• this bredda is a real clown

St James Mayor for renaming of hospital, says he was misunderstood

2013-04-24 11:18:18 | (0 Comments)

St James Mayor, Glendon Harris. – File
    Minister of Local Government, Noel Arscott today, sought to clear-up reports that the Mayor of St James, Glendon Harris, was trying to block the renaming of the Cornwall Regional Hospital.

In a release from the Ministry of Local Government, Arscott said that Harris, is not opposed to the renaming of the Cornwall Regional Hospital.

“I have spoken to Mayor Harris and he has assured me that his intent was misunderstood” the release said.

Arscott also said that “Contrary to reports in the media, Mayor Harris was not trying to block the renaming exercise”.

The media release says that in June of 2010 a resolution to rename the Cornwall Regional Hospital, to Dr Herbert Eldermire Regional Hospital, was sent by the St James Parish Council to the Minister responsible for Local Government, who then referred it to the Ministry of Health.

The then Minister of Health, Rudyard Spencer approved the renaming.

READ: Cornwall honour for Eldemire

If furthure states that, since the resolution has been gazetted, the St James Parish council has sought to obtain a date for the ceremony from the body with responsibility for this activity, the Western Regional Health Authority; but numerous attempts have proven futile.

According to the release, Arscott is saying that discussions with Mayor Harris revealed that even though the renaming of the hospital was approved, the council was made aware that a number of persons were opposed to the move.

Arscott says Harris was suggesting that a meeting be held with these persons in order to explain that the renaming is inevitable, the release said.

READ: PM to intervene in CRH renaming issue

There is still no date set for the ceremony; however, Minister Arscott said he has the assurance of Harris that the St James Parish Council stands ready, to give its full support in the staging of the event.

public pressure so him change him position. Up to yesterday he was interviewed about the issue and he did not say anything like that.

Mayor of St James? Or Mayor of Montego Bay?

He is a St. James Mayor....

located in san Jamez

The mayor could be coming from a tribal stance but I don't think CRH should be renamed. The name at present is quite fitting. It only goes to show how deep Jakan politics run. After some thirty odd years; once Eddie was out of the way they came to rename it because they thought it should have been that way since 72. Renaming at this point is divisive and only sets the tone for another renaming on and on (akin to reprisal killings in the inner city of Ja) I can now see why Eddie became a despot in the party. He towers over all intellectually hence his ego.

If they had said name it the Michael Manley Medical centre,(an mi lub Joshua) I would be very opposed to it. There are other creative ways to get around it but Ja is not interested in history nor making money.

And what is your defense of the flag? Even your idol Portia supported the renaming so if the council agree, the MOH agreed and many things in Jamaica bear the name of politicians from both side, what is the big deal.

Fact is the mayor isn't following protocal on this and the flag issue and others it seems.

Where were you when I said it was wrong? What I disagreed on;was the call for PSM to leave her INT'L schedule to address it. My argument was that she would have been dragged into defending other small matters ; such as changing the colour of the blinds in the Parish council of St.Mary then more and more small issues.

Sass not because Nanny P and the MOH agree it means I must agree. We are all humans and we can view things in different ways at times.

Nanny P had a lot of time for these small matters. In fact small matters is what she can handle! She certainly doesn't show any kind of ability to come up with long term, visionary plans.

PM congratulates Gayle on 'magnificent performance'

PM urges NCS to influence sport development

PM hails Jamaica's dominance at Carifta Games

Simpson Miller endorses Cameron for WICB presidency
                  Last edited by Islandman; April 26, 2013, 01:00 PM.

Who is the minister of sports, pray tell? It may seem small to you but these are issues within her portfolio. What would say if Lisa Hannah made comment on delinquent youth across Ja?

Oh I see. She is the Minister of Sport. LOL.

I guess that is also why she decided to leave Azan the crook to be dealt with by the OCG. Not her porffolio after all.

Crook? As a senior JLP; yuh sure yuh waan go down dat road? Mi ah go give yuh time fi ponder. In the mean time thinka about FBI, Justice Dept. DEA and other federal agencies. woieee ah weak. This is why Ja will never progress.

This is why Ja will never progress
                          Because people like Azan are above the law and senior politicians like Portia protect them. I agree.