Big ups to Thwaites for taking

Every teacher I know get paid for ONLY 10 months. Furthermore even if teachers get paid for '13' months in a year in the USA, they are in a position to do so .... Jamaica is not.
    Lazie: Your above appears to be shallow.

To ventilate the entire comparison on teacher employment in Jamaica and the USA there is a demand for exploration of exactly what holds in each country.

Among other things it demands explanation on whether or not there is a contracted hiring period in the USA and if that holds in Jamaica *(i.e....is there contracted hiring period in Jamaica?)...and the teacher's responsibility during 'vacation time' in both countries?

Good to see that you acknowledge the very limited parameter of information to which you are privy that - "every teacher I know".

Question: In the USA, is employment considered unbroken even as some teaching districts have instituted "10 month contracts"? ...there are implications on how the government of the USA, across various government departments' rule on this.

----

As a practical matter - how would being paid say, in the US being paid $45,000 for 10 months compare with being paid $2,000,000 in Jamaica impact on quality of life for the teacher in each country?

------

*While in Jamaica - When I worked as teacher there was never mention of 'contract employment' in GOJ teaching institutions.

It is not Vacation money time! In the States the reason they get a pay check in the summer is because there is an agreement to have their wages paid to them over a 12 month period.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
        It is not Vacation money time! In the States the reason they get a pay check in the summer is because there is an agreement to have their wages paid to them over a 12 month period.
        Thank you, MdmeX.
        I wondered on why there was an absence of a thinking on payment received being considered total for 12 month period.

Lazie: Your above appears to be shallow.

To ventilate the entire comparison on teacher employment in Jamaica and the USA there is a demand for exploration of exactly what holds in each country.

Among other things it demands explanation on whether or not there is a contracted hiring period in the USA and if that holds in Jamaica *(i.e....is there contracted hiring period in Jamaica?)...and the teacher's responsibility during 'vacation time' in both countries?

Good to see that you acknowledge the very limited parameter of information to which you are privy that - "every teacher I know".

Question: In the USA, is employment considered unbroken even as some teaching districts have instituted "10 month contracts"? ...there are implications on how the government of the USA, across various government departments' rule on this.

----

As a practical matter - how would being paid say, in the US being paid $45,000 for 10 months compare with being paid $2,000,000 in Jamaica impact on quality of life for the teacher in each country?

------

*While in Jamaica - When I worked as teacher there was never mention of 'contract employment' in GOJ teaching institutions.
          KArl, yuh post have me dizzy .. have NO idea what you're saying.

Let their parents do that.

I guess if the condoms fail, having been dispensed by the school, the school will be responsible for whatever happens after that?

what is the difference who gives it to them...just give them the damn condoms...are we living in the dark ages here?

but then on another subject when I say parents must be more responsible, you say children spend more time in school so....

How do we really address this? Thwaites and Holness good soundbite won't help.

when a youth come inna class a sing Beenie man "nuff gal" inna class and you know him serious, what you do as a teacher. LOL?

What do you do then, Sass?! Hand him a box of Rough Riders?!?

And if comes in singing about creating duppies you hand him a Glock?!?!

Ridiculous...leap of logic anyone?

As I state, this is a conversation we have to have and decide where kids going to get condomns, as you know most parents don't even believe their kids are having sex.

It is touchy subject but a real one and as a community we have to find real solution for it. I will ignore the second line .

As I state, this is a conversation we have to have and decide where kids going to get condomns, as you know most parents don't even believe their kids are having sex.
                        Exactly...but that revised Sex Education book that Ronnie is working on should nip the problem in the bud...

It is simple logic, straight, pedestrian logic!

He sings about having sex so you yuh help him out with condoms. So, it would appear that anyting him sing bout yuh gwine help him out.

Simple logic. If yuh cyaan handle it I will try and dumb it dung fi yuh.
                          Last edited by Mosiah; May 17, 2013, 06:24 PM. Reason: pedestrian not pedantic

"when a youth come inna class a sing Beenie man "nuff gal" inna class and you know him serious, what you do as a teacher. LOL"

It wasn't just singing about it, read again.

Ok. Perhaps I misunderstood. Talk plain!

That is not called simple logic at all...it's called a leap of logic...