I have the solution to our problem regarding crime!!!

• I have the solution to our problem regarding crime!!!

Veteran ites will attest to my saying so before, we should get all the murderers to become police officers, that will have a serious dent in murder statistics,reclassifying murders.

Now, I would like to suggest a solution to our economic woes. We should just turn Jamaica over to the "ultra rich",hopefully three million of them. Our household net worth will be impressive,Jamaicans will definitely see an increase in salary, albeit the cost of living will negate that increase;we will remain debt slaves.
    Making the right decision is more difficult than making the wrong one,I will never be fooled by the wrongdoers.
    Folding is unprogressive,the reason to fight remains intact.

OBTW, we will have a serious investment in our Jakans regarding education, even though sadly that will NOT be reflected by the make up of the workforce,our well educated Jamaicans can't compete with the foreign work force flocking our island means nothing, after all we are well educated.

"Now, I would like to suggest a solution to our economic woes. We should just turn Jamaica over to the "ultra rich","

You late, FINSAC already pass through and did this.

Exactly, Sass, thanks!

The solution to our problem involves keeping the PNP as far away from the seat of power as possible..

OR

A complete makeover in their approach to governance and economic policy..

"We always believe we are best for Jamaica.. so ANYTHING that will cause us to be in power is therefore best for Jamaica..."

"Comrades on the road to the 4th Term, I was not going to stop any projects on the ground... better we CREATE the problem then try and fix it once in power rather than sit on the sidelines and watch..."

When they mature beyond that philosophy.. and only then...

Capiche ?

Only problem is dem was not the Ultra-Rich.. just some local man wid some money dat get a likkle richer lending money to the PNP..

That is a poor economic development model..

What are you saying one Political Party, JLP, last time I said that, big tracing I got, let me see how you make out with your suggestion.

How did you reach that conclusion ?

In a democracy there is a method to prevent a party from ruling..

I also gave another option...

Read it again.. slower this time..

What FINSAC did was take the little the poor had and give to the rich. It created no new wealth.

What I want to see is an environment that gives everyone a chance to create wealth. If gentrification is a side effect of that at least there will be some resources to deal with it.

How much you think real estate in Silicon Valley cost now versus before it was known as Silicon Valley? You think some gentrification took place?

Gentrification is a relatively small price to pay for progress. Certainly better than everyone living in squalor. I don't see much gentrification in downtown Kingston.

I think by not adequately taxing the ultra rich you are taking away from the poor.
                    Seems changes demanded by the indigenous people of Singapore are imminent ,what will be hard yo explain is why a people touted as collectively the most educated on Earth will choose to challenge the status quo of this so called Oasis of tranquility in this agonizing World.

One of my passion is small business. We keep on talking about these road project etc as economid drivers. It is good in the short term, not the long term.

The small businessman who had to cut his business because of Finsac, whether because he had a hard time paying back the interest or was owed by one of the many company who went out of business, may have survived(if he/she is lucky) but have cut workers and until today is in survival mode. This don't help with wealth creation.

When you take buiness like higate chocoalte out of business and farmers have no market, Argiculture Ministry now owe them and can't pay them, that only send farmers out of business as coffee is no short term market crop. Same thing happen to Blue Mountain Coffee.

Many people in Jamaica and on the forum talk bout investors like they are some foriegn class or different class of people than ourselves. Just recemtly as it relats to Portland I hear a minister saying a water project will be in place and "investors will have no excuse not to come to Portland. I said do these people know that the working class can be the biggest investors. We keep on waiting for some idiot to com with them 1 billion dlallrs and for us to say "Masa".

Sure but adequately is relative.

The outcome of a strong, growing economy is the ultimate objective, no? Does it matter what the tax rate is if that is being achieved? Clearly it should be a fair system where everyone contributes, but as to wether the highest tax rate is 30 , 40 or 50 percent should be based on what the impact of doing so would be, not because they are making "too much money".

There are places with low income taxes doing well, there are places with high income taxes doing horribly. And there are some with fairly high taxes doing well also.
                        Last edited by Islandman; May 5, 2013, 01:54 PM.

Is a country booming economy invariably an indicator of the pleasing quality of life of its indigenous people?Is American wealth reflected in the reservations for Indians?
                          Let us put things into proper perspective,the ultra rich flocking to Singapore are people that want to pay the lowest taxes possible(relative to all other tax brackets).Those people are not affected by conscience, they are not interested in paying adequate taxes.
                          BIG things a gwaan fi everybody but the soon to be extinct Singaporeans.
                          We know the ideal tax rate can't be the highest or the lowest,it is somewhere in between.

Is a country booming economy invariably an indicator of the pleasing quality of life of its indigenous people?
                            Definitely not, especicially when thy have been denied equal rights and protection.

I understand your point about the questionable value of the millionaires who establish residence in Singapore just to escape taxes. However there is no doubt that some of the gentrification is as a result of a booming economy and it positive impact on native Singaporeans.

Do you think the majority of Singaporeans would say life is better now for most people than 50 years ago, even though there are still problems? What does the majority of Jamaicans say?
                            Last edited by Islandman; May 6, 2013, 06:45 AM.