Stadium built with Chinese money in ruins

True maybe, but disya one clearly fall inna KD lap and he played politics for it...

What is the prob with attracting Big and small and medium sized groups and conventions?

Is it location, connectivity, attractions, crime, etc? What? Poor marketing or poor product?

object to what???? I was asking if it had it. What did I object to???

I wanted to know how adaptable it was... As I say thanks for the info. Why is it when I ask, you always come to some conculsion? I asked as I said I have not been there. I personally don't think selling to big groups will work but we must have the option of dividing for smaller activities so I asked if the main halls etc. are adaptable. What is wrong with that????
        I posted - "The place has several different rooms of various sizes. It is a class facility for anything! We have chosen to do nothing with it."

Ok. So I didn't go thru the trouble of saying the rooms were flexible and all that stuff. I thought "class facility" would have sufficed.

On the other hand, a little bit of research would have informed you about the place. Remember, is not we build it. Is di Chiney people dem!

Most of the big conventions do go the caribbean and moreso Jamaica. It was ambitious but it will take a lot of selling. Halfmoon close to the center have been having some decent groups for years, they have a small center but also have lodging.

I think to attract buisness for the center it has to partner with the hotels in the area to make great deals. It is easier to get smaller groups like churches, and others than bigger groups and other than the convention, what is there to do in Rosehall?

I don't think crime is a major concern in Rosehall. I think the major problem is marketing and working with the hotels in that area.

Rosehall is 15 minutes away from Mobay. There does not have to be anything to do there.

Shoddy build quality too, but beggars cant be choosers and freeness has its price.

The chain link fence for the facility is of the lowest quality. It probably started to rot in less than 2 years.

Yes, the best materials were not used but as yu say, is freeness. Were we using the place and taking care of it as we should have been, it would not have fallen into such a state.

yeah I coulda do some research still. I read upon it a while back but didn't remember so I asked.

Lack of good management (lack of good managers at every level = community, parish government/local government, within the GOJ ministry responsible for the facility).

That lack of good managers, common denominator, is rampant throughout the island - in both public and private sectors.

True maybe, but disya one clearly fall inna KD lap and he played politics for it...
                      He got it built! ...and that was great!
                      However the parties (and I do not mean political parties...although they also are parties to this current failure) needed to take the ball and run failed so to do.

Tru dat.

It should never have been there though.

I can think of better places. Portmore comes immediately to mind.

Hey hey - look how long Willi telling them bout this

Most convention type people like to walk around after convention and do things. That is one of the reason places like Vegas get so many conventions. A little R&R while doing their thing. After spending from 8-5 in meetings most don't want to have to travel very far as they will have to be back in the morning for further meetings. A little onsite activity or close by will help.

[quote=Mosiah;425131]The chain link fence for the facility is of the lowest quality. It probably started to rot in less than 2 years.

Yes, the best materials were not used but as yu say, is freeness. Were we using the place and taking care of it as we should have been, it would not have fallen into such a state.[/quot