• JLP Was Bullied

Arthur Hall, Senior News Editor

The Opposition Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) has agreed that it failed the nation when it made the decision in 2010 not to proceed with the plan to have the EXMAR consortium introduce liquefied natural gas (LNG) to Jamaica.

"If you ask me for a short list of errors we made in the previous administration, that (decision) was a big one," former finance minister Audley Shaw told journalists at The Gleaner's office in downtown Kingston last week.

"We, the Cabinet approved EXMAR as the preferred bidder and we allowed this nonsense perpetrated by the then contractor general to throw us and derail this programme. If it was not derailed, whether we were in power or not, LNG would be rolling out in Jamaica right now and I say that without any fear of contradiction," declared Shaw.

The contractor general referred to by Shaw was Greg Christie who, following a probe, issued a 609 page report in 2011 calling on the Government to cancel the EXMAR deal and seek fresh bids after his office found "breaches" in the selection process.

Favouritism and impropriety

According to the report the selection of EXMAR was tainted by favouritism and impropriety.

Initially, the Government, then led by Bruce Golding, seemed determined to push ahead with the EXMAR deal.

"... We need to get cheaper energy to the productive sector so ... we're going to continue negotiating because we want to get this in place as quickly as possible," Golding declared.

But under pressure from the contractor general and with public opinion siding with Christie, the Cabinet buckled and broke off the deal.

Last week, Shaw, then a key member of the Cabinet as finance minister, declared his team was wrong.

"When the Cabinet awarded the thing (LNG contract) to EXMAR we should have proceeded with that contract. Had we done that we would have LNG rolling right now," argued Shaw.

"We had a competitive bidding system, EXMAR emerged as the clear winner, they were the ones in the global LNG that were the most qualified company in the question of regassification," he added.

The former finance minister argued that the then Government wrongly allowed the contractor general to interfere in the process after the Cabinet had made the decision.

In 2010, when the Government approved EXMAR to lead the introduction of LNG to Jamaica, the gas was being sold internationally for US$0.08. Since then an increase in world demand has pushed the price of LNG above levels that would make it feasible for Jamaica.

So, after years of planning and millions of dollars in expenditure the Portia Simpson Miller administration decided that it just could not afford the cost of setting up the infrastructure and other requirements for the introduction of LNG.

Energy Minister Phillip Paulwell subequently announced that the private sector would be allowed to determine the fuel type which will be introduced to reduce Jamaica's dependence on expensive oil.

A number of entities are now bidding for the right to introduce 360-megawatts of power to the country with a decision expected to be made shortly.

Paulwell had previously argued that if the Government had moved in 2010 when the infrastructure bid was won by the EXMAR consortium it would have been better for Jamaica as the price of LNG then was acceptable.

So if they were convinced that the process was above board why did they buckle? It seems they were NOT convinced ....

The first mistake the PM made was make Robertson the minister. Anything hat joker did was questionable. Secondly, did you forget the public outcry after the OCG recommendation?

What of the LNG Steering Committee..who exactly was Steering..??

There is a saying that is appropriate here.. Do not let perfect become the enemy of good... or do not cut off your nose to spite your face..

Now we see Bicknell et al so far ahead by a length from a list of unsolicited proposals..

I suspect there is more to this saga that only an enquiry can unearth..

People talk about fighting against black man.. Where Mr. Moore did feel him was a guh...

"Thou Shalt not have any Oligarchs before me"

Watching to see who wins the contract for the new plant(s).... I know where my money is.. PNP in power.. no project on di ground nah stap !

It will be interesting to see how they get around the Hong Kong group proposal !!

Did you read the OCG rebuttal....Whatever comes out of Politician mouth is not gospel...it seesm there were other red flags...LEgal opinion agaisnt going ahead etc etc.

and former OCG sey dat him have former PM in him corner..wow...mek shaw look like a lying baby

Not everything outta Christie mouth was Gospel either.

2 independent sources explained his racket....hmmm

So at least 1 former minister of government agrees that going ahead without CG's approval can be in the country's interest.

Well! Well!

...over to Lazie, Willi and Sass who championed the line that CG could not and should never be questioned.

Huh?

When mi seh dat? Shady Pines moment.

See my recent post above! LoL

Just in case you don't realise Karl Samuda, Mike Henry and Darryl Vaz have the same position.

The fact is if the government going ahead and breaking the same laws they made, what is the use of the OCG? The OCG only to investigate and pass ruling "sometime:?

The fact is it is up on the government to change certain law to suit the lazy politicians who break the laws and foster corruption?

Give me the OCG anyday over the politicans.

The laws are the laws and the same politicans made them for it to be followed. Tell me when and where the OCG ruling has been wrong.

Just in case you don't realise Karl Samuda, Mike Henry and Darryl Vaz have the same position.

The fact is if the government going ahead and breaking the same laws they made, what is the use of the OCG? The OCG only to investigate and pass ruling "sometime:?

The fact is it is up on the government to change certain law to suit the lazy politicians who break the laws and foster corruption?
                      Give me the OCG anyday over the politicans.

The laws are the laws and the same politicans made them for it to be followed. Tell me when and where the OCG ruling has been wrong.
                      The OCG was established to have oversight powers to prevent misuse and waste of public funds (inclusive of being a deterrent to corruption)...the OCG's role was never meant to be that of making decisions on behalf of Ministers of Government, Cabinet or GOJ.

The previous holder of the office of OCG somehow thought he was the final arbiter on decisions that rightfully belonged to our elected officials and unfortunately there are some members of the citizenry who believed likewise.

The fact is a GC can become corrupt and misuse the powers and resources at his disposal. That holder of the of office of CG must be 'watched like a hawk' and must be held to be transparent and fair in dealings=oversight review, disclosure of matters that lead to findings (inclusive of inducements offered to sway judgment and conclusions).

Surely any holder of the office of CG operates in an environment similar to which politicians and beneficiaries of GOJ contracts and awards? ...with similar possible subjection to bribes, influence of special interests, etc?

If such a person has pure heart and clean hands then surely such a holder of the office would not object to rigorous scrutiny?

Willi can "Huh?" as much as he wishes.

Can you tell me when the OCG break the laws of Jamaica??? unlike our politicians. If you think the OCG regulation for the OCG is to be changed then politicans should change it. They can't have it both ways, asking for investigation and then do not want oversights.

Nobody is saying the OCG is above the law. If his finding is based on facts or lack of information by the politican, then whose fault is it?

Di HUH is that you ah give me opinions that I dont have!

Stop telling me what I think, allow me to tell you.

Shaw bites back - Former finance minister takes on Christie

Shaw bites back - Former finance minister takes on Christie for rebuttal of statements on LNG contract award

Published: Wednesday | May 8, 2013

Shaw

Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer

A verbal battle between former Finance Minister Audley Shaw and ex-Contractor General Greg Christie intensified yesterday with the politician unleashing a counteraction to the salvo fired days earlier.

The confrontation between the two public figures, reputed for their fiery candour, showed no sign of easing yesterday when Shaw, the opposition spokesman on finance, scolded Christie for abusing his powers by donning "his mantle of infallibility".

Shaw roundly rejected suggestions by Christie, who has earned acclaim as well as criticisms for his refusal to recoil from battles with public servants whom he deemed errant in the pursuit of their duties.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead1.html

Did you in the past take me to task for saying CG should be carefully watched in the same vein as he was being asked to keep tabs on the politicians?

Check di site...via your favorite search engine for your position.