• Of Sports, Drugs, Work/Play Balance ...and Robots

Sports — the opium of our high schools
    By Dr Lascelve ‘Muggy’ Graham
    Saturday, May 04, 2013

This year, Champs — that spectacular display of Jamaica's high school track and field talent — was hailed as the best ever. We were on a high as never before.

Our last schoolboy football season was again full of excitement. However, the question remains, "to what end sports in our high schools?"
    Opiates (opium, narcotics) are excellent acute pain medication, but it is their ability to produce euphoria that makes them attractive to addicts.

Our high schools, like drug addicts, seem to be addicted to sports because of the euphoria, the elation produced primarily by the glory and the money, since:

1. Just like addicts have a strong desire or sense of compulsion to take drugs, our high schools have a strong desire to take sports performance enhancing athletes.

2. Just as addicts have difficulty in controlling drug-taking behaviour, so our high schools have difficulty in controlling sports recruiting behaviour.

3. For addicts, increased doses of the drug are required to achieve effects originally produced by lower doses. The same is true of sports recruiting by high schools. Since more schools are doing it, high schools have to recruit more sports talent to achieve the winning formula (some teams have transfers accounting for over 70 per cent of their regular starters).

4. Just as addicts persist with drug use despite clear evidence of harmful consequences, our high schools persist with recruiting for sports purposes despite evidence of harmful consequences to recruited students, legitimate students in recruiting schools, origin schools, origin school coaches, socialisation effects, etc.

So far this year, there have been at least three fatal stabbings associated with our schools. Recently, a youngster, after being reprimanded by a teacher, broke into the school storeroom and sprinkled Gramoxone, a highly poisonous substance, on food for the canteen.

A few days ago, some boys from a prominent high school were involved in the stabbing, robbing and beating of a bus driver. More recently, students at a St Thomas high school were involved in a stabbing incident — and the list goes on.

These and a host of other anti-social behaviours are what sports in our schools should be geared towards helping us to minimise and eventually eradicate. Instead, it appears the focus of sports in our schools is not on what is in the best interest of our children, but rather on bringing glory and money to some adults and institutions.

Let me state clearly and categorically that I am "pro-sports", "pro-athletics", with respect to sports in our high schools. My concern is that the excesses and the issues of balance and emphasis surrounding sports in the educational/socialisation framework of high school are undermining what a growing number of us recognise as the potential beneficial impact of sports in high school.

Fanatical efforts to improve sports programmes, improve winning records, gain and maintain national prominence are having deleterious effects that are eroding the very values that sports programmes in high school exist to promote — as well as the educational values that should be central to any high school.

The objective is to strengthen, not weaken, the contribution that sports makes to the overall educational experience of students and to the sense of kinship, identity, and family that is important not only to current students but also to graduates, faculty members, staff, and others who enjoy high school sports.

High schools are, at the end of the day, academic/technical institutions. They are established to serve educational purposes. Education takes many forms, and some of the most valuable learning experiences take place outside the classroom. However, that does not mean that academic and intellectual rigour is anything less than central to the academic enterprise.

Places in a class are extremely valuable in our preferred high schools. Vivid testimony attached to the importance of admissions decisions is provided by the visits and phone calls made to these schools by scores of disappointed applicants and their parents or guardians.

At these schools, the cost of admitting John is the inability to admit James and represents the basic concept of "opportunity cost". This is fundamental to the injustice meted out to those who would normally qualify for a school, based on our declared academic basis of space allocation, where academic performance and preference are supposed to decide admission to a particular school, aside from rare, exceptional cases.

It is said that sports builds character. I am concerned with what type of character high school sports is building or promoting. What lessons are we teaching our youngsters? How are we socialising them with respect to winning-at-all-cost, the end justifying the means, institutionalised injustice, self-reliance and other values and attitudes? How are we helping to build their self-confidence?

Is it that we are willing to allow capitalist competition free reign and to follow wherever it leads regardless? Is it that our lower profile schools count for nothing, are of no value and should be devalued further? If there were no inter-schools competition there would be no wide scale importation/recruiting of sports talent by our schools.

The drive, the motivation, of high schools to import and recruit sports talent is to win. Although just about all the schools and coaches that have lost athletes whom they discovered, nurtured and developed, to other more high-profile schools, are extremely displeased, and many very depressed, importing schools are like those who take sports performance enhancing drugs, they feel that without sports performance enhancing, readymade athletes, they cannot win and so they steal the glory, the thunder of others.

As we shift sports from its role as a teaching auxiliary, a teaching tool, an inculcator of social values in our high schools, and succumb to the professionalisation and commercialisation of sports, as we give in to the competitive value of sports, the economic pressure to win and continue to entrench recruiting for sports purposes in our high schools, let us remember that only a few become successful professional athletes, only a few will get sports scholarships.

Most of our youngsters give up formal sports after high school. We should also remember that organising sports differently will not affect our profile as world beaters. We need to bear in mind, the rapid advance of robotics/automation in this highly innovative so-called knowledge-based world economy

(http://video.us.msn.com/videos/watch/video/japanese-caregiving-robots/1q0on86?from=en-us_msnhpvidmod).

This means that in the not too distant future it will become even more difficult to find routine, low-level jobs, since these will be mechanised, automated, robotised. The need will be for higher level skills. This is why around the world, countries, while paying due regard to the humanities, have their schools even more focused on the academic/technical areas such as the STEM subjects — science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

The ranks of those who, like me, are concerned about the function of sports in our education/socialisation system (high school) are growing steadily.

However, too many are comfortable lining up with the so-called silent majority. I urge more of you to display even a smattering of the trait that Margaret Thatcher, love or hate her, had in such abundance —"balls". The courage of her convictions.

As was said elsewhere, "inertia is a powerful force. There are always more pressing problems. It is just easier to look the other way". Few things are more important than the education/socialisation of our youth. We need to reject the path of least resistance. We must speak up, or the vociferous, strident minority will continue to lead us down paths that wise men fear to tread — down precipitous, slippery slopes.

Dr Lascelve 'Muggy' Graham is a chemist and former Jamaica football captain
    Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz2SKSoyD1B
    Last edited by Don1; May 4, 2013, 09:27 AM.

Greetings Dr. Graham:

I read your excellent article with interest. You are correct that there are some who share your opinion regarding the overweening influence of sports in high schools and also generally in Jamaica.

Some believe, as I do, that this excessive attention to sport is a psychological response to our lack of excellence in other, more important areas like education or national development. If this is so the phenomenon is clearly pathological in nature...a disease.

Incredibly. we saw a Prime Minister a few years ago declare an instant national holiday after Jamaica qualified for the World Cup...clearly an act symptomatic of a diseased thought process

Fortunately in today's Knowledge Age we can have our cake and eat it as well...but only if we're smart and proactive i.e. disease free

It was instructive that your article recognized the robotics/automation revolution that is gathering pace globally. Jamaicans are generally asleep regarding this unstoppable tide of artificial intelligent technology... if they are aware perhaps they believe it is for "others" in the so called "First World". They are of course wrong on both counts.

Our children can enjoy the cake of exciting sports-type competition and simultaneously learn critical & innovative skills in the super competitive environment they adore....like this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=i1QyM9WTF18
    Impressive..aint it??

Some are convinced we can replicate or even improve on that US FIRST world standard . Of course we can..... if we're suitably motivated.

Imagine 200 high or 500 primary schools competing in robotics @ the National Arena or Indoor Sports Center?

Imagine the migration of skills to our kids in electronic & electrical engineering, computer-aided design, programming, critical thinking for problem solving etc...all delivered seamlessly in a fun environment

Imagine what the impact on national development would be if the same fanatical focus placed on Champs or Manning/DaCosta Cup competition is directed to contests in creating intelligent machines.

Fortunately, despite the wide Sargasso Sea of ignorance, inertia and bad-mindedness that chokes Jamaican initiatives ...a few have so imagined...including some on this forum

Suh...update yuhself pon Digital Yard...an den gi wi ah link.

Respek,

Don1
    Last edited by Don1; May 4, 2013, 11:18 AM.

Last month, the Newsl...the Observer had a feature on Albert Corcho, outgoing headmaster of Munro College and new principal of Calabar High School.

Check it out: http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/magazin...labar_13784911

It's no surprise that he would pose in front of a Penn Relays champions shield holding a trophy for some sport. Yes, I can't see the engraving on the trophy but something tells me it is not for Schools Challenge Quiz, Maths Competition or Rhodes Scholars.

I quote from the article:
      The fact that Calabar is currently the holder of the School Challenge Quiz and the Boys' Champs trophies is proof Corcho believes that the school has been balancing things so that their students become well rounded individuals.
      Never mind that Calabar did not make the top 30 of schools in Mathematics or English in the recently published education rankings. And btw, Campion, has never won SCQ.

In the article, Corcho is quoted as saying: "I am very excited about where I want to take Calabar. I think that I have some excellent young men who are poised to do very, very well. We have some young men who are very focused; we have some young men who are just willing and ready for the opportunity to make their contribution at Calabar and by extension at the national level," he said.

Well, 9 of his students just a few days ago, contributed a knife to the face of a JUTC driver because they were unable to obey reasonable instructions from him. They also focused their attention on the JUTC's funds and the driver's mobile phone. Okay, so maybe these 9 students are outliers. I'll give them that.

I pick on Corcho because I believe we are not serious about education in this country. Hell, wasn't it the Calabar captain who was deemed ineligible for Boys & Girls Champs this year because of unacceptable grades? Corcho is highly positioned in ISSA. How could this happen under his watch?

So, as I was saying, we pay lip-service to education in this country. It's sports and entertainment first and everything else will find its place in the crevices left behind.

when it comes to '' balancing things ''...Glenmuir and the wulmaz trust eat the cake

Dr Lascelve 'Muggy' Graham I am now convinced has had some mind alternating experience. When he persists in always suggesting that somehow schools should cater to less than highest standards it points to something being wrong with his thinking.

He is as cunning as a fox in hiding his promotion of giving less than 'a fair day's work, for a fair day's pay'. He disguises his true motives by suggesting that somehow schools that seek to attain excellence in sports equates to their being inability to seek excellence in other areas of discipline. It appears he is succeeding as there have been voices past and present which echo his thinking.

His all consuming fixation on removing sports as area wherein excellence should be sought and his attention to other disciplines limited to the suggestion that attention on sports ensure there neglect is incomprehensible.

Those who are in charge at our schools have a mandate to, in each and every area of discipline, provide 'excellence'.

It has been mooted that it is precisely that slacking in areas that have resulted in so many of our schools poor performances in many other areas.

A culture of 'not always striving for excellence' has become embedded. That culture of acceptance of less than stellar performances by our administrators and teachers have resulted in the vast majority of our schools underachieving.

Some claim all our schools have areas wherein the employees underperform. The students, parents...indeed entire country is being shortchanged. It is amazing the lengths persons like Dr Lascelve 'Muggy' Graham go to encourage less than full efforts to attain excellence in all areas...encouraging giving the citizens less than full value for money spent.

Dr Lascelve 'Muggy' Graham should be calling for excellence in each and every area. There should never be a suggestion of less than excellence. All administrators and teachers and indeed the students should be encouraged to redouble their efforts in the pursuit of excellence.

Graham should be condemned for his underhanded insidious attempts to promote mediocrity or worse.

Last month, the Newsl...the Observer had a feature on Albert Corcho, outgoing headmaster of Munro College and new principal of Calabar High School.

Check it out: http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/magazin...labar_13784911

It's no surprise that he would pose in front of a Penn Relays champions shield holding a trophy for some sport. Yes, I can't see the engraving on the trophy but something tells me it is not for Schools Challenge Quiz, Maths Competition or Rhodes Scholars.

I quote from the article:

Never mind that Calabar did not make the top 30 of schools in Mathematics or English in the recently published education rankings. And btw, Campion, has never won SCQ.

In the article, Corcho is quoted as saying: "I am very excited about where I want to take Calabar. I think that I have some excellent young men who are poised to do very, very well. We have some young men who are very focused; we have some young men who are just willing and ready for the opportunity to make their contribution at Calabar and by extension at the national level," he said.

Well, 9 of his students just a few days ago, contributed a knife to the face of a JUTC driver because they were unable to obey reasonable instructions from him. They also focused their attention on the JUTC's funds and the driver's mobile phone. Okay, so maybe these 9 students are outliers. I'll give them that.

I pick on Corcho because I believe we are not serious about education in this country. Hell, wasn't it the Calabar captain who was deemed ineligible for Boys & Girls Champs this year because of unacceptable grades? Corcho is highly positioned in ISSA. How could this happen under his watch?

So, as I was saying, we pay lip-service to education in this country. It's sports and entertainment first and everything else will find its place in the crevices left behind.
            For years we worked at accepting mediocrity...and as fact worked at 'underachievement' in every area. There is a saying, "it is easy (or was it, "easier") to tear down, but hard(er) to build"...poor Corcho must be finding it so.

Teachers who express the desire to build towards excellence...Corcho of Calabar, Reid of JC and others of similar ilk must be given our fullest of support. Eventually if more and more teachers hear our voices that 'excellence' will be achieved.

Dis above is the crux of the matter...

I don't know anything about that Corcho fellow...mebbe Calabar needs a principal from Munro

Quote:
                Originally Posted by Mosiah

---

Dis above is the crux of the matter...

I don't know anything about that Corcho fellow...mebbe Calabar needs a principal from Munro - Don1
                When we transfer that dedication to excellence that your experiment at JC is all about to all other disciplines at the schools...we shall be on our way!!!

Karl I don't see where the guy is not calling for excellence...you are missing the point. It is our approach that's fundamentally flawed.

1. Jamaica places TOO MUCH of a focus on sport...that's obvious

2. That excessive influence reduces attention and resources on more important concerns... time and resources being finite

3. That formula is stupid in a globally competitive world

Ah suh di ting set.. mi love sports...but mi love progress more

Quote:
                    Originally Posted by Mosiah

---

When we transfer that dedication to excellence that your experiment at JC is all about to all other disciplines at the schools...we shall be on our way!!!
                    thanks Karl...dem ah try wid innovation up deh fi real

Is is really that bad? What percentage of the population do these 'purchased' athletes represent?

Jah Rastafari! Well di abeng soun out west at Knibb (incidentally Trelawny once a maroon spot) Ah waan hear Maldon ansa, ah waan hear as far as Moretown answering in the East. Inner city in Kgn step up and sound di abeng. StBess your time. fi too long your fore parents was suffering now is the time. opportunity "knocks but once". "pundung nine and use yuh mind"

Same so:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyLc66lvUaw

blah blah blah blah blah...it's the parents who don't take part in their offspring's education who are to blame...articles like this are just distractions...

Jaah Rastafari. Yes Gosset and crew soun di abeng mek weak heart tremble

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MxlzX52-Ajw

Yuteman dem cyann stap di time. dem cyaan tell yuh say yuh nuh haff nuh subject (dat nuh count nuh more) Nuh mek dem tell yuh say ah dunce yuh dunce why yuh ah go certain school yuh brighter dan dem. It's you who are making them smart. All you need now is to get to the net.

Maldon ah waan hear yuh ansa.

what are you blabbering about now kunte kente?