• Sass please issue a.... Gwaan Wykeham!!!! Thanks in advance

Tourism boom - 1.6 million air seats sold for summer
    Fresh and more attractive product in future — McNeill
    BY INGRID BROWN Associate editor — special assignment browni@jamaicaobserver.com
    Tuesday, April 30, 2013

MONTEGO BAY, St James — Jamaica has secured 1.6 million air seats into the island this summer, with the bulk coming from the United States — the island's major market — even as the country continues to woo visitors from the non-traditional areas of Eastern Europe and Latin America.

This is welcome news for the many tourism interests now gathered in Montego Bay for the 21st staging of the island's premiere trade show, Jamaica Product Exchange (JAPEX), at the Montego Bay Convention Centre.

Director of Tourism John Lynch, who made the announcement at a JAPEX media breakfast at the Half Moon Hotel Resort yesterday, said this is in addition to charter flights in November and December from markets such as Canada, the United Kingdom/Europe and Latin America.

According to Lynch, the total number of air seats available this summer out of the US north-east has increased by 7.3 per cent over last year.
    Meanwhile, Jamaica has been experiencing new investment and some transition of ownership in the hotel sector.

Tourism Minister Dr Wykeham McNeill also told the delegation of international and local media representatives that Jamaica has welcomed some recognised brands to the ownership of some well-established hotels.
    These are Blue Diamond Resorts, which has taken over the Trelawny Beach Hotel; Melia Hotels that now controls Braco Village; and Karisma Resorts, which acquired the Poinciana in Negril. Sagicor has now taken over its third property to be operated under the Jewels flag, while construction of a Marriott Courtyard is set to begin in Kingston this year.
    "Going forward, therefore, Jamaica will be offering a fresh and even more attractive product," the minister said.
    He added that there will also be greater muscle behind the country's marketing efforts as new partners add their energies to the team's efforts.
    Meanwhile, the minister said the Eastern European markets are also showing real potential, with Russia, in particular, starting to produce good numbers.
    "Currently, we have one flight out of Moscow every 10 days; however, we are in the middle of negotiations to increase this to two flights on a 10-day rotation for the 2013/2014 winter period," McNeill said.
    The premier tourism trade show continues to attract a strong contingent of buyers and suppliers doing brisk business on the trade floor.
    President of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association Evelyn Smith, in her address to the opening ceremony on Sunday, said the success of JAPEX 2013 is critical to the wider Jamaican economy.
    She noted that there are indications that the trade show will deliver excellent results this year.
    According to Smith, although this year's show was scheduled only seven months after JAPEX 2012, confirmed appointments prior to Sunday's opening showed a 9.6 per cent increase, moving from 1,879 in 2012 to 2,060 this year.
    Even more important, she said, was that 93 per cent of the appointments requested have already been confirmed, as opposed to only 64 per cent at the same time last year.

"This means one thing: suppliers and buyers are here with only one end game in mind... increasing business to Jamaica," she said.
    Among the buyers, representing 47 companies, are delegates from Russia, the Czech Republic, Poland, Slovakia, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Spain, the United Kingdom, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, the Dominican Republic, Mexico, and Peru.

More than 125 local supplier delegates, including representatives of hotels and attractions, airlines and suppliers of goods and services to the hospitality and tourism industry, are attending JAPEX.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2RwyXRTci

that is very good news, but what about the winter numbers??? Why none has been pubshished?

So is this a Gwaan Wykeham!! impersonation?? Doesn't sound kosher

We need the whole picture right???? Not half. Give us the winter number and we will see the overall picture. Good job on that but how is it you don't demand the same thing you demanded from Bartlett????? You willing to give Mcneil the bly so easy???

LOL....as mi did seh McNeil nu matta tuh mi...neida Bartlett

However as mi show wid yuh post dem wheday....Bartlett did ongly haffi open im mout an yuh gi im a big forward intamede...based juss pon mout talk

Yuh kriss still...fret not

use the same standard and judge them. Hopefully Mcneil can do better. We need every tourist that come whether them a give trinket or go a blue mountain.

All now yuh nuh realize mi naw judge dem...mi nuh bizniz wid dem

Ah yuh an yuh Bartlett fixation deh pon trial... Gwaan Sass!!!!!

how it fi deh pon trial when you nah judge??? What fixation you a talk bout???

I give him his due for what I think was a good job, that is just it. If you don't like it so be it.

All when di man juss ah yap bout nutten...yuh gi im im "due" LOL

Mi dun post yuh idolatrous mutterings lang time

Gwaan Sass!!

you not judging but in the same breath you a judge.

tek it easy pon yourself.

When last you see me post much on Barlett??? He is now the opposition on Tourism matters in case you don't realise that a you a the one always a bring him up from him opposition.

mi convince seh sitten wrang wid yuh comprehension

mi seh mi naw judge Bartlett nor McNeil...ah yuh ah yuh previous Bartlett idolatry ah get examine

yuh fi slow dung more time an mek yuh brain ketch up wid wat ah gwaan

You know, recently I have been reading some good developments about Jamaica,all under the leadership of Portia,pity that does not figure at all regarding the criticisms of her.
                        Me deh yah doh.

When you have facts you come with it, other than that you can convince me of nothing. Get the facts and come again.

But mi naw try convince yuh...yuh head too tuff fi dat

Mi juss ah state di case...das all

You know, recently I have been reading some good developments about Jamaica,all under the leadership of Portia,pity that does not figure at all regarding the criticisms of her.
                              Me deh yah doh.
                              Gwaan Portia!!