Learner Driva backs Seedless Grapes for Banana Republic..

What does the number have to do with the term ???

Seems you are confused on matters...

No I dislike the idea of diaspora voting in the system as it currently exists more.

If we are talking something along the lines of what Holness suggesting where there are a small number of let us say "non-resident" constituencies then that would make sense as that would solve the problem of the disproportionately large numbers of non-resident voters.

There is a reason the US has the electoral college system and has two elected senators per state. Is it flawed? Yes it is but less so than allowing a few states to dominate all others.

Why do you dislike the idea of diaspora voting in the system as it currently exists ?

Because I believe the persons resident in any one constituency should always represent a much greater voting bloc than those who are non-resident.

If you can guarantee that then I have no problem.

???????

U serious?

We have dis diasporic representation already in Jamaica.

How many MPs are seedless Grapes in their own constituencies? How many LIVE in their consituencies and are not just VISITORS?

Not only the ones who would have to take plane to visit are Farrin to the people they aspire to rep.

I am less concerned about a representative living in a constituency if he/she is doing a good job. If the people in the constituency have a problem with that then they should not vote for non-resident candidates.

But people living in Miami and NY being able to decide who is the MP for Central Westmoreland? No sah, me can't support dat.

Me starting to like the idea of having one or two diaspora Senators and MPs though. Dat can work.

maybe if we were voting for a national president

Relevance? Jamericans don't even know the price of gas...yuh nuh hear Jawge seh gas cheap in Jamaica...see what I mean...yuh nuh see British/Jamaicans a go Spanish Town and a walk up and down a hold hand like eediat and get dem marrow splash pon wall...dem doh have a clue
                    Last edited by Bricktop; May 8, 2013, 05:04 PM.

Suh wait.. suppose is Central Westmoreland dem come from and send dem remittance every Month ???

Dem nuh muss concern who a represent dat constituency ?

I did not know knowledge of current affairs was a prerequisite for voting..

Thought it was how much curry goat and white rum dem serve ?

Yuh count dat as current affairs ?

Not only that, the numbers are such that the votes of those outside of the island could dominate those who actually have to live under the govt. That is not acceptable in my view.

If you want to vote that bad then go down and get enumerated with a local address.
                          I think Holness was suggesting seats reserved for 'diaspora only'. ...and some type of arrangement where that would have no effect on 'balance of power'. ...sort of 'neutral' position...a belonging to no party...I think...????

Dem can be concerned, dem can even send money to dem favorite candidate. Just can't vote for him.

And the pickney who born a New Jersey, and never step foot in Jamaica, voting too don't?

I did not know knowledge of current affairs was a prerequisite for voting..

Thought it was how much curry goat and white rum dem serve ?

Yuh count dat as current affairs ?

LOL