West Kingston Again!?!?

• West Kingston Again!?!?

Sections of Downtown Kingston are tense as a shoot out is currently taking place between alleged gunmen and the police on Tuesday afternoon. The incident reportedly began when members of the Island Special Constabulary Force challenged a group of armed men in the vicinity of Beeston Street and Pink Lane.

It is understood that at least three persons have been killed in the shoot out which erupted after the initial exchange between the Police and the gunmen.

There were sporadic explosions heard around the Denham Town Police Station.

Police and soldiers are in the area and they are patrolling the area.

Men armed with high powered weapons were seen running through the community.

Police are not sure where they are headed to but as we speak no vehicles are traveling on Spanish Town Road coming from east or west, everything is turning back at this stage.

According to reports someone was shot on Childs Street, in addition to that Special Constables working close to the Kingston Public Hospitals say they are pinned down by gunfire it is not clear if they have managed to leave that area.

“There is sporadic and intense gunfire from North Street. According to information we have there are gunshots coming from Tivoli Gardens, Pink Lane, and the side above the Wellington Street Area. Police are under gunfire right now and we are getting assistance,” said a detective at the Denham Town Police Station.

A policeman described the situation as very tense and confirmed that two special constables had come in contact with gunmen in the Pink Lane area and in the exchange of gunfire a fire arm was recovered and chaos ensued.

The streets are deserted and police are at every vantage point, ensuring that they are not in the line of fire in case of more gunfire.

They also have assistance from overhead units as a JDF helicopter is hovering over the scene and armoured vehicles in the area.

Meanwhile a large contingent of police and military personnel is at the Kingston Public Hospital trying to control a large crowd.

The crowd reportedly converged on the facility after reports surfaced that the bodies of a policeman and gunmen were taken there.

The police have not confirmed the reports that a member of the constabulary was been killed.

And the police are advising motorists to avoid Spanish Town Road in the vicinity of the Denham Town Police Station as there is heavy gunfire and fires are also being lit in the area.

Mo what is the cause of this and why cant the PNP government do something about this. If Bruce was in charge this wouldnt be happening. I sure hope the Police read those gunmen or what I call the ' alternative government in waiting' their rights before confronting them. We need a JLP government to stop this don't you think?

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
      Mo what is the cause of this and why cant the PNP government do something about this. If Bruce was in charge this wouldnt be happening. I sure hope the Police read those gunmen or what I call the ' alternative government in waiting' their rights before confronting them. We need a JLP government to stop this don't you think?
      Jamaica caught between a rock and a hard place- economic incompetence and fast forward to the plantation mentality of yesteryear

What is the cause of all this ?

I must presume you are being sarcastic.. it is like clockwork..

On Sunday night, I went by a friend's house in Tivoli. He said to me that the area was tense, that something was about to go down. He had seen evidence of "shipments" being off-loaded into the area and he was not going to remain in the area for too long, choosing to go "outta east" to family members to avoid the next crackdown.

How did he know all this, a mere 2 days before this latest showdown between Tivoli gunmen and the police?

Yesterday when I spoke to him he said it has only just begun.

Anyway, it is because of good families like his and some other families that I know in the area why I could never agree to a mass invasion of Tivoli as some people have suggested. We all know that guns are aplenty and that they have their own army and all sorts of things, but blitzkrieging the area does not seem like an option for me.

So you are saying we accept a state within a state because you know nice people that live there. I think the reason why things like this keep happening is precisely that reasoning. Either you have a state or you don't if you dont then Jamaicans shouldnt complain about crime.

Tivaarli is the symptom of a serious problem.

The garrison that has caused the most damage to Jamaica has been operating out of Gordon House since 1989.

Tivaarli is a useful tool against weak minded people.. a button to be pressed as part of a larger arsenal of weapons of mass distraction the Gordon House Garrison has been employing rather successfully for almost 2 decades. It is not that hard really.. given the average mental state of the citizenry (Exhibit A is Karl's rant about the 80's)

For those that seek enlightenment first investigate why Downtown Kingston is in its current state.

Not at all! How did you come by that?!?!

Now I'm afraid to explain what I meant because if you totally misunderstood me the first time, then why should I bother now?

Anyway, it is because of good families like his and some other families that I know in the area why I could never agree to a mass invasion of Tivoli as some people have suggested.

FINALLY!!! Clap yuhself Mosiah! Too many people act as if is only criminals live down there. Then again, there are those with ulterior motives. Dem people deh wear green ... therefore ... anything goes. Too much people gwaan like the citizens in that area have no rights.

On the other hand, how good can you be if you see stuff happening and not report it to the "authorities"?

Okay, just trying to be problematic.

Anyhow, something needs to be done to bring Tivoli and other garrisons back in line. Of course, it was the void that brought about the garrisons in the first place. How do we fix that void?

What did Bill Clarke say? "Jamaica is a failed state!" Yes, everybody cuss Seaga for Tivoli, but how much garrisons have been created by this administration? Of all the MPs that are elected by a garrison constituency, how many of them want to discuss the dismantling of garrisons?

Treating Tivoli like the ugly step child isn't going to solve the issue. If yuh want to fix it, get people in place that will see the need to implement policies that Jamaicans nuh matter whey yuh come from should have opportunities. When a yute leff school and nuh have no hope, what him gonna duh?

On the other hand, how good can you be if you see stuff happening and not report it to the "authorities"?

Okay, just trying to be problematic.

Anyhow, something needs to be done to bring Tivoli and other garrisons back in line. Of course, it was the void that brought about the garrisons in the first place. How do we fix that void?
                        Refer to the post about 10% growth.. except read it this time.

It is not rocket science... the PNP just makes it seem that way focusing on making enough of the 'electorate' 'happy' and being masters of distribution of scarce spoils rather than creating an environment for PRODUCTION.. hey it is not as simple and there will be growing pains but production is the only way to fill the void.

A policy that extends beyond a 4 year election winning model may not guarantee 4 terms but it will produce a viable economy.. I supppose it is a matter of what the people that make up the Government have as their priority.

The best thing right minded comrades can do is dedicate themselves to transforming the party into one that is relevant to the 21st century. Makes no sense to have 1 party willing to implement long term strategies just to have another party curry favor with short term feel good ones simply designed to 'buy' votes. The Jamaican electorate needs 2 PARENTS not one Parent and 'nice' UNCLE with his favorite nephew or niece. What is to prevent what happened in 1989.. years of corrective measures derailed by a curry favor, opportunistic party that claimed to have climbed out of a sewer but simply changed it clothes without bathing and disinfecting.

You guys still dont get it. Lazie and Ben continue to defend the indefensible simply because you are locked into the zero-sum gain theory of if you denounce the crap that takes place in Tivoli it will help the PNP. The irony is the PNP is counting on precisely that reaction because the majority of Jamaicans know the deal. Newsflash for Ben and Lazie this sort of thing predates 1989 either you know that and are being dishonest or you have no knowledge of the history. Jamaica needs honest leadership that can admit the mistakes of the past and their role in it. This idea that this didnt happen before 1989 is a sick joke which doesnt help the JLP or Jamaica.

I certainly have denounced the crap that takes place in Tivoli. So has the world. Whenever you have 25 civilians shot and left in the streets to rot and no-one is held accountable you have a SERIOUS problem. When those given the reigns refuse to or are unable to deal with the problem and worse contribute to the problem as they pursue self-interest, they must be removed as a PRIORITY.

The stream is filthy and the head must be cleaned.

Defending the Indefensible? A the 2nd time yuh accuse Lazie of that, and yuh cyaan explain yuhself.

A man who duh a likkle selling in the area had his stall set afire by the police. The last time an invasion took place they wanted a Nunu Puss or something like that. Months after he was caught and after being in custody for over a month he was released without charge.

You apparently see what is happening, "The irony is the PNP is counting on precisely that reaction ..." suh how yuh nuh have a problem with it? It iwould be wrong fi a JLP gov't to terrorize an area aligned to the PNP the same way it is WRONG fi the PNP terrorize the people of Tivoli.

If the police want the gunmen, why not gather the intelligence and arrest who fi get arrested? Would you want your community to be attacked like that? I wouldn't.