Jamaica is a waste of time...

• Jamaica is a waste of time...

Mi inna abu dhabi and a witness dem strength ah cash and all now we nuh look fi partner up wid dem???

Di man dem mek we look like 10th world and mi not even get fi see Dubai which mek abu dhabi look positively 2nd world!

We here majoring in the minor, pontificating about much of a muchness (nothing really) when di man dem so far gone leff wi inna Ferrari.

What a sick joke!

Depressing fe true. But me hear say there are reasons you cannot compare us with Dubai, Singapore, Panama or indeed any place that has made a successful transition in the last few decades.

I guess Jamaicans are destined to be poor. The original Children of Sisyphus.

Can we be compared with the Domincan Republic, Costa Rica etc?

We here majoring in the minor, pontificating about much of a muchness (nothing really) when di man dem so far gone leff wi inna Ferrari.
        JEEP run di cut!!! Yuh neva get di memo?

It's that black in our flag! The curse given to us by our founding fathers.

CHEC has shelved plans to develop a new trans-shipment port

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead2.html
            China Harbour eyes mega investment
            Published: Wednesday | May 1, 2013 11 Comments

China Harbour Engineering Company has shelved plans to develop a new trans-shipment port at Fort Augusta and is now eyeing the establishment of a massive industrial park in Jamaica.

Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller said yesterday that the company had radically expanded the scope of its projected investment interest in the island.

Preliminary estimates of what is being described as a mega-investment are between US$1.2 billion and US$1.5 billion. It will consist of trans-shipment facilities, a logistic centre, industrial plants, a cement plant and perhaps a power plant.

Simpson Miller said the project would be implemented over a five-year period and during the construction phase, some 2,000 persons would be employed.

After its completion, the industrial park is expected to employ approximately 10,000 workers.

I've visited CR, and the country is peaceful surrounded by turmoil in neighboring countries. They never went thru a civil war like El Salvador in the 1980s, criminal gangs are running things in Guatemala (MS-13), and in Honduras crime is out of control. DR is a fun place to visit (5 times, lost count!), and even though I've visited dirt poor areas there, never got a chill, unlike some of the run down areas in Jamaica where you never want to be seen at night. Vacations are affordable in the DR, and you can get a one week vacation for $800 for an all-inclusive hotel & airfare.

Mi talk it all the time, we need a Ghanian type revolution.

I will believe this after (and only after) the project is more than half way in development.

Can we be compared with the Domincan Republic, Costa Rica etc?
                  I don't think so, what do you think?

I have been to both countries, and although some MAY regard them as 3rd World--they make Jamaica look silly.

from 2005, the chinese offered
                    us USD10 billion for the port and now wi fi get excited about 1.5billion?
                    Last edited by Willi; May 1, 2013, 03:30 PM.

them say mi head tuff so mi want fi hear them opinion as we tend to think Jamaica can't be compare to anywhere else, there is always some excuse we have for it.

Mi feel seh is furdah up di coast dem want.. more greenfield.. more control.. no competition..

where exactly?

I would go for Esquivel...