• Resign Bunting, JFJ says God helps those who help themselves

Resign Bunting, JFJ says God helps those who help themselves

Lobby group Jamaicans for Justice (JFJ) says its confidence in the ability of the national security minister has been bruised following the minister’s comment that Jamaica’s crime problem now needs divine intervention.

Speaking at the Northern Caribbean University in Mandeville on the weekend, the National Security Minster Peter Bunting suggested that the security forces have done all they can to reduce crime with little results.

According to the executive director of the JFJ, Dr Carolyn Gomes, the statement indicates that Mr Bunting has surrendered in the anti-crime fight.

She says his best option now must be to resign.

Dr Gomes also says one of the fundamental problems has been the failure to adequately provide social programmes as part of the national security initiative.

The National Security Minister says it has taken a lot of faith to continue in the anti-crime fight.

Can't argue with JFJ's position.

Divine intervention to save us from the criminals?!?!

Yuh never hear bout fyah and brimstone? Tan deh!

Bunting's only reprieve is that he was at a prayer breakfast and maybe needed to connect with some of the guests there. But it nuh sound good.

Bunting, if that is what you truly believe, beg yuh step.

Im fi pack im bags an go!!

What we need is someone with the tenacity to launch a shock and awe program against their own constituency !

Man haffi tremble when dem si dat.. if yuh duh dat tuh yuh own.. wheh bout wi !!

Not sure I agree with dr. Gomes. I dont think its the ntl sec to provide social programs. Someone needs to do it and its an important piece of crime reduction so is education and employment but we would not ask the Ntal sec to take responsibility for those.

Bring back Dwight Nelson now!!!!!!

Oh...mi juss recall seh im is a non-entity now

di ongly non-entity right now is Bunting.. him ah call for Supernatural Entity now..

Ahm.. what is the relevance of responsibility without di money ?

please don't encourage fkry

Laughable. The minister in charge sounds like a little school girl in the face of an overwhelming assault on the nation by criminals. He should resign.

the national security minstry have to do it with others. I knew things like police youth club and community policing worked back in the days. The minister started out good when he met with people accross the island but you heard what the Mobay people tell him? "Solve the crime but leave the lotto alone". As you say crime not easy to solve but the you expect a certain image of your minister, and same can be said of Dwight Nelson calling for fight.