Air Roti dropping Jamaica flights like a Hot Patty

• Air Roti dropping Jamaica flights like a Hot Patty

Government could withdraw Air Jamaica brand as CAL reduces flights – Davies7:48 am, Mon April 15, 2013

Dr. Omar Davis, Jamaica's transport minister, has declared that his government could withdraw the Air Jamaica brand from Caribbean Airlines (CAL) in light of the entity's plan to reduce service to Jamaica. The airline has announced that as of Tuesday, it will have fewer daily flights to the island.

Dr. Davies told RJR News that this would contradict the agreement signed when Caribbean Airlines acquired Air Jamaica two years ago. According to Dr. Davies, the only tangible weapon the government has relates to the use of the Air Jamaica brand.

Dr. Davies said he also had concerns about what he cited as the ‘discriminatory hiring practices’ of Caribbean Airlines. Fifteen flight attendants’ positions were recently cut at the airline's Jamaican operations. CAL also sent home some of its Trinidad & Tobago based Jamaican pilots last month.

The Minister disclosed that he has had challenges discussing changes at Caribbean Airlines with the Government of Trinidad & Tobago as greatly needed information has not been forthcoming from that end.

I doubt they are dropping it because the seats are filled. Caribbean Airlines is losing their shirts.

Yes the seat are filled...with sponge

The article claims that flights are being reduced AKA some flights are being dropped from their schedule...you have conflicting info??

I hate to be picking up for Air Roti but should they maintain these routes that are deemed to be loss makers?

It was always going to be difficult making money in this industry, in this region.

Suh fly JA in trouble then?!

unless you are jet blue or spirit airline.

Air Roti knows nothing about marketing. The airline is a non-entity in the marketplace.....That seems to be a fundamental problem

Trinidadians know nothing about marketing and public relations. They never needed those skills to survive, unlike a tourist oriented economy like ours.

Government could withdraw Air Jamaica brand as CAL reduces flights – Davies7:48 am, Mon April 15, 2013

Dr. Omar Davis, Jamaica's transport minister, has declared that his government could withdraw the Air Jamaica brand from Caribbean Airlines (CAL) in light of the entity's plan to reduce service to Jamaica. The airline has announced that as of Tuesday, it will have fewer daily flights to the island.

Dr. Davies told RJR News that this would contradict the agreement signed when Caribbean Airlines acquired Air Jamaica two years ago. According to Dr. Davies, the only tangible weapon the government has relates to the use of the Air Jamaica brand.

Dr. Davies said he also had concerns about what he cited as the ‘discriminatory hiring practices’ of Caribbean Airlines. Fifteen flight attendants’ positions were recently cut at the airline's Jamaican operations. CAL also sent home some of its Trinidad & Tobago based Jamaican pilots last month.

The Minister disclosed that he has had challenges discussing changes at Caribbean Airlines with the Government of Trinidad & Tobago as greatly needed information has not been forthcoming from that end.
                  Are we supporting it? I heard nuff Jamaicans said that they won't fly on on it.

numbers speak for itself. You think if we were fulling the plane they would cut the flights????

These flights are losing money big time.

numbers speak for itself. You think if we were fulling the plane they would cut the flights????

These flights are losing money big time.
                      Peeple want new plane lika Jet Blue wid trinket like dem personal flat screen and/or dirt cheap tikit wid nuff fancy ad pon TV an inna papah

Air Roti nuh roll like dat ... Bussup Shut dem seh

it has to be more than than. Last time I took Spirit Airline to Mobay it was full and no TV nuh inna it.

A couple questions

Why did you choose Spirit?

Do you normally take a single personal experience to define a population's behaviour??

Thanks in advance

not many airlines go from ATL to Jamaica. Check the booking on Spirit website and you can see the seats that is available for any date. Not just for one date.

Just in case you didn't know, Jamaica is one of Spirit best route.
                            Last edited by Assasin; April 16, 2013, 12:53 PM.

not many airlines go from ATL to Jamaica. Check the booking on Spirit website and you can see the seats that is available for any date. Not just for one date.

Just in case you didn't know, Jamaica is one of Spirit best route.
                              Atlanta is a relative backwater. We can discount that market as an outlier not representative of the whole

Your statement that "not many airlines go from ATL to Jamaica" may explain the strong support you observed for an airline that does serve that market

Thanks for the elucidation