• More male role models needed for our boys — Thwaites

More male role models needed for our boys — Thwaites

Monday, May 06, 2013

MINISTER of Education Rev Ronald Thwaites says boys are in need of more positive male role models to help with changing their values and attitudes so they can achieve their full potential.

Thwaites says this intervention is even more critical, given the recent spate of student violence primarily involving boys.
    Minister of Education Rev Ronald Thwaites (right) in conversaation with Chief Education Officer Grace McLean (left) and Hipolina Joseph, programmes officer (education), Commonwealth Secretariat, during a ceremony to officially launch the ‘Advancing the Education of Boys’ project held on Thursday at the Medallion Hall Hotel, St Andrew. (Photo: JIS)

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
    1/1

"Invariably, what we find is that there is a deep deficit of emotional and psychological stability on the part of those who are responsible and sometimes on the part of the victims, too," the minister said.
    He was speaking at the official launch of the 'Advancing the Education of Boys' project at the Medallion Hall Hotel in Kingston on Thursday.
    Minister Thwaites lamented that many of the perpetrators do not know their fathers, and may have a dysfunctional relationship with their fathers or with the male figure in their lives.
    "We don't like to talk about this in Jamaica, because we believe...that it speaks too much to the intimacy of personal lives...and yet we fail to recognise the extraordinary social consequences of our personal behaviour... and therefore, there is a strong correlation between personal responsibility and the improvement of the next generation of young persons, particularly the boys," he argued.
    Chief executive officer of the Jamaica Teaching Council (JTC) Dr Winsome Gordon agreed that young men do not have adequate male role models, which, she said, is one of the factors that has contributed to their underachievement.
    "We do not have enough men to be models for our children. In our schools, the staff is predominantly female. At home, we have our mothers, and some of us have never seen our fathers...we don't have the role models," she stated.
    Dr Gordon said the underperformance of boys has also been linked to learning disabilities, noting that research has shown that boys are more affected by this than girls. She noted, as well, that boys tend to be influenced by the "get rich quick" mentality and believe that "school is not the way to go".
    Minister Thwaites pointed out that the Government has been working to institute measures to improve the overall output of students, in particular boys, noting that the ministry has been promoting the development of at least one uniformed group in each school. "We believe that the discipline of order, and of common purpose that these groups bespeak, helps young men...to be focused," he stated.
    He noted that the ministry is also seeking to address the "cognitive and social difficulties" students face, pointing to the three new diagnostics centres that are to be available to schools later this year. "This will give us a chance to deal with the (issues) at the earliest stage possible so that the boy child and all children, can have the best chance of progress," he noted.
    Having recognised the challenges of the underachievement of boys, the Ministry of Education, through the 'Advancing the Education of Boys' project, is on a path to ensure success for all boys in the education system.
    Jamaica is one of four Caribbean countries involved in the project, which seeks to develop strategies that will create an enabling educational environment for boys.
    Thirteen schools from regions one, two and three have been selected to participate in the initiative, which is expected to last for three years.
    It is being undertaken by the ministry, through the JTC, in collaboration with the Commonwealth Secretariat, which is providing funding and technical expertise.
    — JIS

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2SXms3tr8

Judge orders release of murder suspect 'Rooksie' James

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...Rooksie--James

Judge orders release of murder suspect 'Rooksie' James

Monday, May 06, 2013 | 11:12 AM

Print this page Email A Friend!
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...Rooksie--James
    KINGSTON, Jamaica - Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey has ordered the immediate release of Uriel ‘Rooksie’ James, reputed area leader of the Rose Town-based Discipline Gang.

James, who is currently facing two murder charges, was taken into custody last month following allegations that he had breached a condition of his bail that prohibits him from visiting the Rose Town community in Kingston.

But the judge in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate’s court this morning ruled that ‘Rooksie’ be “released forthwith” because she was not satisfied that he breached his bail condition as was alleged.

Pusey said that the Office of Director of Public Prosecution has not produced the bail bond to verify if there was actually a breach.

She added that she also did not find the policemen who said he saw James in the Rose Town community to be credible.

James is to appear in Home Circuit later this month on the murder charges.

He is being represented by attorneys Tom Tavares Finson and Patrick Bailey.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2SXoCXKe2

How about role models in general???

Again this is very telling in our state of education today.

The role models appear to be the don and the Dancehall artiste.

Don1! Pusey at it again!

But you know, why does it always seem like the DPP and the police just have a serious penchant for screwing up cases?!!?

Our Role Models!

Want to know who the real role models are in today’s Jamaica? If you have a DVD of the London Olympic Games, just check Warren Weir immediately before and immediately after the 200-meter race. Look at his attitude and gestures.

But I am a bit amused that this topic of role models is being discussed on this particular forum! In the past when I (supported by one or two other concerned posters who I won’t name right now) tried to discuss the view that our culture is warped and dysfunctional, with negative influences being promoted heavily, voices here were raised in harsh criticism of my views. Now this!

The role models that many of you posters have – that is, the guys (role models) who bring the forwards at Sting, etc. – are the same role models the average Jamaican youth has. These young men are not very different from many of the adults here!

Didn’t anyone ever tell us that we cannot eat our cake and have it?!

You know what, let me leave this damn thread….

Historian there is a difference between badman entertainment and Dancehall music itself and that is what I pointed to you. Not all Dancehall artist are badmen and you have some badmen when sing reggae and other genre. Nuff of this music kids shouldn't be listening anyway.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                Want to know who the real role models are in today’s Jamaica? If you have a DVD of the London Olympic Games, just check Warren Weir immediately before and immediately after the 200-meter race. Look at his attitude and gestures.
                Don't get it. What yuh referring to?

Deacon Thwaites is not saying anything new here. The biggest problem with boys in Jamaica is that their fathers are no where to be found or seen. The nuff gyal culture, "mi have 30 baby mada" - Elephant Man. We need fi teach morality & chastity.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                    Deacon Thwaites is not saying anything new here. The biggest problem with boys in Jamaica is that their fathers are no where to be found or seen. The nuff gyal culture, "mi have 30 baby mada" - Elephant Man. We need fi teach morality & chastity.
                    How can a man like me wey have 35 pickney, be involved in things like that? How dat drop een? Look how much real fish out deh wey dem fi guh talk bout," he said.
                    http://jamaica-star.com/thestar/20130425/ent/ent1.html

Well....

Don't get it. What yuh referring to?
                      Look at the gesture that Warren Weir was making while he was being introduced and again after the race when he was being hugged by the crowd! That Gaza sign was discussed on this message board (in the “Other Sports Forum”) shortly after the 200-meter finals!

Interestingly, Warren received much big-ups from Jamaicans abroad. So, don’t let sentimental views of the diaspora fool you; many of them are no different from their counterparts in the inner city communities of Kingston, nothwithhstanding their access to the “seedless grapes” we often talk about!

Incidentally, Bolt has tendencies along that line of thinking/attitude, just like Weir.

Beenie Man have 10 children. He also has 10 baby moddas.

Why is that viewed as wrong though?

Very Surprising Question

Beenie Man have 10 children. He also has 10 baby moddas.

Why is that viewed as wrong though?
                          I’m not able to go into detail right now, as I’m going out. But I’ll say this: There are repercussions for stupid, irresponsible actions like this. Anyone who lives in poor black communities in the Caribbean and North America, for example, can cite examples of the repercussions of such irresponsibility.

Put another way, a child/children who is/are raised in a home where there is an ideal or a close to ideal family structure -- with both parents able and willing to spend quality time with their children -- is more likely to be a more properly socialized child than if this wasn’t the case. Surely you realize that irresponsible actions by the Beenie Man’s of our society is a HUGE, HUGE cause of the social problems we face in Jamaica today?!!

But you know, why does it always seem like the DPP and the police just have a serious penchant for screwing up cases?!!?
                            Well since Pusey invove... screwing up is very appropriate

Been like that for some time now so I thought the deacon would offer a fresh perspective.
                              Let see, in a political arena dominated by males(the leaders) we do not have role models for youngsters?No demand that politicians become worthy role models?
                              An absentee father is a problem for children of all genders.
                              They have role models, just inappropriate ones(like politicians).
                              Ask a child who is his or her role model(make sure the mom or dad is not standing there)and you will probably hear anybody but the parent.