High School for Sports 101 - How do we fix this?

• High School for Sports 101 - How do we fix this?

Maybe we should spilt the ISSA schools in two groups based on overall average grade of each school in CXC passes in it's top four subjects. Each group would have its own competition.

Cheating our children - Student-athletes allowed to compete despite failing grade

Published: Sunday | May 19, 2013 0 Comments

Raymond 'K.C.' Graham

Elaine Foster Allen

Lebert Halliman

George Forbes

1 2 3 4 >

Gordon Williams, Sunday Gleaner WriterThe goal is to win. By any means necessary. That determination may be driving the shining reputation of Jamaica's high-school sports under a dark cloud of deception, where student-athletes are allowed to compete despite academic deficiencies which should disqualify them.

The probable system failure is not only being kept quiet by leadership of Jamaican institutions, according to sources, but in some cases encouraged.

The Government, meanwhile, insists schools are responsible for correcting it.
    Included in the "flat-out corruption", as one coach labelled it, are allegations of student-athletes' grades being "fixed" and some allowed to do class work below their current grade level - all done to keep them eligible for competition.

While detailed statistical evidence to show precisely how far the alleged corruption has spread is difficult to obtain, those entrenched in the system admitted "hearing" about it for "years". Some watered down the allegations to "rumours". Nearly all chose silence when pressed, on the record, for names of student-athletes, coaches, administrators and schools involved.

Emerging from months of checks, however, is that the current system is leaking integrity. The question is how heavy.

Another coach called it "a huge can of worms", where student-athletes compete in major sports like football, cricket and track and field when they should not. Some are so academically inept, they struggle to read and write.

Learning disability

Multiple sources cited examples of Jamaican high-school athletes unable to fill out immigration/customs forms while travelling overseas to represent their institutions or country.

A few have been suspected of having a genuine learning disability, but some schools either ignore it or find ways to usher them through the educational system, sources claim.

While monitoring tools implemented help limit corrupt practices, including minimum standards for academic achievements and attendance, suspicions still swirl.

"I have heard about it," said Raymond 'K.C.' Graham, a track coach for 30 years, including stints at high schools.

"I don't know how true it is, but there must be something to this. There are some students who are going to remedial classes (in high school), but it's so strange, they are able to qualify in academics to compete.

"... I don't want to say it's a deliberate thing," added Graham. "... I think, in some cases there might be students, who are slow, may be given a test not as tough as normal students and they use that (grade to make them eligible to compete). But my concern is that, when they come to the normal term exam, monthly exam, these same students, they have to do the same exams. How do they qualify (to compete)?"

"It is alleged a lot of schools are involved in corruption," said Lebert Halliman, coach of Excelsior High's Manning Cup football team. "A lot of boys try to come to our institution, but they are so weak academically so we have to turn them away. But they have, before, and are now playing for other schools in the high-school competition."

The Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA), which governs high-school sports in Jamaica, is aware of corruption allegations. However, according to ISSA's Competitions Officer George Forbes, tangible proof of a widespread problem has not surfaced.

"I have heard the rumours," Forbes said. "We have no empirical evidence to back up that rumour. What we can tell you is that we at ISSA - ISSA is basically an association of principals - that we would trust the integrity of the principals to, as it were, affix their signature to whatever is put on their registration and eligibility forms to confirm that your children in your school for a sports programme have attained the grades that we say."

To qualify to compete, according to Forbes, students in first through fifth form must obtain a minimum 45 per cent grade in at least four subjects and attend no less than 80 per cent of their classes. Those in sixth form must have passed four CXC subjects, earning grades between one and three.

ISSA also conducts "random tests", Forbes said, "... eight or 10 schools per competition", such as schoolboy football, to ensure compliance. Boys and Girls' Champs teams are harder to monitor, since the track-and-field competition runs less than a week. Forbes said up to 10,000 students participate in each major sport, making it difficult to verify every registration.

"It's almost impossible for us to police so many students at a given date," he acknowledged.

Ineligible student-athletes may escape scrutiny.

"No, it's not a perfect system," said Michael Russell, coach of Kingston College's track team. "... I won't say rotten. I say it's more of lack of resources that is available at the administrators' disposal."

Addressing the problem

The Government has long heard of problems with high school student-athletes making required grades.

"This is not a new story," explained Elaine Foster Allen, permanent secretary in the Ministry of Education. "There have been a number of stories on the treatment of student-athletes ... We've heard from time to time, either through the media, or through complaints, this is happening."

However, Foster Allen placed the responsibility of addressing the problem squarely on the institutions.

"The issue would not be a Ministry of Education issue," she said. "It would be a schools issue."

Foster Allen said the problem often stemmed from the transfer of student-athletes.

Those who did not do well enough in the GSAT examinations were moved to "so-called traditional (high) schools" because of their athletic talents. They struggle academically. But some schools fail to help beyond getting them eligible to compete.

"The administrators in schools, I would say, the teachers, the people in (the guilty) schools who are in charge ... they are letting down the kids," said Graham. "Because if they have confidence in them, they should let them know. They should call a spade a spade and don't let a guy think that he is bright when he is not bright and he can do something when he can't."

Sources claimed ineligible student-athletes are sometimes aided by a collaboration of school loyalists, including coaches, teachers, administrators and past students. One coach said he was warned by a school-board member never to speak publicly about other schools engaged in corruption, fearing that would stir "bad blood" between schools, including investigations into his own programme.

Teachers interviewed said they were occasionally alarmed by the poor academic proficiency of student-athletes. Some receiving passing marks elsewhere did so poorly in their class, the teachers struggle to imagine those students legitimately passing other courses needed to stay eligible for competition. One teacher suspected collusion in "fixing" or altering grades of student-athletes to keep them eligible for competition.

"I wouldn't want to publicly accuse anyone," said the teacher who did not wish to be identified, "but other teachers and the coach must know the student is failing badly."

The problem has been noticed elsewhere.

"Yes, we've seen high-school youngsters who have participated in the programme who academically are challenged in terms of even basic reading and comprehension," said Roy Simpson, who has managed national football teams including high-school players.

Academic assistance

The Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) provides academic assistance for young players. However, Onaje Bell, who has tutored national representatives, believes some have been promoted to grades they're unfit for.

"What I know for a fact, is that the kids are operating at a much lower level than they are placed and you do wonder how they got there in the first place," Bell said.

ISSA has appealed for information proving corruption and vows to investigate viable leads.

"... Give me some name, give me something," said Forbes, "... We at ISSA have the authority to go into any school and ask for the particular grade to verify it."

This story isn't aimed at embarrassing student-athletes, as most children under Jamaican law are dependent on guidance from parents and schools. So their names and the institutions they represent are not mentioned.

Allowing academically unqualified students to compete, however, is a not-so-secret black eye on Jamaica's high-school sports, which have produced some of the world's greatest athletes and academics. It could get worse. Lucrative sponsorship deals intensify schools' craving to succeed. But ignoring the plight of student-athletes weak in academics may be causing serious damage.

"... These same students, when it comes at the end of their five years in high school, they can't go to a university," explained Graham, current director of sports at Mico University College. "... So it's not fair to the kids."

"What I know is we need to protect our youngsters," said Russell, "... that, we all have to understand."

However, some cautioned against rushed claims of a widespread problem.

"What I would not want to do is broad-brush it," said Simpson.

Others demanded proof of corruption before accusations.

"Somebody would have to come with the data, show me the facts," said Maurice Wilson, who coached Holmwood Technical to 2013 Girls' Champs victory.

"... I've heard, from many years now, that things like those have happened, but I think a system is in place to deal with that and the system is a coherent system ... ."

Those guilty of ISSA's eligibility rules violations are subject to penalties. Academic issues barred at least two prominent athletes from competing at Champs 2013.

Yet, administrators may not be in total control. Alumni, often financial backers, impose powerful influence on high-school sports programmes, sometimes enabling corruption.

"... Some schools, whether you believe it or not, are controlled by past students," explained Graham. "They play a very significant role and funding, in certain areas. If (schools) don't accede to these things they do not get funding.

"So they apply pressure, and, because of the pressure, the kids suffer in the end."
    Last edited by Mosiah; May 19, 2013, 09:10 AM. Reason: Legibility

Difficult to Read

Time, thanks for taking the time to make this post, boss. The only problem is that it’s a bit challenging to read.

Why not clean it up a bit (remove those unnecessary codes and separate the paragraphs) before clicking on the submit button?

By the way, you are not the only poster here whose interesting posts I sometimes reluctantly stop reading after the first line because the poster, after copying their articles from newspapers, did not ”tidy” (clean them up) before submitting.

Respect, boss!

Originally posted by Time View Post
      "I have heard about it," said Raymond 'K.C.' Graham, a track coach for 30 years, including stints at high schools.

"... I don't want to say it's a deliberate thing," added Graham.

"It is alleged a lot of schools are involved in corruption," said Lebert Halliman, coach of Excelsior High's Manning Cup football team.

"I have heard the rumours," Forbes said. "We have no empirical evidence to back up that rumour.

One coach said he was warned by a school-board member never to speak publicly about other schools engaged in corruption, fearing that would stir "bad blood" between schools, including investigations into his own programme.

"I wouldn't want to publicly accuse anyone," said the teacher who did not wish to be identified, "but other teachers and the coach must know the student is failing badly."

"Somebody would have to come with the data, show me the facts," said Maurice Wilson, who coached Holmwood Technical to 2013 Girls' Champs victory.

"... I've heard, from many years now, that things like those have happened, but I think a system is in place to deal with that and the system is a coherent system ... ."
      It will never get better. Everyone is saying, "I've heard rumours." And the key reason why it won't be addressed is because almost everyone is doing it but they each live in a glass house.

Well, I can proudly say that Munro College will never exploit a student in trying to win championships.

that there is the problem with Jamaica. People know things and act like them nuh know. Nobody want to be informer.

Take the US college system, if other schools know or suspect, then they make a report. The officals always investigating for themselves also.

Some are expecting the schools to be more ethical than Gordon House?

I am!

Why shouldn't they be?

It will never get better. Everyone is saying, "I've heard rumours." And the key reason why it won't be addressed is because almost everyone is doing it but they each live in a glass house.

Well, I can proudly say that Munro College will never exploit a student in trying to win championships.
                ISSA is an association of principals. Do you really believe that principals will investigate and punish their own?

I understand from a person who said he was there during the discussions that the rule was initially created to stop Charlie Smith from winning the Manning Cup. If true then the rule has served its purpose.

The bigger problem is that there are more illiterate students in the student population that don't play sports that do play sports. How do we fix that? Maybe if we fix the bigger problem then we can turn a blind eye to the few who play sports?

so how other people monitor theirs. Any system like this have to have some trust and honest people. The motivation can't just be to win.

I know the US college system is dependent on the schools in their regions to file complains and it is investigated. The coaches come as a unit and make all regions nomination. As my coach told me I was nominated and was liked by some but others ask "when is he leaving" because of my then no nonesense game.

The fact is nobody want to be informer and most are hiding and doing their thing so it will not get better. These are the same principals and administrators who run tuck shops, school fees and ministry money. Ah bwoy.

so how other people monitor theirs. Any system like this have to have some trust and honest people. The motivation can't just be to win.

I know the US college system is dependent on the schools in their regions to file complains and it is investigated. The coaches come as a unit and make all regions nomination. As my coach told me I was nominated and was liked by some but others ask "when is he leaving" because of my then no nonesense game.

The fact is nobody want to be informer and most are hiding and doing their thing so it will not get better. These are the same principals and administrators who run tuck shops, school fees and ministry money. Ah bwoy.
                    The real motivation is sports sponsorship money. ISSA pulling in millions.

mmmmm?

Teachers interviewed said they were occasionally alarmed by the poor academic proficiency of student-athletes. Some receiving passing marks elsewhere did so poorly in their class, the teachers struggle to imagine those students legitimately passing other courses needed to stay eligible for competition. One teacher suspected collusion in "fixing" or altering grades of student-athletes to keep them eligible for competition.

Could it be this teacher is failing?
                      Would have been 'nice' if Gordon had asked a question on that teacher's annual 'pass percentage'? ...athletes? ...non-athletes?

...and the follow up to the teacher along the lines of - *You have admitted that not all your students are passing, what efforts have you made to cater to each of the 'failing students' unique manner of grasping facts/assimilation of information? Select a lesson and give (my readers) an example of more than one way you presented the lesson?

*Aside: Surely all of us would like to be reassured that the teacher is, on teaching, catering to the needs of all his/her students?

Originally posted by Time View Post

The bigger problem is that there are more illiterate students in the student population that don't play sports that do play sports. How do we fix that? Maybe if we fix the bigger problem then we can turn a blind eye to the few who play sports?
                        Let's say - "more failing" (wry smile!)

Bang on point, Time. We have been seeing stats over the years. Those have been pointed to Mathematics, English, Foreign Languages and the sciences... and if memory serves me right, many are the failing schools and teachers!

I hope Time is saying that it is a system failure - failure at educating our kids - being 'hidden' by introduction of 'red herring'/attempt at or by introduction of a distraction i.e. the singling out of student-athletes when there is pervasive failure to educate throughout the entire prep, primary, high school systems.

Would this be shedding some light/thinking on our Jamaica problem? --- Personal experience: I have mentioned that in the past I was a student of seven of our primary schools, two of our high schools and a teacher training college. I can remember fellow students labeled average or failures. I have since met a few who went on to attend institutions of learning in the USA who now have in various disciplines, degrees and some even doctorates... successes both in school and outside?

Somehow while in Jamaica, outside of the classroom, these persons never 'showed dumb'. Why is it they were then labeled average or dumb (in the classroom)? How is it they have moved on to achieve what they did?
                          Last edited by Karl; May 20, 2013, 09:56 AM.

Karl

The terrible problem of 'buying athletes?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iKoz85gGwK8

I don't know who said there was a problem when athletes are bought. What I will tell you, and your youtube contribution hints at this, no student-athlete passing thru Munro's gates will leave without a decent education. The student will not be exploited so as to help us win any championship.