• 'Go back to Renault for fire trucks'

published: Wednesday | April 18, 2007

Slamming the Government for "dereliction of duty" in its purchase of defective fire , the parliamentary Opposition wants the current supply arrangements with Rosenbauer NA to be abandoned in favour of a new contract with French company, Renault.
    Making his contribution to the Budget Debate yesterday, Audley Shaw, Opposition Spokesman on Finance, claimed that the administration ignored respected technical advice on the choice of fire trucks and opted for the new supplier instead of Renault, the traditional supplier.
    "There should be no further acquisition of fire trucks from this source (Rosenbauer) and Renault should immediately be re-engaged, even on a sole-source basis, if necessary, with approval of the NCC (National Contracts Commission)," Shaw concluded.
    An axe to grind
    Claiming that "someone had an axe to grind", Shaw accused the Government of reversing an earlier Cabinet decision to source fire units and garbage trucks from Renault and, ultimately, deciding in favour of a bid from Rosenbauer NA.
    Some of the fire units, delivered last year, have now developed serious defects, causing a technical committee to recommend that they be withdrawn from service, pending significant modifications.
    Quoting "internal documents" from the Jamaica Fire Brigade, from 1998, Mr. Shaw claimed that the relevant technical officer highlighted multiple defects with the Rosenbauer trucks and only one defect with the Renault trucks. Among the problems identified with the Rosenbauer trucks, he said, were those related to gear boxes, fuel systems, braking systems and bursting water tanks.
    Recommendation
    He said the technical officer stated: "Based on the performances of these two types of fire units over the years and the availability of spares for the Renault, I must recommend that the brigade purchase Renault fire units, with a modification to the braking system."
    Despite such advice, he claimed, the decision was made to abandon Renault, partly on the grounds that some of the information provided by thecompany was in French. Information Minister Donald Buchanan, commenting after Mr. Shaw's presentation, was dismissive of his claims. Asserting that the administration had merely followed established procurement guidelines.

So we don't have any linguists who could interpret the french part?

Unreasonable, unrealistic and unnecessary! Usually, these tenders state the language you must bid in. Why should the govt. spend extra money to decipher this language, especially when there is no guarantee that the bid made sense to begin with!?!?!

Shaw can stay deh. Mout' mek fi talk!

Unreasonable, unrealistic and unnecessary! Usually, these tenders state the language you must bid in. Why should the govt. spend extra money to decipher this language, especially when there is no guarantee that the bid made sense to begin with!?!?!

Shaw can stay deh. Mout' mek fi talk!
        A wha yuh drink today boss? The damn fire truck dem not in use fi a year and dem falling apart already. Why is it you cannot be objective when it comes to smady from the JLP?

Lazie, do you want to curtail my freedoms on this board? Have I said anything about fire trucks? I CHOSE to comment on MdmeX's comment about translating the bid from Renault. I say again it is unreasonable, unrealistic and a waste of MONEY to translate the tender from French to English. It's not going to happen!!! When I conduct tenders on my job, tenders sent to us in languages other than English are flung to the most distant of nether regions, as I hope they had flung the Renault tender!

Your "can-do-no-wrong" JLP would have done the same thing!

Sorry Lazie. I will continue to "appear fair". If that appearance does not always make the JLP look good, sue me!

Appear fair? Mosiah, yuh trying to appear to be fair. You may have disagreed with Mdmex, but as a thinking person, I don't see how her recommendation is being unreasonable . Yuh work fi the Jamaican taxpayers? If not you can duh what yuh want. Suh because of arrogance we end up spending money on faulty units? Amazing.

How yuh must be seen as fair when yuh say, "Shaw can stay deh. Mout' mek fi talk!" after knowing about the state of the BRAND NEW fire trucks. I fully recall them objecting to buying these units, but I guess because dem a labourite yuh nuh listen when dem talk. If you had taken the time to READ the article better yet listen to the man in Parliament you would know he was reading from a report that was presented by a technical committee.

He said the technical officer stated: "Based on the performances of these two types of fire units over the years and the availability of spares for the Renault, I must recommend that the brigade purchase Renault fire units, with a modification to the braking system."

Who said the JLP can do no wrong? There are issues I have with them, but thats to be discussed with "THINKING PPL" Unuh just quick fi attack di man dem cause dem shirt green.

I understand all that, Lazie, but let's get back to the translation bit. Are you saying that the govt. should have hired a translator to decipher Renault's French?

Is it unreasonable to ask that it be resubmitted in english?

I understand all that, Lazie, but let's get back to the translation bit. Are you saying that the govt. should have hired a translator to decipher Renault's French?
                  Where did you learn this tactic ?

You believe that a French Firm submitting a bid to a English Speaking country will have a problem submitting their bid in English if it is a stated requirement ??

PNP tun unnuh all inna eediat to ************************.

I haffi agree wid yuh Maudib. Not because the French company has t submit a bid in english they could not do so for the sake of business. It only makes good business sense. Moreover, english is a common business language if you ever had to deal with companies in Europe. I know I call and talk to people in Italy, Germany, The Netherlands etc, etc, and they communicate with me in english, both written and spoken. Renault is a big company that should not have been an issue for them.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Are you saying it was not a stated requirement?

I am saying I do not see Renault having a problem submitting a bid in English to an English Speaking country if it is a stated requirement.

If there WAS by some alignment of the stars such a major miscommunication, I really don't see the Govt having a problem simply indicating the error and allowing Renault to comply.

But hey, I am not a Cultist so critical thinking is my undoing everytime.

"He said that the cabinet had taken a decision to sole-source the units from Renault, and this was actually communicated to their local agent by the minister of finance.

But he said that despite the attractive offer, and after many months of delay, the Government reversed the decision and decided to invite tenders.

He said that only two companies tendered - Renault and Rosenbauer - but Renault was disqualified leaving Rosenbauer as the sole bidder."

Yuh gwaan ponder about what language the tender was made... no wonder this Govt is able to tek this country fi a ride going on 18 years...

Have you ever conducted a tender? Apparently, the answer is a RESOUNDING NO!

If the tender documents requested tenders in English, then English it is. End of story! You DO NOT go back to the bidders and ask them for diddly squat! If you go back to one, then you open up yourself for lawsuits by the other tenderers and even by those who may have wanted to tender.

Again, find something useful to cuss the PNP about. There is plenty lying around but clearly the JLP and its cohorts would rather continue years of ineffective opposition leadership.

How many times must I say it?!? It is VERY UNREASONABLE! Lazie, tenders are very strict affairs. The bidders must follow the requirements to a "t"! If they don't, their tenders must be disqualified. I cannot emphasize to you enough how important it is for this to happen. The entity holding the tender, in this case, the govt. of Jamaica, will open itself up to lawsuits if it does otherwise.

If they go back to Renault for English documents, then Rosenbauer may think that Renault is being given preferential treatment. Renault may not only resubmit English documents the next time around but add or subtract from their earlier tender. Why shouldn't Rosenbauer have that oppty as well? And what about the other tenderers who may have missed the deadline by 5 seconds, another reason for disqualifying tenders? Why shouldn't they now have a chance to resubmit?