• National PTA president speaks on Glenmuir graduate issue

National PTA president speaks on Glenmuir graduate issue

Published: Monday May 20, 2013 | 5:47 pm with audio | 4 Comments

Jerome Reynolds, Staff Reporter

The President of the National Parent-Teacher Association Everton Hannam, says he sees nothing wrong with administrators at the Glenmuir High School requiring a student to resit subjects she has already passed if she wants to graduate.

On Saturday, The Gleaner reported the plight of one student who could be left out of the 2014 graduating class because she sat CSEC maths and English before she reached fifth form.

Glenmuir High requires that its students sit those subjects in fifth form to qualify to graduate.

Hannam says the student’s parents would have been aware of the school’s policies regarding graduation and they have a responsibility to observe them.

He says he does not support the view that the school’s graduation rule is serving to penalise the student for early academic advancement.

He adds that since the student has another year before she graduates, there is enough time for the parties to reach an amicable solution.

The Education Minister has said it is too early for him to intervene in the matter.

It must be the SILLY season again.

If I had a child involved in this impasse, we would not participate in the graduation fiasco, as NO WAY would I be spending scarce resource for my child to resit the subjects already passed.

Bunch of clowns and puppets.

What, he does not want to offend his principals?

The JC headmaster rubbished it the Glenmuir practice!

There's enough time for a transfer...

God help us with these people.Has anyone asked the principal to explain the PURPOSE of the rule? What cause does it benefit?

This girl and others like her should be encouraged to do CAPE Level 1 in 5th form as Historian says!

The Ministry may have to get involved if the reason is that the school rankings are in fact negatively affected by overachieving students. That doesn't justify the rule of course but it would take away the incentive to act in this way.

and we sit and wonder why people transfer them pickneys?

This child should be wondering if she can get a few "A" Level equivalent and some college classes in fifth form and nothing else.

One reason they gave last night on Beyond the Headlines was that it was important to sit all the subjects in one sitting for scholarship purposes. And there were some other nonsensical things said last night by the principal and the PTA president.

None of it made sense!

Ruel Reid said the Glenmuir practice was discouraged in other territories in the Caribbean and flew in the face of common sense and accommodating gifted students.

Scholarship to where?

I think the main reason is for the school to look good.

What kind of BS is this?? When I was at CBar, 20 students were selected to sit Maths and English in grade 10. 18 got Grade 1, 2 got Grade 2 in English and 17 got Grade 1 and 3 got Grade 2 in Maths. You are telling me that if this was Glemuir they couldn't graduate because of that silly rule? Those 20 students at the end of Grade 11 walked away with 10 subjects with a mixture of Grade 1's and 2's.

It turns out that we didn't have a graduation that year because of some ungentlemanly behaviour of a few of the graduating class.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Spineless behavior. National PTA President have no back bone.

Glenmuir High School requiring a student to resit subjects she has already passed if she wants to graduate.

T
                      he statement above says it all. Things are bad in the US but not at those levels. So I pass but I must resit to graduate? Should rename the school to Bellevue high. Then one wonders why Ja can't build anything, can't solve her economic problems, can't implement a policy of law and order and others. Hopeless.

Maybe the students have to take it one more time after graduation for good measure. Hey just sit an exam.

Would really like to hang around and hear how math is taught in this school. Ah well bet it's just memory drills and no reasoning. because how are you going to explain the logic to a child of passing a subject then resitting the same subject to graduate. It's best the whole school just watch "ground hog day".

It is actually a pretty good school.

The silly practice is an administrative issue not an academic one and is not uncommon in the top high schools in JA.

Oh please the top high school in the island is William knibb High. Kudos to the teachers there. It's real easy to memorize stuff and pass exams (especially if you are not hungry) Applying real reasoning and real thinking skills is another story.

I don't know which scholarship provider would have a problem with what Leanna did.

And suppose she nah look dem scholarship!?!?

You are right, it is all about the school.