Student achievement in Jamaica - It's complicated!

It is complicated...which is why Muggy Graham, while he has a valid point about over-emphasis on sport in the society...misses the mark regarding the core problems in secondary education. Clearly those problems have little to do with sport...but reflect a lack of investment
    mmmm?

How can you say:
    he has a valid point about over-emphasis on sport in the society.
    and in the next breath
    misses the mark regarding the core problems in secondary education. Clearly those problems have little to do with sport...but reflect a lack of investment
    ?

Valid? ...but misses the point?
    Is there an over-emphasis on sports?
    If so, why do you say that?

...and you know my stance is, there is no over-emphasis on sports...but rather not enough emphasis on the academic disciplines. I think both sides - sports & academics - need more emphasis/input/focus on attaining excellence!

Are sports achievements more pronounced than that of academic achievements?

Have not the stats but it appears to me that in both areas there are tremendous possibilities/untapped potential for improved upwards development and results.

Just saying - FORWARD! ...not a pulling down of/in one area or a number of areas to encourage or actually improve other(s)!!!
    Just saying - FORWARD!

Just saying: Poised for take-off!!!
    Let's!

------

His one-tracked focus on sport and lack of data (or even his lack of a call for data-driven research) on the overall problem is a very quixotic approach to a complex problem for a supposed scientist

I am beginning to believe his agenda is not pure... as Willi has been sayin'
    Agreed!

Got you!

...they are all employable in large thriving economies - ... just not in today's Jamaica economy!

How can you say:
        Quote:
        he has a valid point about over-emphasis on sport in the society.
        and in the next breath

Quote:
        misses the mark regarding the core problems in secondary education. Clearly those problems have little to do with sport...but reflect a lack of investment
        ?
        The 2 constructs are entirely separate.

1. I believe Jamaicans generally over-emphasize sport, music and entertainment generally..there is tremendous empirical evidence of that misplaced focus out there in people's behavior

2. I believe the core problems of schools or academic performance go FAR BEYOND anything to do with sport....so if a guy is concerned with quality education it is the HUGE core problems that should be focused upon...not secondary issues like sport

Valid? ...but misses the point?
        Is there an over-emphasis on sports?
        If so, why do you say that?
        We had a PM who declared an instant national holiday because of a sport achievement

We have a PM who is the Min. of Sport in the middle of a HUGE economic crisis

The nation comes to a standstill at big sporting occasions

We borrowed US$70m to build a sports stadium to host an opening ceremony and a few prelim games in a sports tournament

Should I continue??

...and you know my stance is, there is no over-emphasis on sports...but rather not enough emphasis on the academic disciplines. I think both sides - sports & academics - need more emphasis/input/focus on attaining excellence!

Are sports achievements more pronounced than that of academic achievements?
        Jamaica has many world class achievements in sport and on a per capita basis we punch way above our weight...Conversely even within the Caribbean we're not competitive in education output

It's not even close

I thought it was rather obvious.

Got you!

<Edwin Allen introduced a sweeping plan for education reforms in 1966 which he entitled, "New Deal for Education in Independent Jamaica". He announced an agreement with the World Bank to construct 50 new secondary schools to augment the existing 47 schools at secondary level; forty primary schools by the end of 1967 and an increase in the annual output of trained teachers from 350 to 1,000 by 1969. This was the first project of the World Bank in secondary education anywhere. By more than doubling the number of secondary places, this would considerably increase the enrolment into secondary schools.>

But mi did tink seh nutting did ah gwaan in education before Manley..

Jawge.. ah who dis Edwin Allen character ?

What you understand to be Marketable Skills ?

"You want to supersize that?"

Again, please cite the source! Do it quickly or risk deletion!

The source is Karl fuss post dat start his thread.. what happen.. you cyaan read ?

The Truth is an Offense, not a Sin...

As usual yuh wrang: 1960s Education Cyaan Nyam tun it up

... The DaCosta Commission report revealed in the 1970s that there were cost overruns up to 150% in that World Bank program...due of course to political corruption an strait tiefin'

Consequently Jamaica built only HALF of the programmed schools

Go to 11:00 of this doc for the grim reality the DayWalker overlooked http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PEZnDCMvjO8

Ah suh di ting set

As usual yuh too previous.. where in the statement did it indicate how many schools were built ???

Wolverine lick hot.. especially when yuh run up innah it !

Sometimes to answer you, it begs a question or two as the first step
                            Marketable skills?

Marketable?
                            Skills?

Do you understand "Marketable Skills" to be "skills" that can be leveraged to gain a job and be productive at/in same?

If you do...please see my earlier post!
                            If you not, please explain exactly what you meant when you referenced "marketable skills"?

Thank you!

How does 'employable in large thriving economies' directly correlate to 'having marketable skills' ?

Do you consider cutting the lawn a 'Marketable Skill' ???

Thank you