Doesn't surprise mi. Wukliss Trinis!
    Yep. That is how they most things.

Spirit wanted Air Ja but wanted it for nothing so it never worked out. Spirit and Jet Blue fly the profitable routes to the caribbean and American and Delta use their connections to squeeze out profits on their routes. CAL should have learned. I don't know why they would have choosen to open up a route to London in this time when nobody nuh want it.

Sort it out amongst unnu selves and get back to mi.

you wanted to keep it??? What was the real value of Air Jamaica to Jamaica???

Check the amount of loss every year over the last 10 years.

Like Butch the Trini them want give we back now. LOL

No way should Jamaica be paying the Trinidad Govt to offload the asset. I recall the storm of criticism of the GOJ a few years ago when the Heathrow slots were sold. As it turns out good thing that was done since JA at least received money for that asset....and it was not part of the giveaway.

The Air J choice was not between that hurried, severely flawed deal with Trinidad and "keeping it" as in keep it operating...if that's what you mean.

If there was no better offer at the time than paying Trinidad to take the asset...mothball the thing and wait until the market conditions allow some cost recovery in disposing of the asset.

Gelding was spooked by the IMF into that folly of paying TT for Air J to meet their deadline.
            Last edited by Don1; May 16, 2013, 09:15 AM.

The London slot was the only value asset we had. Air J would be worth something with it and Jamaica still had 16 percent ownership in the Airline and you still can't agree that the London slot may have been sold for less than the value of the day but you can see that Air J was.

Don't be ridiculous to defend foolishness

The airline's best assets were and remain the right to fly to certain prime routes in the United States and its flag carrier status upon which 100s of US$ millions were spent to establish in the marketplace. Without those elements it is a big fat zero.

Dats Airline 101

Time to guh back to school Sass
                Last edited by Don1; May 16, 2013, 09:58 AM.

The OCG and others confirmed that the process used to get rid of the slots was way short of what was suppose to be used.

The fact that we are flying to America means nothing when we have mountains of losses on those routes so you need to settle yourself. How much money has Air Jamaica made from those valuable routes over the years?

What good is marketplace have when you dumping money in a pit?

You are surprised that he would?

you read what the OCG said and recommend?

How exactly was that London slot helping AirJ?

Who said it was? The fact is not that is shouldn't be sold but the OCG and others said we possible could have gotten more for it at the time and may not have been market value.

Can you dispute that????

I am not disputing that.

Thanks for your response.

So what are you disputing?

Just wanted some clarification. Didn't want anyone to be trying to make it seem like AirJ's demise was because of the lost London slots.