• CAL Fined For Preventing Passengers From Leaving Plane

CAL Fined For Preventing Passengers From Leaving Plane
    Published: Monday | April 8, 2013 2 Comments

The Trinidad and Tobago-owned Caribbean Airlines (CAL) has been fined US$100,000 for violating United States federal rules after it prevented passengers from disembarking from one of its planes delayed on the tarmac at the John F. Kennedy International Airport last August.

The United States Department of Transportation (DOT) said the plane was delayed for more than four hours and that CAL failed to provide customers with food and water until almost four hours after the plane left the gate during the tarmac delay.

The DOT ordered the carrier to cease and desist from further violations.

Passengers have rights when they fly, including the opportunity to leave a plane during a long tarmac delay and to access food and water, said US Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood in a statement issued in Washington.

DOTs tarmac delay rules were put into place to ensure that passengers are treated with respect when they travel, and we will continue to work to ensure that airlines treat their customers fairly, he added.

Hood said that under DOT rules, foreign airlines operating aircraft with 30 or more passenger seats that fly to and from US airports are prohibited from allowing their aircraft to remain on the tarmac for more than four hours without giving passengers on board an opportunity to leave the plane.

He said exceptions to the time limits are allowed only for safety, security or air traffic control-related reasons. There is a three-hour limit for tarmac delays on domestic flights, he said.

For all flights delayed on the tarmac, airlines are also required to provide adequate food and water no later than two hours after an aircraft leaves the gate or lands, unless the pilot-in-command determines that it cannot provide these services for safety or security reasons, Hood said.

He said that on August 15, 2012, Caribbean Airlines flight 421 from New Yorks JFK Airport to Trinidads Piarco International Airport was scheduled to depart JFK at 2:55 p.m. and arrive at 9:25 p.m. (local time).

But the flight was delayed due to poor weather conditions and the need to refuel.

Although weather was a factor in the delay, the carrier did not cite any weather-related safety, security or air traffic control-related reason for failing to allow the passengers to leave the plane, Hood said.

CMC

This is excellent news and information!

Stop being badminded & gwan guh play yuh soca muzik.

Me coming to Jamaica on CAL next couple of weeks!

Good luck!

To date I've never encountered a problem flying that airline.

I have! And it was one of my scariest moments ever! You want to hear about it. It goes a little something like this.

About a year ago, I believe I was returning to Jamaica from New York. CAL leased this airline from some carrier. It was the most rickety, dilapidated, cranky piece of $#@! airplane you could imagine. I had to check if it had propellers on the wing. It didn't but it could have had one on the nose!

I don't know why I allowed that thing to leave God's blessed earth with me. The thing creaked and struggled to gain altitude. The tray kept falling into my lap due to a faulty latch mechanism. The seats had no head rest. There were ashtrays in each armrest. I dared not go to the restroom lest I fall through a hole! The window could only go down halfway!

Now, I have been flying since the days of BOAC and BEA and propellered aircraft and I can't remember one being so decrepit!

Yes, it was a leased aircraft, but AirJ's leased aircrafts were sometimes better than its regular fleet!

Never again!

That's what you get looking for charter deals.

It was no charter! A regular scheduled flight!

I started getting nervous when the pilot came down the aisle with a foghorn!

The window could only go down halfway!
                  Di window dem cudda open tuh?????

****!!! Dat really owl!

Di window dem cudda open tuh?????

****!!! Dat really owl!
                    yuhseeit!

You should have seen the bar they placed across the door to keep that from flying open!

Only halfway! Please revise!

mek mi help mi bredrin... ah de window shade him mussi a talk!

At peak travel times CAL "wet leases" aircraft, sometimes with badges that I've never seen or heard of before (nor since) with a set of blonde blue eyed crew who barely speak a word of English, and when they do it isn't easy to understand some of them. Mo must have been on a craft with that type of arrangement.

So anyway, CAL is really all we have for example if you want to go from TT to JA, unless you want to fly to Miami and back down on AA or another US carrier. Mi really sorry dem run RedJet outta town!

SO what is happening with Fly Jamaica? is it flying yet?

Fly Jamaica has regular flights between Kingston and JFK.

There was a blonde, blue-eyed, flight attendant lady on that CAL-leased aircraft. She sounded American though. She took all the criticisms and nervous stares in stride.

Wish I could remember the name of that carrier.

Never again!

I have! And it was one of my scariest moments ever! You want to hear about it. It goes a little something like this.

About a year ago, I believe I was returning to Jamaica from New York. CAL leased this airline from some carrier. It was the most rickety, dilapidated, cranky piece of $#@! airplane you could imagine. I had to check if it had propellers on the wing. It didn't but it could have had one on the nose!

I don't know why I allowed that thing to leave God's blessed earth with me. The thing creaked and struggled to gain altitude. The tray kept falling into my lap due to a faulty latch mechanism. The seats had no head rest. There were ashtrays in each armrest. I dared not go to the restroom lest I fall through a hole! The window could only go down halfway!

Now, I have been flying since the days of BOAC and BEA and propellered aircraft and I can't remember one being so decrepit!

Yes, it was a leased aircraft, but AirJ's leased aircrafts were sometimes better than its regular fleet!

Never again!
                            Agree with you. Never been impressed by Trinidadians management and public relations style. For the most part they tend to be mediocre when compared to Jamaicans, and I don't have to tell you about our standards.

CAL still airline of choice for me to JA...fly Tues or Thurs..direct flight...can't lose..book early...