Sure we have brands they can recognize...do we have high-end brands that they can recognize...that is the question...Sandals Jamaica offerings are not high end...
Former JHTA head 'shocked' by Bartlett's devaluing of local
You have to see with Wayne. He works for Sandals and they have done a good job but the difference is glaring.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Mosiah only Jamaicans or people who work there will call Sandals International Brand. It is a regional Brand and again Bartlett statement is correct unlike what you and Don1 are saying.
And of course I don't have to go in the high end with you anymore. Thanks for that.
Unnu so quick to jump on Bartlett. High end brand don't advertise on every day TV and cater to only high end clients. Sandals only cater to travellers to the caribbean which makes them a Caribbean(regional brand) as oppose to Ritz who cater to travellers in the global market covering over 100 hunderd countries catering to the high end travellers. That is what you call an international brand. How many Chinese and Indians you think know about the global brand "Sandals???" When people think of high end travel they think of Ritz, not sandals.
Thanks.
"And so, contrary to what the 'Leisure' has sought to proffer, my remarks as per the press release in question, were not intended to impugn or otherwise downplay the value, international recognition or prestige of our esteemed indigenous Caribbean brands such as Sandals and Superclubs," said Bartlett.Last edited by Assasin; May 25, 2013, 12:20 PM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Yuh still don't get it!
Compare these two statements, Sass:
...the Ritz-Carlton remained the only internationally acclaimed high-end brand on the island.
The opposition tourism spokesman apparently did not regard the world-famous Round Hill Hotel and Royal Plantation, which attract the creme de la creme of international celebrities, as internationally acclaimed high-end brands.
Forget Sandals! Is the author correct or is Bartlett correct?
"...the Ritz-Carlton remained the only internationally acclaimed high-end brand" on the island. Is Sandals an "Interationally acclaimed high end brand"???
You pick up a few awards from travel writers and visitor survey from people who visit their hotel but "international acclaimed high end brand".We have a few high end hotels and with luxury and cater to a small marketplace. Nothing compared to Ritz Carlton and if you can't understand that then so be it.
Some of these hotels are not ranked in the top 10 in the caribbean by some writers and critics. I don't mean to put down our hotels but again there is no comparision between Ritz Carlton and any of our brand.Last edited by Assasin; May 25, 2013, 01:53 PM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
It is advertised as a Luxury All Inclusive. Since the 2000s they have made effort to upgrade all their hotels and most if not all are 4 star to 5 star. Just to make it clear(I think you understand) that luxury is different from "High End". The upgraded is ongoing as we speak and they have to find a way to differenciate themselves from Rui etc. If you notice SuperClubs got rid of some of their hotels as Rui etc come in because their brand face more competiition from the same clients as Rui.
the good thing about Sandals is that they constantly re-invent themselves and find way to provide a great product and great great service.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.