• Jamaica - Let's Not Give Up

Jamaica Land We Love <contact@jalawelo.org>
    9:18 AM (57 minutes ago)

to me

Dear Friend of Jamaica,

The state of affairs in Jamaica is dire. Over the past few months in particular there seems to be a growing sense of desperation, and this was reflected in recent comments made by the Minister of National Security as it relates to crime on the island (read article here).

We may wave the flag boldly at the Penn Relays, cheer on our athletes at the Olympics, relish the successes of the Reggae Boyz, take delight in our music and our amazing cuisine, but if we dare to be honest with ourselves, deep down we know that our nation is hemorrhaging at its very core and very little seems to be helping the situation.

One question we need to answer is whether we can make a difference if we were to take a chance and work together.

This is risky business. Trust is at an all-time low. The ponzi schemes, lottery scams, and the deep corruption at all levels in society have made us afraid to trust. And understandably so. In light of this, we truly appreciate your decision to make a pledge to our pilot project.

But, again: CAN WE REALLY MAKE A DIFFERENCE IF WE WERE TO TAKE A CHANCE AND WORK TOGETHER?

We have only 4 days remaining, and our ability to fund our pilot project will not only help an inner city school. It will ALSOdemonstrate that all of us working together can indeed make a difference under the “one-one cocoa full basket” principle. We firmly believe this, and we want to prove that reality by funding this project. Please continue to pray with us for this initiative and share this information with your friends and family.

Also, regardless of the outcome of this pilot, if you can dare to dream a big dream for Jamaica, please contact us. We want to collaborate with you and with others to see how we can practically work together to see real change.

Sincerely,

Donna Gabbadon
    Executive Director

Jamaica Land We Love
    19 JENKINS AVE STE 200
    LANSDALE, PA 19446
    United States
    To unsubscribe from this mailing list, click the link below.
    Unsubscribe
    19 JENKINS AVE STE 200
    LANSDALE, PA 19446
    United States

Go tell that to my bredren whose sister was killed years ago. The Prime Minister brother attacker found within 3 days. Bunting robber found and charged within 3 days. His sister and countless other killers still not known years after.

I too have lost family members (three), had family members robbed (many), beaten stabbed (one dead, one survived), friend shot (paralyzed)...is that an excuse not to care about children in Jamaica??? It's the easy cop out...blame the politicians...
      Can't do that

Who is blaming the politicians here and why would you say it is an excuse not to care about children? Brethren, I have given nuff $$$ to charities in Ja.

Maybe this is not the right post. Yesterday, one of my friends class mate was killed, tragically, George Saunders was murdered, brutally, after refusing to pay extortion money to thugs in the area where he lived and operated his business. He would have been 45 years old in June of this year.
        Last edited by Hortical; May 7, 2013, 10:52 AM.

About 2 (or so years) ago, a similar piece appeared in the local newspaper and posted on this forum.

It outlined specific individuals and families that were in dire need of help. Donations were to be sent by wire to a bank account. Contact info. were to an email address and a mailing address at Half-way Tree.

I was touched by the appeal, so i decided to send a donation. I first sent an email stating my intention, the family i wanted it to assist and the amount i was sending. I also specified that I would prefer to donate by check. (This was for business tax purposes).

The check to this date has not been cleared.

My view is that this may have been a scam.

I support only local Jamaican charities that i know the individuals involved-- as well as those I locals Jamaican we choose to help.

My friend donate through United way out of his paycheck. He setup a scholarship fund for his old school. He donates more than 1000 US dollar annually and told the Principal of the school how to get it and give a kid the scholarship every year. He noticed the money was not drawn and contacted the school and until now no effort was made to collect the money on their part.

Diaspora conference in June...

Mek mi watch di ride..

There is a innovation that can transform the dynamic..pilot program approved.. unfortunately it is disruptive technology and optimal deployment will affect the power base.. lets see if the oligarchs win again and delay until they eventually catch up...

That is a very common type of problem. Another thing you haffe watch out for is that the money or goods donated is used in the way you specified it should be used.

In JA it often takes not just cash but also a lot of time and effort to care.

Some people understandably just can't be bothered.

Wah dis? ...nedda scheme?

Your family ?

That is a very common type of problem. Another thing you haffe watch out for is that the money or goods donated is used in the way you specified it should be used.

In JA it often takes not just cash but also a lot of time and effort to care.

Some people understandably just can't be bothered.
                      Yu think we get shegg Islandman?

Exile, I see some people with your last name involved in this project. I assume they are family.

As such, I doubt if this could be a scam.

People, if unnu looking for a reason to not give, there are many. Choose one.

To the others, follow your heart and your conscience.

It looks very bleak. However if there is any chance of redemption it is with a generation yet to come of age, so I have decided to put my focus on the youth.

Sorry to hear...not directing post at you though..just a general statement,,,the madness continues.