Former JHTA head 'shocked' by Bartlett's devaluing of local

• Former JHTA head 'shocked' by Bartlett's devaluing of local

OPPOSITION spokesman on tourism Edmund Bartlett has drawn fire from a former head of the hoteliers association for insisting that the Ritz-Carlton hotel is the "only internationally acclaimed high-end brand" here.

"As former minister of tourism and the current Opposition spokesman on tourism for Jamaica, it is shocking that he would relegate the other international brands operating in Jamaica into the position of 'followers'," said Wayne Cummings, one of the most successful presidents of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association.

Cummings is also director of Business Process and Administration for Sandals Resorts International.

He was responding to a statement by Bartlett on May 8, 2013 bemoaning the imminent departure of the Ritz-Carlton but also describing it as the only internationally acclaimed high-end brand operating in Jamaica. In response to a May 17 Pepperpot column, Bartlett reiterated his previous statement.

The Jamaica Labour Party spokesman apparently did not regard world-recognised hotels such as Sandals, Beaches, SuperClubs, Round Hill, among others as internationally acclaimed high-end brands.

Cummings said he had been following the comments by Bartlett and because of his disappointment with the former tourism minister's utterances, it was necessary to add some comments of his own.

"I, like many others in the industry, am extremely saddened by this news as the Ritz-Carlton flag is indisputably respected the world over as an international benchmark for quality," said Cummings. "So while I understand Mr Bartlett expressing his regret at this news, he very unwisely, and in fact unfairly, said that the Ritz-Carlton was the only internationally acclaimed high-end brand in Jamaica.

"I take particular issue with that because, notwithstanding the important role that some of the international brands operating in Jamaica have played, home-grown brands such as Sandals Resorts have attained worldwide travel trade and consumer recognition as industry leaders; bringing brand Jamaica the immense recognition as the innovators of significant tourism concepts. This fact is something that should make us all proud, including our leaders, not least of whom are our tourism policymakers.

"Our hotel group has the most comprehensive marketing campaigns that have ensured our high average occupancies throughout our history. Interestingly, we not only are concerned about our brand image, but we invest heavily in the branding of our host destinations as we feel strongly that the symbiotic relationship of our company and the countries in which we reside compels us.

"Sandals Resorts International has won more international awards than most other brands combined, so to be ignored at home as the internationally acclaimed high-end brand that we are is simply unfortunate. Mr Bartlett would be well advised to look closely again at the sector over which he has led, and we are sure, will once again seek to lead. Large or small, local or foreign, Jamaica's tourism product is a far more comprehensive and dynamic engine than he has recently portrayed."

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...otels_14323431

Too much Yappin' by Mr Ed

Sandals and Superclubs are regional brands. Roundhill is a Jamaican Brand. The man is talking about Brands that are internationally known and is worldwide.

Not that they are not international but you can't find one in Paris or Dubai, Vegas, LA etc.

Sandals and Superclubs are regional brands. Roundhill is a Jamaican Brand. The man is talking about Brands that are internationally known and is worldwide.

Not that they are not international but you can't find one in Paris or Dubai, Vegas, LA etc.
        Does it matter if you can find one in Paris or Dubai, Vegas, LA etc.?

Why?

Bartlett?
          ...and there are those who seek to define PM Portia Simpson-Miller as a buffoon?

Internationally recognized Brand, which can be recognise anywhere in the world by most travellers and is known for Luxury. Any major City you go and you are looking for a luxury hotel you will look for that Brand.

Sandals is only a regional Brand. It has won many interntional awards but most travellers in Dubai, Africa, China would recognize a sandals and would look for that brand while travelling outside of the Caribbean??

I am not concerned about how well Dubai's tourism industry is doing, so why would I care about a brand that can be found over there?!?

I'm concerned about Jamaica. Do we have brands that a person in Paris, Dubai or Vegas can recognize?

who care about what they are doing. The fact is the average traveller in France, Dubai wouldn't know about Sandals, maybe some people in Vegas would.

The fact is you can't stay in a Sandals anywhere outside of Caribbean. Many high end and business travellers only stay at the Ritz(worldwide) for example.

Sass: Choose any hotel brand and there are cities and countries from which they are missing.

Round Hill is a one of its type relative to association with Jamaica and world presence. It has always been TOP OF THE WORLD class. A world renowned hotel where old money, new money, nobility and high personal status reside.

Sass agguh defen' any fooliniss im hero Bartlett gwaan wid

Gwaan Sass!!!! wooiieee

Karl there are regional brand but when travellers world over think of luxury they think of Ritz. That is the point. When people think of luxury in the Caribbean, Sandals comes to mind. Most traveller don't even come to the caribbean but most Luxury travellers will consider a Ritz.

As simple as that, if you can't understand that I have nothing more to add.

Yuh nuh see mi lef di argument long time!

regardless what unnu think, unnu can't debate that. Not because you win international awards you are an international brand. Nobody is debating if they are luxury but they are not International Brands, they are regional brands.

Bartlett, responding to the publication, said: "...it would have been absolutely remiss of me to have cast the Ritz-Carlton as the only international hotel brand operating in Jamaica, and in so doing, downplay the international prestige of our indigenous brands, which, to their credit, have accrued unquestionable international acclaim.

"Following the announcement of the Ritz-Carlton's imminent departure from our destination, I issued a press release dated Wednesday 8th May, which read in part: "...the Ritz-Carlton remained the only internationally acclaimed high-end brand on the island. The implications for our appeal as a destination to the high-yielding demographics in the market-place is of tremendous concern, as we are yet to determine whether the entity that will replace the Ritz will fit the profile and be of equal stature".

"If one notes carefully, I made specific reference to the nomenclature 'high-end', distinguishing the Ritz in a particular way, and more importantly, making the link between that hotel and the segment of the market it specifically targets — the 'high-yielding demographics'.

"And so, contrary to what the 'Leisure' has sought to proffer, my remarks as per the press release in question, were not intended to impugn or otherwise downplay the value, international recognition or prestige of our esteemed indigenous Caribbean brands such as Sandals and Superclubs," said Bartlett.
                            The opposition tourism spokesman apparently did not regard the world-famous Round Hill Hotel and Royal Plantation, which attract the creme de la creme of international celebrities, as internationally acclaimed high-end brands.

"Indeed, my remarks were well-intended, and simply sought to make the point that destination Jamaica is in fact in need of an outfit like the Ritz-Carlton which serves to create the kind of market appeal and product diversity, certainly at the upper-end of the spectrum of offerings, our tourism product needs and would wish to pride itself on," he said.

The Sandals resorts in Jamaica are known as a "high-end brand"? If mi laugh inside yah today...Wayne must be mixing it up with their Bahamas offerings...