Tornado Alley - Why not concrete and steel?

• Tornado Alley - Why not concrete and steel?

Anyone knows why houses in Tornado alley are not constructed of concrete and steel? Would those be safer houses or would they complicat the rescue effort?

It would require a cultural construction rethink for residential houses. Would not make a difference anyway with 200 mph tornado winds.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
      It would require a cultural construction rethink for residential houses. Would not make a difference anyway with 200 mph tornado winds.
      Really? Concrete houses are the answer and this is no big scientific breakthrough. Americans build with wood because it is cheaper. So yes, it requires a cultural rethink and perhaps a better appreciation of the value of life over building materials.

And even if some concrete structures may fail in 200 mph tornado winds, how many times do we get that sort of a tornado?!?

Go tlk to the people in Florida south...after Andrew...cultural rethink..

Tornadoes pass thru that area of the country quite frequently, and with global warming expect more stronger tornadoes. Expect another tornado or two before 2014. As I said before it would not make a difference with the force of this tornado. What scientific breakthrough?

At the moment, less than 1% of all tornadoes reach those speeds, so you can tan deh!

Or don't tan deh, instead be swept away by one of them!

True, building codes were changed as a result of Andrew and it has made a difference.

yuh love fi argue wid yuh self

Really? Concrete houses are the answer and this is no big scientific breakthrough. Americans build with wood because it is cheaper. So yes, it requires a cultural rethink and perhaps a better appreciation of the value of life over building materials.

And even if some concrete structures may fail in 200 mph tornado winds, how many times do we get that sort of a tornado?!?

My house in the Atlanta burbs is built of concrete (yes concrete)!

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                    Atlanta temperatures are kind of mild to what is seen in most of the Midwest. If you build of concrete in those places, people could not afford to heat or cool them cost effectively.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Sounds like a fortress? Sounds like it was built custom, can't imagine that is how they are building in Atlanta.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                        Who built it? A yardman?

Don't know who built it? There are only 9 houses in the subdivision.

Atlanta temperatures are kind of mild to what is seen in most of the Midwest. If you build of concrete in those places, people could not afford to heat or cool them cost effectively.
                            True but if the objective is to save lives, since property can be replaced you wouldn't need to build the whole house out of concrete. I think having an underground concrete basement or storm shelter would suffice.

On point!