• Ferrari chairman vows to never build an electric car

Some people never learn.

But Di Montezemolo made clear that Ferrari would never break from the tradition of powerful gasoline engines on his watch, no matter the pressure: "We will never manufacture an electric car as long as I'm chairman."
    The way technology is going, maybe electric cars will give way to cars running on air! And going faster than a gas-powered car could ever dream of!

http://autos.yahoo.com/blogs/motoram...130344501.html

shocking!

Given the niche that Ferrari has though, he probably won't be forced to go back on that statement while he is chairman.

It is always fun to read the statements made by people when they don't believe in a new technology. This is one of my favorites:

The personal computer will fall flat on its face in business
      Ken Olsen - Chairman of DEC in the 1970s

I should mention that Olsen was no fool. A talented engineer and businessman whose company for a while was seen as being on the cutting edge of technology. Some things seem so obvious in hindsight but at the time they certainly were not.

Why. The price of those cars, if you can't buy gas you salt .

it's not believing in a new technology...it has more to do with the 'feel and sound'...when they develop the appropriate technology to simulate a gas engine sound ^ feel...I'm sure his views will change

The fact is most people who currenty buy that kind of car buy it for a certain performance and status. Elecricity as it is gives neither. He has no reason to change it currently.
            When others get the technology right he may change his mind.

But why do we believe that electric cars 10 years from now have to be the boring electric cars that we have today?

That's the thing about technology and making predictions.

Remember when wi used to say tight pants fi man will never come back?! I can imagine how many a wi trousers a squeeze up wi privates right yah now!

Okay, that was not a technological prediction, but you got my point!

But why do we believe that electric cars 10 years from now have to be the boring electric cars that we have today?

That's the thing about technology and making predictions.

Remember when wi used to say tight pants fi man will never come back?! I can imagine how many a wi trousers a squeeze up wi privates right yah now!

Okay, that was not a technological prediction, but you got my point!
                Man nuh fi wear tights ...Fiya bun!

I can imagine how many a wi trousers a squeeze up wi privates right yah now!
                  Keep your thoughts to yourself please

But 10 years from now it might not be electric, might be something else.

You remember Mercedes and Diesel 20 years ago? Where is it now?

The Toyota and the Fords have more stake in it now. People not buy his car because of mile to the gallon or because evironmental effect.

Boring?

Which cyar can beat the Tesla roadster from 0-60mph?

The differential in electric cars mean tht the torque is immediately available to accelerate the car. The Roadstar gets to 60 in about 2.9s!

Tell that to the Ferrari boss!

But 10 years from now it might not be electric, might be something else.
                          Isn't that what I said earlier?!?!

yeah but using your word you can see why.

Why?

Mi ah Lambo supporter! LoL