but that has to do with defacing the uniform. Put it a different way if that was the case accross h.s in Jamaica the class room would be empty. Charlie smith and senior school would be a ghost town...

agreed x but i bet any legal mind worth the shirt they wear can succesfully find this unconstitutional... a viloation of your rights to have a education at that school. You did not commit a crime to the school and your charter with the board of education does not say that.

<Yesterday, Corcho noted that of the eight students expelled, only three were implicated in the incident involving the JUTC driver. The others were expelled for breaching other aspects of the school's rules.>

What are the school rules ?

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                          no they would not. It they spent time in jail and not attended school yes the cicumstances would. But there is nothing that says as a student if there is an allegation of a crime against you off school property you will be expelled. If that were the case the school would be sued all the time. I know in Jamaica as a student even going to a school football match and taking off your epilets would get you suspended but that has to do with defacing the uniform. Put it a different way if that was the case accross h.s in Jamaica the class room would be empty. Charlie smith and senior school would be a ghost town...
                          Yes they would. Toronto brought in the zero-tolerance rule some years back and since then many black students have been expelled. I have personal knowledge of this as I have advocated for a family member who was in that very position. The rule works like this: if violence happens on school property you're gone. If the violent act happens off school property and the student is charged criminally the school can still effectively expel the student. There is a clause in the zero-tolerance legislation that says that the school can suspend/expel if the incident took place outside of school property if the school -board deems that the student returning would constitute a threat to the other students. That's how they do it.

0 tolerance deals with bringing weapons to schools. Not allegations. It does not deal with an allegation of beating up someone outside of school. THing about it how would you enforce it? So student A pulls a knive on someone at the mall you suspend him? and based on what. I am very familar with O tolerance... actually its a very bad policy which has not worked.

Suh wait.. yuh tink is him Munro resume get him dat Job ?

Think again..

Mi feel seh is Good School him use as launch pad..