Your Good School....

• Your Good School....

Criminal minds - Authorities decry bad boys in school after Calabar students attack bus driver

Published: Tuesday | April 30, 2013

Nedburn Thaffe, Gleaner Writer

Sections of the society were left outraged yesterday over news that students from a popular Corporate Area high school attacked and seriously wounded a Jamaica Urban Transit Company (JUTC) bus driver.

The driver, 46-year-old Errol Lemard, was taken to hospital and treated for stab wounds and bruises inflicted all over his body after he was allegedly pounced upon by a mob of students dressed in Calabar High School uniforms.

Up to press time yesterday, it was unclear if any of the students were charged but an earlier police report stated that nine students were taken into police custody and arrangements were being made for them to be questioned.

(Continue reading: http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead1.html )

Source: The Daily Gleaner, Tuesday, April 30, 2013

I heard the story on the news yesterday, these thugs are a disgrace. I heard their principal refer to them as young men .... please.

muy good principal use to say "don't tell me that Titchfield have gone to the dogs, It is your dogs have come to Titchfield".

I know Mr Thaxter has tried hard at Calabar and has made improvement since been there.

That sound like what my principal used to say when the parents would tell him that their child was following bad company.

He would tell them "No, HE/SHE is the bad company!!

yep, that kinda teaching help me to look inwards. Many parents said he was fiesty but he was right. It is so easy to blame the schools.

Definitely a bad reflection on the school and those students should be found, expelled and criminally charged.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The common denominator is they were all students and from the same school.
              Everyone is aware of the problem of moral decadence,our youths are now the chief wrongdoers in jamaica.It is so bad we want to have them in an institution of instructions and discipline, hey that is the definition of school.
              Is the youth dem a duh things we kno dat,add something to school curriculum
              in acknowledgement of a growing problem.
              The C bar matter is terrible but not surprising. Not too long, ago we saw the same annoying wolf pack mentality on a college campus(Utech),the students there are from a wide range of high schools.
              Last edited by Rockman; April 30, 2013, 08:44 PM.

No rockman, that curiculum you talking bout starts at home. There is only so much the schools can do when them get certain kids at 12 years old. Parents need to play a greater role in their kids life. We can't just leave it to government and the schools. We have too many bad parents.

Home and the community. If your community does not allow the youths to thrive then it is going to be very hard.

I have been listening to a PBS program on a Chicago school that had more than 20 students shot last school year. The police dem say in the old days if you were good in school or could play sports the gangs would leave you alone, these days if you live on the street then by definition you are in the street gang, and you will be targeted by the rival gang, end of story.

Being poor is one thing, not knowing if you can get home safe from school every day year in year out is on a whole different level.

Thank you Iman. What can you get from parents who don't care, are not interested in their kids school activities, and communities who encourage the kids that school is not the place for them.

The teachers and principals can try and will make some difference but their work is cut out for them.

Sass, I want viable solutions , the blame it on the parents angle has been around for eons....
                      There are schools that emphasize discipline, it is possible that such a terrible event involving students from there can occur but the amount of students involved would be far less.
                      Given we have a an unprecedented problem regarding juvenile (offenders), why there is no indication schools are trying to address this issue that is so crucial to their students?
                      20 years from now,we will be still busy pointing fingers at parents for the problem that only got worse, still no real chance of turning things around.
                      Leave no stones unturned, these are the future leaders.

Children spend more time in school than at home. The schools have a crucial role to play!

Sass, I did not say that parents shouldn't do their part. Let's get that clear, because indeed, they should. But the school has a major role to play as well.

Thank you Iman. What can you get from parents who don't care, are not interested in their kids school activities, and communities who encourage the kids that school is not the place for them.

The teachers and principals can try and will make some difference but their work is cut out for them.
                          Parents who were themselves allowed to 'chuck badness'!!!
                          ...that crap about not punishing kids with corporal punishment when necessary is crap...and let's face it just a part of making it easier for kids, parents and society to view the possibility of immediate consequences for committing disgraceful acts unlikely and put such acts in the acceptable column.

We all know if the kids conduct selves 'properly' ...do not commit a 'crime' then they shall not face...there would be nothing for which to be punished.

A ton of teachers have left the class-rooms for their safety sake.

All those against corporal punishment will have to admit that on its removal there has been an acceleration towards anarchy. Would love to hear the sensible solutions proposed by the 'no-corporal punishment' group on stopping the raring of 'chuck badness' parents...and therefore more and more 'chuck badness' kids?

...the big sick joke is any move to re-introduce corporal punishment in schools would, on such a move, put the teachers who dared to administer same in even greater risk of losing their lives.

Aside: In my days at school if a classmate/schoolmate even dared to suggest act or acts outside of the pale others would 'draw up' that colleague. Now there is real danger of such an act of disagreeing or advising on not carrying out the despicable proposed act being rewarded with physical harm.

We now have a situation where that 'self-regulating' that the majority used to add to the society's internal self-control having gone down the drain.

...aaah the results of unintended consequences??? ...the rising of limited forward thinking to the top!!!

Those with the vision who pointed out the possible consequence of a dysfunctional society - not just on uncouth behavior but how such would affect other areas of society - were and are still being drowned out by those without the skills set(s) that are needed for 'looking' at all possible consequences.

Hey...in our football many still cannot see the need for TEAM or foresee how all of speed, excellent technical ability and *being in the right place at the right time is the ultimate for winning football games. There are screams of - 'We do not want a track team!...'Why should a 'maestro' (misnomer here?) be fast or contribute on defense? Why aim for full TEAM of superb athletes...in the past that was not necessary?

...unintended consequences? ... forward thinking?
                          What's that? Guh-weh!!!

Damn!!!

*4-4-2, 4-3-2-1 ...or whatever does not mean 'S@#$%## if the players are not where needed when needed!!! ...it is only being where needed when needed that counts!!!
                          Last edited by Karl; May 2, 2013, 08:37 AM.

Mosiah when parents do their part they make it so much easier for the school.
                            First thing parents need to do is read with their kids and see where they need help. Parents who do don't to their young kids is asking for trouble. Parents need to take an active role in school community such as parent teachers meetings, selecting board members and even principals. This is how the schools going to be better.

My friend told me he spend Sundays at school to keep his kids out of their community, now what kind of "fery" is that? He should be spending it with his family and in his community. Kids that goes to dance at night can't learn no matter what is the curiculum and the good teacher as they want to sleep. It was yesterday I saw a youth who they use to say is bad pickney post that he hasn't visited Jamaica in 10 years and he regret missing my grandmother funeral who he called his guardian angel. The thing is my grandmother was there for the community and tell them straight up "she not growing any criminals". School has its role to play but the role the community play is bigger in my opinion. Without going to school with a certain respect and will to learn we are doomed.

Definitely a bad reflection on the school and those students should be found, expelled and criminally charged.
                              ...and how does it reflect on the parents and society?