Wants cousin to be Minister of Finance?

• Wants cousin to be Minister of Finance?

Country needs business-minded leaders — Mahfood

BY KARYL WALKER Editor — Crime/Court Desk walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com
    Tuesday, May 28, 2013

MANAGING director of the Wisynco Group, William Mahfood, believes Jamaica's economic and social woes would be greatly eased if business-minded persons served in positions of political leadership.

Mahfood's statement, made at yesterday's Jamaica Observer Monday Exchange, comes on the heels of similar views aired on the weekend by Richard Byles, Sagicor president and CEO, who is also co-chairman of the Government's Economic Programme Oversight Committee.

"What we have lacked over the development of our leadership is business-minded people running the country. Not only have the leadership in the political constituency been at fault, but [also] the leadership in the private sector and the leadership in civil society, because we have sat back and allowed it to continue. So we are as much at fault as to where the country is today," he said.

When asked if his cousin Andrew Mahfood — whom he described as one of the best financial minds in the country — would serve as a finance minister if the Constitution was amended, William Mahfood replied in the affirmative.
    "I have said many times that I think Andrew would make one of the best finance ministers in Jamaica," he said.

Under the current constitution only an elected member of parliament can serve as finance minister.

Yesterday, William Mahfood indicated that he was confident that, despite the country's current economic stagnation and limited growth, the pendulum can swing in a positive direction if the proper measures are implemented.

"There are problems, there is no question. From a leadership point of view, from a political point of view, from an economic point of view, we do have social problems, violence and crime, all of those things are problematic, but there is nothing that cannot be fixed," he said.

He pointed to Wisynco's positive economic turnaround from the financial doldrums in 1992, when the company was almost insolvent, as proof that Jamaica can recover.

"We were so indebted then that our combined debt payments were greater than our entire wage bill, and it was, for me, a very, very depressing time," said Mahfood.

"I looked at it and said we were working exclusively for the banks and interest rates [were] trending up. So we said we had to make a move to reverse our debt position. We did that, we changed the strategy of the business, and the rest is history. So it can be done. It takes time and you have to apply the correct principles and you need the proper determination, and you have to have the right people to manage," Mahfood said.

Last edited by Karl; May 28, 2013, 06:53 PM.

Agreed a 100 %

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Roger Clarke is a successful business man.

The greater point being made which I agree with is the constitution limits on whats best for Jamaica!

The best minds shouldnt have to be elected for certain critical post .Certain positions should go by apointment by the P.M with senate or parliment approval as in the case of the USA where the Fed Chairman is appointed by the President with senate approval.

A total revamp of the constitution needs to take place , said thing with our P.M office , it should never come down to tribal delegation as to whom should be our next P.M , it should be an open process where all good citizens can throw in their hat in without a political delegation process.

e.g

If the PNP/JLP wants to keep that process of delegating a leader by curry favour fine , but other candidates should be free to declare interest and run for office based on a good citizens desire and the requirement for it should be that citizens getting the most national votes from the populace will be the P.M .

Yuh see how fast tribalism drop dead.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Jamaica needs leaders, period. Being business-minded is certainly a bonus for many offices but our greater problem is a more general lack of leadership and not just in politics.

Everybody waan guh heaven.. nuhbaddy waan dead doh...

Originally posted by Exile View Post
              Country needs business-minded leaders — Mahfood

BY KARYL WALKER Editor — Crime/Court Desk walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com
              Tuesday, May 28, 2013

MANAGING director of the Wisynco Group, William Mahfood, believes Jamaica's economic and social woes would be greatly eased if business-minded persons served in positions of political leadership.
              Mahfood's statement, made at yesterday's Jamaica Observer Monday Exchange, comes on the heels of similar views aired on the weekend by Richard Byles, Sagicor president and CEO, who is also co-chairman of the Government's Economic Programme Oversight Committee.

Wisynco Managing Director William Mahfood addressing yesterday’s Jamaica Observer Monday Exchange. (PHOTO: NAPHTALI JUNIOR)

1/1

"What we have lacked over the development of our leadership is business-minded people running the country. Not only have the leadership in the political constituency been at fault, but [also] the leadership in the private sector and the leadership in civil society, because we have sat back and allowed it to continue. So we are as much at fault as to where the country is today," he said.
              When asked if his cousin Andrew Mahfood — whom he described as one of the best financial minds in the country — would serve as a finance minister if the Constitution was amended, William Mahfood replied in the affirmative.
              "I have said many times that I think Andrew would make one of the best finance ministers in Jamaica," he said.
              Under the current constitution only an elected member of parliament can serve as finance minister.
              Yesterday, William Mahfood indicated that he was confident that, despite the country's current economic stagnation and limited growth, the pendulum can swing in a positive direction if the proper measures are implemented.
              "There are problems, there is no question. From a leadership point of view, from a political point of view, from an economic point of view, we do have social problems, violence and crime, all of those things are problematic, but there is nothing that cannot be fixed," he said.
              He pointed to Wisynco's positive economic turnaround from the financial doldrums in 1992, when the company was almost insolvent, as proof that Jamaica can recover.
              "We were so indebted then that our combined debt payments were greater than our entire wage bill, and it was, for me, a very, very depressing time," said Mahfood.
              "I looked at it and said we were working exclusively for the banks and interest rates [were] trending up. So we said we had to make a move to reverse our debt position. We did that, we changed the strategy of the business, and the rest is history. So it can be done. It takes time and you have to apply the correct principles and you need the proper determination, and you have to have the right people to manage," Mahfood said.

No, the finance minister would become a minister for the business men just like how a wall street men (government sacks) control the US treasury.

How important is the finance minister compared to advisors and the BOJ governor?

..and honest people of character.

"Comrades, on the road to the 4th Term I was not going to stop any projects that were on the ground.. better we CREATE a problem then when we get in karreck it rather than stay on the sidelines and watch"

Does that answer your question ?

The minister of Finance just need to make good sound decisions. He should have strong advisors from all different sectors including business, economics and social sector giving him sound advice and he should make sound decisions. Finance minister can't just look out for business.

One of the biggest problem with the finance portfolio in Jamaica is they pick too many winners and losers and somehow end up picking losers. What I mean by this is they invest resources in things that do not give tax payers any returns and if you start make a little money they raise your taxes while giving their friends all the breaks and tax incentives. There is no level playing field

@ Time

Kissteeth, isnt that the problem as we type , the finance minister is for party and business alinged to partys interest !

How about a process where one is designated and approved by parliament ?

but why do you need to be the minister.. you can work in the ministers office...

"Comrades, on the road to the 4th Term I was not going to stop any projects that were on the ground.. better we CREATE a problem then when we get in karreck it rather than stay on the sidelines and watch"

Does that answer your question ?