• 'Inner-City Housing Project Is Important To Jamaica'

ovan Johnson, Gleaner Writer

Social activist and community advocate, Dr Henley Morgan says, the benefit to the country outweighs the cost required to fund the Inner-City Housing Project to be restarted next year.

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller announced in Parliament last week that, the project, halted in 2008, is to be restarted using funds from the National Housing Trust (NHT).

Since the announcement concerns have been raised as to the use of NHT funds for the benefit of non-contributors compounded by high delinquency rates.

There were also questions about the entrenchment of garrison politics.

Noting that the viability of the NHT must be paramount, Morgan says, the project is important on a cost benefit ratio to Jamaica.

He says the returns from such investment will include the reduction of crime and violence.

The community activist is dismissing the argument that the project could result in the entrenchment of garrisons.

He asserts that the project is the best garrison fighter given the regulations that will come with the development of the housing solutions.

Morgan says the fallout from the 2010 West Kingston Incursion resulted in a significant increase in delinquency rates.

He said the $22-billion loss incurred from the incursion included many mortgagers who became unviable.

In 2008 Former Prime Minister, Bruce Golding, indicated he had concerns about the financial strain delinquency by beneficiaries was having on the NHT.

However, Simpson Miller has insisted the Trust will not be impaired despite also contributing $45 billion over the next four years to the public coffers.

Mek wi see how this plays out. The good thing is that scrutiny will be high!

This man works in those communities so his opinion should count for something.

Dudus the boogeyman gets the blame once again...care to explain why delinquency rates were 70% in 2008?

History counts for nothing now?

How many times we want to repeat it?

Well, Mo says its better managed now, so I will kotch and watch.

Willi, would you like to debate Dr. Henley Morgan on Things Inner City in Jamaica?

I dare you!

No, forget what I said. I defer to the goodly doctor gentleman.

Originally posted by Skeng DX View Post
              ovan Johnson, Gleaner Writer

Social activist and community advocate, Dr Henley Morgan says, the benefit to the country outweighs the cost required to fund the Inner-City Housing Project to be restarted next year.

There were also questions about the entrenchment of garrison politics.

Noting that the viability of the NHT must be paramount, Morgan says, the project is important on a cost benefit ratio to Jamaica.

He says the returns from such investment will include the reduction of crime and violence.

The community activist is dismissing the argument that the project could result in the entrenchment of garrisons.

He asserts that the project is the best garrison fighter given the regulations that will come with the development of the housing solutions.
              Hmmm, where have y'all heard all that before?!?!

Was the delinquncy rate really 70% in 2008? That is pass bad.

What is it now?

Henry Morgan tek people fi fool...

I have no idea! Whoever is saying that must produce the evidence.

Stay deh gwaan put yuh trust in PIRATES!!

Was the delinquency rate in 2008 comparable to the delinquency rate in 2010 when the boogeyman Dudus was flushed out of TG? If so Henry Morgan is chatting fart...I have numbers to back up my assertion...does Henry Morgan?

Why? You put yours in the biggest pirates in Jamaican history...the PNP

Henry Morgan died centuries ago although I believe his ghost still haunts the sleepy town of Port Royal. And maybe you catch him in Pirates of the Caribbean at your neighbourhood cinema.

Just saying...

At least they are alive and well!