Attention Termites: Time to get tough with the Roti Eaters

• Attention Termites: Time to get tough with the Roti Eaters

...With a US1.2 Billion trade deficit with TT (~6% of TT GDP) ....use the possibility of loss of that humongous benefit to TT (via withdrawal from the CET) to extract energy concessions from those forked tongue Trinis.

Force them to supply LNG at their domestic price (plus CIF of course) or face the loss of our market...that's how serious nations play the realpolitik game

Termites...Don't mek dem continue fi lamp unnu...grow some cojones

Trinidad reacts to charges of unfair export practices in Ja
    BY JULIAN RICHARDSON Assistant Business Co-ordinator richardsonj@jamaicaobserver.com ?
    Friday, April 19, 2013

TRINIDADIAN trade groups this week disputed allegations that exporters from the twinisland republic are engaging in unfair trading practices in Jamaica.
    Jamaican manufacturers have raised concerns that exporters from *Trinidad and Tobago are violating trade rules by misrepresenting products as being of Caricom origin, allowing them to benefit from lower customs duties and price advantages in the local market. Goods from Caricom member states which meet rules of origin are traded duty-free throughout the region.

A Common External Tariff is usually applied on products originating from outside Caricom.

In response to an article on the allegations published in the Caribbean Business Report last week, the *Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturers’ Association (TTMA) said the organisation is “committed to fostering the process of free and fair trade” among Caricom member states “as enshrined in the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas”.

“The association strongly condemns the practice of any company engaging in activities that are in breach of the Caricom Rules of Origin. Such actions cause problems for legitimate businesses, and portray *Trinidad and Tobago in a negative light both to our Caricom neighbours and internationally,” said the TTMA in a statement.

The TTMA particularly took issue with Jamaica Manufacturers' Association (JMA) President Brian Pengelley saying, “In other words, you could bring in imported peanuts, but all you do is put the peanuts in a little bag... That’s not what we call a full conversion process,” though it’s unclear whether Pengelley was making reference to a suspected violation or just providing an example of how exporters can attempt to circumvent rules of origin.

“We wish to categorically state that we have found no evidence to support Mr Pengelly’s statement,” said the TTMA.
    “Shelled peanuts are imported into *Trinidad and Tobago under tariff heading 1202.20.90 (Shelled Peanuts) then processed [roasted, blanched (removal of skins), fried, seasoned and packaged] and exported under tariff heading 2008.11.00 (Prepared Peanuts), thereby meeting the criteria of substantial transformation qualifying for Caricom originating status,” said the Trinidadian manufacturers’ lobby group.

The national export facilitation organisation in *Trinidad also disputed the allegations of unfair trading practices. ExporTT noted that one of its responsibilities is to provide certification of origin (COO) for Trinidadian products that are exported into the Caricom market. Against this backround, the organisation said that it wants to assure that all T&T products undergo a rigid certification programme to ensure that they meet the trade requirements to qualify as locally produced.

“Each exporting company and exported products are recertified at regular intervals. This involves our officers undertaking site visits to production facilities and observing the entire production process to ensure that enough transformation takes place for the goods to qualify under the COO regime,” stated ExporTT.

Both organisations, TTMA and ExporTT, said they were ready to assist with investigating the claims of trade rules violations by Trinidadian exporters.
    Jamaican Opposition spokesman for Industry, Commerce and Energy Gregory Mair raised the alarm to the Standing Finance Committee of Parliament last week, saying that there have been reports of goods being passed off as Trinidadian when in fact they were only repackaged in the twin-island republic.

Mair said the practice would make it even more difficult for Jamaican manufacturers, already being hurt by a flood of cheap imports and high cost of production, to compete. JMA head, Pengelley confirmed that there were indeed concerns over imports not being completely made in Caricom.
    It's the latest complaint in a longrunning trade dispute between the two Caribbean countries.

As Jamaica grapples with a widening trade deficit with Caricom, now nearly US$1.2 billion ($119 billion), there have been increasing calls by some locals to pull out from the 15-member regional organisation.

Jamaica has the largest market in Caricom. The country reportedly imports 30 per cent of total intraregional Caricom exports, but produces less than two per cent of those exports.

Trinidad and Tobago accounts for the bulk of the trade deficit between Jamaica and Caricom. This imbalance compounded with several highprofile trade disputes have strained commercial relations between the two countries in recent years.

The twin-island republic's Government has also been accused by Jamaicans of providing unfair energy subsidies to its manufacturers. *Trinidad, which is rich in gas and oil resources, supplies energy to its manufacturers at just over three cents per kilowatt-hour, while in Jamaica, it's supplied at over 30 cents per kilowatt-hour, giving Trinidadian manufacturers a huge competitive advantage in trade.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...#ixzz2Qx6AvnZC

OR/
    We could start to PRODUCE some things and start to export and stop importing JUNK - maybe a negative list is needed again...things like Chubby (sugar and water soda pop) that parents give their kids for school...ban water - no way JA shld be imported tap water from TT....

You all can add to the list...

Originally posted by Exile View Post
      OR/
      We could start to PRODUCE some things and start to export and stop importing JUNK - maybe a negative list is needed again...things like Chubby (sugar and water soda pop) that parents give their kids for school...ban water - no way JA shld be imported tap water from TT....

You all can add to the list...
      With our energy costs 5X TT, our labour force 1/5 as qualified technically, our capitalists 5X as greedy & myopic and our JLPNP politicians 5X as corrupt...me tink it aksin tuh much for JA to be productive or competitive in the short run

Sarry mek dat energy 10X more expensive inna JA dan TT

The twin-island republic's Government has also been accused by Jamaicans of providing unfair energy subsidies to its manufacturers. *Trinidad, which is rich in gas and oil resources, supplies energy to its manufacturers at just over three cents per kilowatt-hour, while in Jamaica, it's supplied at over 30 cents per kilowatt-hour, giving Trinidadian manufacturers a huge competitive advantage in trade.

Oh no, our businesses are poorly run hence the financial problems,we are an incompetent bunch.
          If I remember correctly, Mirant or one of those transient power operators was from Trinidad, did we see lower rates in our electricity bills?
          It is clear as day we need to reform our import policies for our very survival.
          Akin to tackling the crime issue but not DEMANDING better from the country from which the illegal guns come from.
          Trinidad modus operandi contradicts the philosophical concept behind Caricom..

Oh no, our businesses are poorly run hence the financial problems,we are an incompetent bunch.
            If I remember correctly, Mirant or one of those transient power operators was from Trinidad, did we see lower rates in our electricity bills?
            It is clear as day we need to reform our import policies for our very survival.
            Akin to tackling the crime issue but not DEMANDING better from the country from which the illegal guns come from.
            Trinidad modus operandi contradicts the philosophical concept behind Caricom..
            A just now unnu a see T&T for what it is?

KMFT!

None was from Trinidad. Mirant is from Atlanta. Our business might not be the best run but government is even worst.

How you compete when you paying high interest rate, high land taxes, have to pay don to protect your business or security firm but have to deal with replacing stolen cables, pumps, machine etc?

Many of Trinidad firms get some form of government subsidies and that is a fact.

I think the JPS should be nationalized.

What government subsidies? Electricity and gas yes.

The things is 30 years ago - the whole thing was reversed. TT was complaining about the imbalance with Jamaica..the Supermarket shelves were lined with Jamaican products....but everything took a standstill since then...

High electric bill is the number one concern for our business, I have been told it is as if businesses exist solely to pay exorbitant electric bills.
                      Extortion money etc pale in comparison.
                      Force Govt to address the deficiency by demanding that our power company be nationalized,Govt can't continue to ignore the obvious.

Most get lower price for oil than what it is sold for on the foriegn market. Many of them have some government ownership or get some bail if needed like CAL and the Insurance company that almost went under 2 years ago. Govt subsidies come in different forms. When government give get seeds or importers get concessions on import it is a subsidies, it is not all bad, only when a few people get it who not contirbuting to productivity and economic growth is when it is a big problem.

How crucial is electricity and gas to T&T economy?
                          It is THE subsidy needed.
                          European sharks and Western ones are not allowed in Caribbean sea,that region is exclusively reserved for T&T sharks.
                          Caricom seems lacking in its approach.

it maybe number one concern but there are many othes. Put them all in the pot and you see production cost go through the roof and wage bill is not even involved as yet.

JPS was nationalised a few years ago and Electic bill wasn't much different. We need a good plan. The Electric grid is one industry I would support been nationalised.

Govt has neither the capital nor the expertise to run the power company