• JLP promises 10% growth

BY balford henry Observer writer balfordh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, April 18, 2007

Opposition spokesman on finance and the public service, Audley Shaw, yesterday laid out the Jamaica Labour Party's (JLP's) economic and social agenda which, he said, would deliver economic growth of six to 10 per cent over the medium to long term if the party is elected to run the country after the next elections.
    In a wide ranging speech lasting over two hours and clearly predicting an early general election, Shaw accused the Government and, especially, Finance Minister Dr Omar Davies, of failing to create an appropriate business environment and offered what he termed "a clear alternative".
    Shaw said that he had "clearly demonstrated" that Jamaica's problems can be traced back to "a gradual reduction in productivity and growth over the past 18 years, and offered the JLP's plan for:
    . increased borrowing from multilateral agencies, instead of commercial banks;
    . an audit of the public sector to advise on the elimination of loss-bearing entities and the divestment of profitable ones;
    . exploring the possibility of issuing diaspora bonds to attract investments from Jamaicans overseas;
    . reforming the tax system to include the merging of National Housing Trust, National Insurance Scheme and the HEART Trust into a single social security tax, which would also incorporate the National Health Fund in an effort to protect Jamaicans who are unable to meet health costs;
    . reduction of stamp duties and transfer taxes on land transactions, as well as the elimination of estate duties (death tax) to encourage dynamism in residential and commercial property transactions;
    . merging JAMPRO with the Development Bank of Jamaica to create an economic development agency that can cut red tape and facilitate speedy start-ups and expansions in the business sector;
    . a comprehensive customs modernisation programme;
    . an agricultural revolution; and
    . the pursuit of a strategy to make Jamaica the financial services centre of the Caribbean, headquartered in downtown Kingston.
    Shaw said that in terms of debt management, the JLP has developed a holistic strategy to reduce the impact of the debt burden, which includes fiscal measures as well as legal and alternative policies.
    Among the measures were: imposing constitutional limits on borrowing; securing lending from multilateral agencies on Jamaica's terms; using the proceeds of the PetroCaribe agreement to pay down debt; securing a partnership with the private sector on debt and interest rate reduction; and securing foreign currency fiscal revenue.
    He said that a "credible energy policy" would be revealed by the Opposition's spokesman on mining, energy and telecommunications, Clive Mullings, when he speaks in the debate this afternoon.
    On tax reform, he said that the JLP was in favour of reducing corporate income tax, in line with personal income taxes, and over time reduce them further to stimulate investment and savings.
    "In order to do this, we believe reform must focus on two areas: the simplification of the tax system and the expansion of the tax net," he said.
    Turning to investment promotion, Shaw said that the JLPs would: streamline tax and customs bureaucracy to stimulate investment and exports; tailor incentives specifically to meet business needs; facilitate the expansion of venture capital financing; focus on business process outsourcing; diversify the tourism sector; create an agricultural revolution; expand research capacity; and increase micro-enterprise credit.
    "In all of this, the objective of good governance will be restored where the government will serve in the best interest of the people," he said.

Thats why the JLP cyaan win an election. People nuh business wid economic growth? Dem more concern with getting scare benefits and spoils.

Personally, I disagree with the promising of X percentage growth. One should simply put the points forward and see if the people will agree with it.

Lazie, sorry for trying to appear fair but...do you really think this is possible in the short-term? I think the JLP is bieng quite disingenuous when they throw such figures around. China is hovering around that figure and T&T around 7%. How is Jamaica, currently in a major slump, going to turn itself around and achieve 10% growth? Unless the JLP has been sabotaging the economy all this while!

Come on, Lazie. Dem fi stop tek people fi fool!

Lazie, sorry for trying to appear fair but...do you really think this is possible in the short-term? I think the JLP is bieng quite disingenuous when they throw such figures around. China is hovering around that figure and T&T around 7%. How is Jamaica, currently in a major slump, going to turn itself around and achieve 10% growth? Unless the JLP has been sabotaging the economy all this while!

To be fair, the JLP not tekking people fi fool! The people have portrayed themselves in that manner time and again.

If you had read the article you would see he said nothing about short-term. Actually he said, "... would deliver economic growth of six to 10 per cent over the medium to long term." In 96 when PJ promised that we would be growing 6% per year, did you see him as being ...(what the word yuh use again ...) "disingenuous"?

If you had read my follow up post you would see that I disagree with the growth projections. Why? After Manley fock up the economy from 72 -80 it took them 6 years to turn it around. And by 1983 UNTHINKING people wanted to vote dem out. Now the PNP been having a field day for 18 years. Its going to take some work to stop the decline before turning it around. Secondly, dem nuh know what dem gonna get if dem tek over.

I know ... your favourite myth is the JLP been sabotaging the economy. Stop fool yuhself. Then again, you always fall fi the 3 cyaad trick. Look at what is being proposed and see if it makes sense. Unuh always quick fi talk bout no viable alternative, but as dem put a proposal forward, instead of evaluating it and making an OBJECTIVE decision, unuh claim dem disingenuous. Yet unuh claim the JLP tek unuh fi fool. Duh!

I'm strictly addressing the 10% promise at this time. Can I?

So, perhaps the news media and your post were misleading, and that Shaw actually said something more realistic in his presentation. Great! Then why the misleading headlines? For lazy people like me, that's all wi going to latch on to, and we either going to vote JLP because of it, or going to say dem damn lie and look elsewhere.

Can you appreciate that?

I'm strictly addressing the 10% promise at this time. Can I?

So, perhaps the news media and your post were misleading, and that Shaw actually said something more realistic in his presentation. Great! Then why the misleading headlines? For lazy people like me, that's all wi going to latch on to, and we either going to vote JLP because of it, or going to say dem damn lie and look elsewhere.

Can you appreciate that?
            If I wanted you to focus on the 10% I wouldn't have posted the entire article. I don't write the headlines bredren, ask the observer about the misleading headline.

For lazy people like me, that's all wi going to latch on to, and we either going to vote JLP because of it, or going to say dem damn lie and look elsewhere.

Now I see why we have incompetent people running our country for the last 18 years. Sigh! Then again, Omar said it, if you want to hide something from Jamaicans, put it in a book because they DON'T read.

Mosiah 10% growth for Ja is not impossible in the short term but the question is can the JLP deliver?

how can this happen? If we can negociate some of the interest rate on debt and debt forgiveness. Then use that money for education and infrastructure.

Instead of concentrating on inflation as Davis does put the emphasis on GDP growth. Making sure delinguent parents in Jamaica or overseas pay for their kids. Ways to do this is not to issue passport to deliquent parents and have them go to jail on weekends and see how fast some start take care and lessen the burden on govt.

of course you and I know the govt organizations that has been running deficits year after year and neer to be trim or get rrid of.

it is going to take balls and maybe a dictator who in the short run don't care about been popular

Well they 'logged on to progress'.

Given the changes in policy they have stated, anything short of 5% growth would be a failure given the vaste opportunities.

Jamaica has been retarded from vaste potential due to the policies of the current Admin.

You will feel like a fool when you see what could have been happening for the past 17 years.

Apparantly you have bought into the failure of the PNP as a reflection of what can be acheived with this island. You have to work very hard to stop growth over 5% given the potentials.

Look at Downtown Kingston... after 17 years.. do you realize what that would look like now if not for incredibly stupid choices ?

Saving grace is it is not too late.

Might not be impossible, but it is highly improbable! Very, very, even!

Skippy!

You know we don't read and we are lazy, so you are going to use such headlines. Smart!

How much more energy would have been expended if the headline read - JLP Promises 6-10% Growth? Was that so painful?

Skippy!

You know we don't read and we are lazy, so you are going to use such headlines. Smart!

How much more energy would have been expended if the headline read - JLP Promises 6-10% Growth? Was that so painful?
                      Don't shoot the messenger. That conclusion was made by Omar and your statement supported it.

Again, I don't work for the Observer. Nuh same way a headline was wriiten that Vaz wanted to turn West Portland into a Garrison. What was the outcome of that?

Skippy!

Getting confused now...Are you leading up to condemning the press for the state of Jamaica ?

What exactly is the critcism here ?

Mosiah 10% growth for Ja is not impossible in the short term but the question is can the JLP deliver?

how can this happen? If we can negociate some of the interest rate on debt and debt forgiveness. Then use that money for education and infrastructure.

Instead of concentrating on inflation as Davis does put the emphasis on GDP growth. Making sure delinguent parents in Jamaica or overseas pay for their kids. Ways to do this is not to issue passport to deliquent parents and have them go to jail on weekends and see how fast some start take care and lessen the burden on govt.

of course you and I know the govt organizations that has been running deficits year after year and neer to be trim or get rrid of.

it is going to take balls and maybe a dictator who in the short run don't care about been popular
                          Actually what you need is TWO responsible parents.. not 1. The PNP needs to do some serious introspection and determine why it is they cannot put together credible and responsible Goverments after they win elections.