Former JHTA head 'shocked' by Bartlett's devaluing of local

The Elegant resorts of Jamaica are High end, but they are one-offs, not a BRAND. They bond together for marketing, but they are located in Jamaica only.

Bartlett is correct, BUT he seems to be gleefully politicizing a bad situation in Jam. R-Carlton is a plus to have anywhere. The PNP GoJ is over-reacting, its not their fault that RC is pulling out, its just a business decision. The GOJ just needs to quietly assess what they can change to make things more attractive to RC/4Seasons/ViceRoy/Meridien/Mandarin Oriental/Park Hyatt/Oberoi, etc.

How Sandals come into it, Sass?!!??!?!!!!!!!?!?!?!?!?!!!!!!!??!?!!?!??!?!?

Thanks you. Ritz has been on the market for a while. When Bartlett act as if he is surprise that it is closing he is playing politics but when he demands a plan or what is happening, he has a right to as the government own 15% stake and as Playa confirmed the deal is not yet done.

But people just trying to get back for the foolsih statement that Brickie said Damian Crawford said.

answer mi question first. Tell me the "High End Internationally Acclaimed" Brand we have on the Island currently.

Thanks.

You can't ansa mine suh yuh gi me a question?!?? But a weh dis?!?!

Mosiah only Jamaicans or people who work there will call Sandals International Brand. It is a regional Brand and again Bartlett statement is correct unlike what you and Don1 are saying.
              And you have no idea what I was saying!

Lets start again. Is Sandals an Internationally Aclaimed High End Brand?

then I can answer yours.

First tell mi how Sandals come into it.

I am asking for clarification

Bartlett inna tuh much yappin'...yuh hero Butch Stewart dun tell im dat lang time

Dat Bartlett statement was clumsy, impolitic & stupid...period
                      Last edited by Don1; May 25, 2013, 07:42 PM.

Portia def not a buffoon...just not ready fi dat PM job

Politricks allow har to rise above har competence level...somewhat like Jr. Bush

What was stupid about the statement ??

How many International High-End Hotel brands operate currently operate in Jamaica ?

Sass, Bartlett could have (and probably should have) chosen his words more carefully; What he could have said is something to the effect that Ritz " has a vast global penetration in x continents etc." to describe the entity as such, if in fact they are more widely distributed around the world compared to other "international brands" like Sandals

His intent might not have been to diss other brands but certainly he didn't give other chains their just due in saying what he did.

To satisfy them yes but he is right. There is no need for a huge fight over that. It is politics at its best and also the most important thing is lost and that is the answer he is demanding concerning the closure.

Any serious person in the Tourism Industry understands exactly what Bartlett is saying ?

If you do not have a High-End International Brand operating in your country it begs several questions on many fronts.... not a good look !

End Of Story.