'Go back to Renault for fire trucks'

Have you ever conducted a tender? Apparently, the answer is a RESOUNDING NO!

If the tender documents requested tenders in English, then English it is. End of story! You DO NOT go back to the bidders and ask them for diddly squat! If you go back to one, then you open up yourself for lawsuits by the other tenderers and even by those who may have wanted to tender.

Again, find something useful to cuss the PNP about. There is plenty lying around but clearly the JLP and its cohorts would rather continue years of ineffective opposition leadership.
    Actually I am quite familiar with the blundering and miscommunication capabilities of the Govt having experienced one such on the Sugar Divestment.

If you believe that after prior negotiations that RENAULT suddenly decided to submit a tender to JAMAICA in FRENCH even after a 'supposed' disqualifying disclaimer regarding the langauge used on a approx US$10 Million dollar contract.. well I have a Flat Bridge to sell you. RENUALT never juss form yesterday.. please provide evidence of this rather amatuerish blunder, I am sure the stockholders of Renault would be interested.

Further if the Govt is going to penalize one of TWO tenders for something as critical as Fire Truck procurement soley on the basis of the language submitted.. well it only further indicates the type MORONS running the country and THIS should be a serious issue brought up for debate.

Yuh batting Mosiah, but yuh playing batup and ketch. What was the recommendation of the technical committee again? Yuh may have considered tenders, but have you done it with the intention of spending taxpayers' money? The reality is the damn fire truck dem nuh good. The technical committee indicated which was the better buy. But we have half wits as leaders ... suh what else would they do but fock it up.

How many times must I say it?!? It is VERY UNREASONABLE! Lazie, tenders are very strict affairs. The bidders must follow the requirements to a "t"! If they don't, their tenders must be disqualified. I cannot emphasize to you enough how important it is for this to happen. The entity holding the tender, in this case, the govt. of Jamaica, will open itself up to lawsuits if it does otherwise.

If they go back to Renault for English documents, then Rosenbauer may think that Renault is being given preferential treatment. Renault may not only resubmit English documents the next time around but add or subtract from their earlier tender. Why shouldn't Rosenbauer have that oppty as well? And what about the other tenderers who may have missed the deadline by 5 seconds, another reason for disqualifying tenders? Why shouldn't they now have a chance to resubmit?
        There were two tenders.. yuh tekking yuhself too seriously now Mr. Master Tender.

Lazie, not saying that everything else was done properly. I'm referring strictly to the French tender, or the tender submitted in French.

Simply that, Lazie!

Maudib, understand this - I can only go by what your own minister-in-waiting has said, and that is Renault submitted part of their tender in French. He has suggested that the govt. should have translated that part of the tender.

All I am saying is nutten cyaan guh suh! If the tender was disqualified for being submitted in French, then hooray for the govt. They got this right!

Now, if you have some inside info as to how the tender was actually submitted, or how the tender documents were frigged up by the govt., then that's another matter that you and others may want to discuss on the site.

My argument is done!

Watch it!! Mek mi ketch it!!! Cry cree Mosiah. Just admit we have idiots unuh calling leaders. No body inna the Ministry of Foreign Affairs nuh know French? Rahtid, nuh high school teacha nuh know French?

Whats the use yuh put together a technical committee to duh a review then completely ignore their recommendation? No ... Wait ... regular thing. Rudi accuse mi of defending the indefensible, I think he should be saying that to you. Hope yuh nuh need a fire truck any time soon.

Be afraid, very afraid of a Renault

I drive a model called a Scenic and believe me... it is a money pit! Anybody looking to buy a 5-yr old car I have one for sale, cheap.

For some reason the components don't hold up in tropical climates, either that or the right hand models are all lemons, cause almost every renault driver in T&T have a problem with the models from a few years back and the sedan equivalent called a Megane.

pr

Are you sure it's not because of the French text inside the car?

Maudib, understand this - I can only go by what your own minister-in-waiting has said, and that is Renault submitted part of their tender in French. He has suggested that the govt. should have translated that part of the tender.

All I am saying is nutten cyaan guh suh! If the tender was disqualified for being submitted in French, then hooray for the govt. They got this right!

Now, if you have some inside info as to how the tender was actually submitted, or how the tender documents were frigged up by the govt., then that's another matter that you and others may want to discuss on the site.

My argument is done!
                    You seem to ignore that the Govt priority should be to get the best affordable Firetruck for the job.. wi not talking about bathroom fixtures.

Based on the evidence at hand the GOVT GOT IT WRONG ! par for the course...

Parlez vous Francais ?

no wonder this Govt is able to tek this country fi a ride going on 18 years...
                      Den is fihu fault that Ben J? Sounds like an electorate which has no clue to me.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Den is fihu fault that Ben J? Sounds like an electorate which has no clue to me.
                        How long I've been saying that? Yuh nuh notice what the masses pay attention to? Blackman time, woman time and scare benefit and spoils. Yuh think is mistake mek we the 2nd poorest in the Caribbean?