• Karl did seh dis was a good ting

another example of People Power ?

According to a World Bank study in 2010, more than 85 per cent of Jamaica's tertiary graduates emigrate, representing the second highest in the world. The only country with higher rate worldwide was Guyana at 89 per cent.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...#ixzz2U2IDSxnp

Question is which country dem powering.. ?

Suh 75% of students nuh have marketable skills.. and 85% of dem dat do leave di country ?

lol ! woieee !! mi belly !

Mi woulda fraid fi align miself wid anyting name comrade !

Ah wha suh !?

Maudib: You have to be practical. The situation is, "as is".
    Certainly the task is producing all (graduates) needed and exporting the over-supply...and that is not too hard to grasp!

Will those we export contribute to development in the various countries to which they migrate?

Certainly...as it shall be that those employed at home contribute to development at home.

There is an additional problem at home. Rate of development --- speed at which movement to first world country is ongoing. That demand 'selfishness' at the level of great passion for managing at highest professional level such that that necessary rate of development of the country occurs.

Better supervisors/managers .... Who will those be perchance?

and this explains why you are not embarrassed to be associated with the Comrade movement ?

Ah wha suh ?

Yuh could at least pretend to hide like Don1...

Is it really those who have political power who are the drivers of development (in any country)?

Tunnel vision and being narrow-minded is a hellava 'sleeping policeman'. Step outside of yuh comfort zone...and yuh JLP sheep confines!!!

Oh yes government POLICY sets the tone for business. It can either make it difficult or accomodating

That is certainly good politics...and prop for the weak-minded businessman...or the heartless business person...but businesses...good businesses adapt to the climate within which they operate.

...and that does not mean the businesses should not agitate for formation...shaping would be a better word...the climate/that environment which they consider most conducive to their interests. ...but curling into fetal position...to whither away and die is the whimpering cowards way.

Specific to Jamaica's problems - It is not that those with the political power could not have done much better at managing...but they, after all is said, are from the general population and mere products of that from which they came...so tell me, where should the change really arise? ...where should the greatest numbers of good managers lie?

"In Jamaica, the man that plays by the Rules is the one that gets shafted"

"Better we create the problem to get in, then after we get in we try and fix it, rather than watch from the sidelines"

How is it Keith Clarke can point out the policy failures but yet you seem oblivious ?

Yuh nuh shame ?

You really going to talk about weak-minded businessmen ? Are you implying that Jamaica somehow managed to be a landing spot for the weakest minded businessmen in the Caribbean and Latin American Region ?

All the Foreign owned business left Jamaica because they were Weak-Minded..

Is this lie how you sleep at night.. ah muss dat to rath !

Poor yuh.

what Planet have you been living on? Have you seen how Jamaican business men have been dealt with??!!

No it is those who have had political power that have been the drivers of Economic Malpractice in THIS country.

Check Keith Clarke if you confused...

Step outside of dat comrade...

Who name Vin Lawrence?

I tink dat was God 1....

Read carefully what Claude Clarke (I sure you meant Claude) and you shall find he gives no solutions....rather any he mentions is merely a shallow passing...there is no expansion on consequences of that of which he speaks. There is no fleshing out on how it should be implemented.

His mutterings mirror the acts of Norman Manley and Edwin Allen as it relates to 'education' - expansion on places at secondary schools 'for the masses' ...yes, we prance and dance as it is easier than crying! - with not a thought on providing quality education for those who suddenly entered the secondary schools or what would become of the vast army of graduates those schools would pour out year after year...or how to even move the access to 'secondary education' to full access and the country to full employment.

Shallow! Shallow! Shallow! ...thinking and acts which of themselves build hordes...vast numbers of frustrated people wallowing in underemployment and unemployment...in poverty!!!!

Managing is the key!!!! ...and good managers must be found/developed at every level of the society...in homes, schools and colleges, workplace - private and public sectors...everywhere. The political parties give us what we sow.

Solutions ?

The man spell out di Economic Malpractice which occurred under your party's watch.. Which you continually deny or deflect unto 'weak-minded' businessmen in Jamaica..

"Jamaica is not a country friendly to investment"

Dat is yuh party member Paulwell.. what does he mean ? Weak-minded businessmen make Jamaica unfriendly to investment ?

I can give you chapter and verse to the Economic Policy insanity which has prevailed here.. from an innovation and investor point of view ... from investment policy to energy policy to human resource training policy.. I am NOT ASKING YOU about Economic Malpractice.. I AM TELLING YOU dat is some $#&^$ incompetent, self-serving, power-mad, short-sighted party before country criminals have been running this country into the ground.. and mi nuh haffi call out nuh weak-minded businessman.. is not dem get vote into Govt to oversee and enact Policy.

Yuh tink Obama can get up and chat bout weak-minded businessmen run American into deficit problems.. dem woulda lynch him..

Why is our cost of Energy at 40 c/kwh Carl ? Weak-minded businessmen ??

Stap you rank nonsense pon di forum..

what Planet have you been living on? Have you seen how Jamaican business men have been dealt with??!!
                              I spent, save 4 years, most of my working life in Jamaica working in the private sector. - Yes, I gave time at Ardenne High School and Mico College while still employed in the private sector. ...so there was an overlap where I sent another 3 or so years in both sectors.

I even represented Grace, Kennedy on a sub-committee of the Jamaica Manufacturers Association. I know what I am talking about when I speak of private sector 'workings'.

As a generalization - When I left Jamaica in 1990 it was extremely difficult to have those working in the private sector to embrace the thought that any rapid expansion of same and creation of vibrant private markets would have to be based on earning of foreign exchange. ...besides the Tourist Industry, Bauxite mining, our agricultural crops...there was a blindness. The members of the private sector could not see further than 'buying from outside sources and selling to the local market.

There was no thought of the tens of thousands then underemployed or unemployed and the tens of thousands more entering the workforce hand over hand, year in, year out.

Our life blood lies in markets external to Jamaica...but we can kick start the process by facing the problems and providing sensible solutions - that shall in the short-term provide massive employment. -- Said it before: build out the infrastructure...and simultaneously seek oversees job markets for our current excess underemployed and unemployed.

Is it still possible to mechanize sugar and banana plantations? Increase and make first world coffee production? Provide subsidies to those industries that shall ensure employment levels remain at least at current levels...and at the same time lower production costs to make the end products competitive in the World's market places?

Is it possible to improve living conditions, full access to telecommunication gadgets, quality and quality of housing stock, revitalization of our villages, towns and cities...improve the road system and improve maintenance services offered for roads?

...and on and on in sector after sector...

Rapidly improve the education delivered? etc? etc?

Well each and every level needs good managers...there must be the vision and the will?

---------

Let us break it down to an example of our fledging Football Industry - The managers have a problem recognizing that their very lives depend on producing quality players and teams and transfer of players same to lucrative markets? ...marketing of the football outside of the island depends on firstly - producing good TEAM (and players). The physical club structures and other perks come later...and they shall as sure as night follows day.

They will not invest in learning the game. They consider themselves know-it-alls...even as their results - our players and teams failure to, either in quantity and quality earn massive sums. =prove failures right in front of their eyes.

What is the total earnings (not even net earnings) of/from all our football? U$5,000,000 for the year just past, 2012? ...do we have the potential to earn U$500,000,000? Is not that dependent on managing at each level...managing WELL, very well?

If the life of a footballer as player is an average of 7 years how many footballers would we have to produce over how many years to have our player earnings climb to U$100,000,000? ...and what would have to be the average earnings of each player? ...and if our TEAMs become TOP OF THE WORLD quality what quantity external demand levels for matches against those our teams would be? ...potential earnings?

Where are the good managers?

...I know I am in a 'dream world'...
                              That I have heard from schoolboy days...but slowly changes are being made along the path of the dreams...but at this rate we shall never catch up as the world (all outside of Jamaica) moves on at ever increasing rate!

...if you get the gist!!!
                              Last edited by Karl; May 22, 2013, 07:40 PM.