Yuh PPP post never excellent though...had yuh eating crow...mi skeechers kick some logic back inna yuh head
Are Paulwell's tablets the right prescription?
I just give my opinion, can't say I strive for excellence.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Parents alone can't do it but too many not trying and that is heart breaking. I think if many try, they will find programs or neighour willing to give some time.
I just think our current culture give excuse for bad parenting and we just don't do our job.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postyou know how I feel about kids and technology. This can be good but it has to be used in the right way and for the right purpose.
Sass: It is what holds in the teaching/learning situation!
Generalisation...but true: Put this in your pipe and smoke it. The child who does not learn, was not taught!
...or put another way; there is no child who cannot learn (grasp) what is properly taught. ...means our poor achievement in mathematics, the sciences and 2nd languages is as a direct result of teachers failing at their tasks. The children are blameless.
All other things being equal - content, etc. -the lessons are to be made exciting and enjoyable. If they are not, the teacher has failed."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Geez, Willi! Give it a chance!
You know, with all the dunce, hand miggle diggers around me, it is amazing how they can navigate thru AND READ stuff on their mobile phones. Give it a chance , Willi Yes, keep the blackboard (whiteboard?) but let's see how the latest technology can help.
What will you use to determine if it was a waste of time or not?
Is the e-learning project that has assisted many schools with computer labs and equipment a waste of time?"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
I have seen technology in the classroom go to waste in so many cases. In most cases it is the same underperforming school which don't have good organization, a good PTA and teachers who care that have problem with technology in the classroom.
I think at the early age discipline and basic education as we know it is the key to transformation. The Technology can help but by itself it means nothing in the classroom. I had the oppurtunity to pilot at least 2 technology in the classroom project in a school district and a college.
There is a lot more to go with this than just getting technology in the hands of student. Now you have more computer is schools in Jamaica than you ever had before and you have the worst grades ever.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
No, because its focus time in comp labs...its also shared not one to one playtoy.
Tablet is what? Soon get stolen or broken and then what? Another $850m with people struggling to survive. Yuh see what happening to pensioners?
In current circumstances this is a grand poppyshow waste and is bordering on criminal.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostI have seen technology in the classroom go to waste in so many cases. In most cases it is the same underperforming school which don't have good organization, a good PTA and teachers who care that have problem with technology in the classroom.
I think at the early age discipline and basic education as we know it is the key to transformation. The Technology can help but by itself it means nothing in the classroom. I had the oppurtunity to pilot at least 2 technology in the classroom project in a school district and a college.
There is a lot more to go with this than just getting technology in the hands of student. Now you have more computer is schools in Jamaica than you ever had before and you have the worst grades ever."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I said generally excellent not perfect... thanx for the SkeechersTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Assasin View PostI just give my opinion, can't say I strive for excellence.
But if yuh satisfied wid di mediocre ah fi yuh ting datTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE