How many wrong decisions can one judge make? Pusey should punish the bun-eater for assaulting the supervisor. If she wants to lecture the supervisor about the firing, that's another thing, but people can't go around the place a offer people box!
"I can't send him to prison for that. If it was me I would not fire him. I would just lay him off for two days." - Fool! No one is asking you to send anyone to prison over eating bun! Aaah bwoy!
Judge scolds 'merciless' bakery supervisor
BY TANESHA MUNDLE Observer staff reporter mundlet@jamaicaobserver.com
Monday, April 08, 2013
A National Bakery supervisor was Friday scolded in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court over his "lack of mercy" regarding a fired employee who had assaulted him.
The supervisor was scolded by Senior Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey after insisting that David Searchwell, who was fired for eating a bun on the job, be sent to prison over the assault.
The court heard that 18-year-old Searchwell and the supervisor got into an altercation after Searchwell breached the company's policy and was fired. The court also heard that the supervisor was punched in the face during the dispute.
The supervisor told the court that he wanted the young man to be sentenced as he was very disrespectful.
But the magistrate did not agree with his stance.
"I don't like it when people visit young people with the maximum," Pusey told the supervisor.
She told him that people needed to be given second chances and that he, as a manager, should not be quick to fire people but extend a hand of mercy.
"This young man is a working man and is not a multiple father and the first thing he said when he got up was that he was sorry, and he acknowledged that he was wrong," she said. "I can't send him to prison for that. If it was me I would not fire him. I would just lay him off for two days."
But the supervisor was not moved.
"Your Honour, with all due respect," he said, "I hear what you are saying, but I don't agree; and this is why the country is like this."
But Pusey shot back: "And it's people like you why we have criminals. As a manger you need to be flexible and understanding."
Eventually, the accused man was given 40 hours of community service.
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2PtSndeJn
"I can't send him to prison for that. If it was me I would not fire him. I would just lay him off for two days." - Fool! No one is asking you to send anyone to prison over eating bun! Aaah bwoy!
Judge scolds 'merciless' bakery supervisor
BY TANESHA MUNDLE Observer staff reporter mundlet@jamaicaobserver.com
Monday, April 08, 2013
A National Bakery supervisor was Friday scolded in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court over his "lack of mercy" regarding a fired employee who had assaulted him.
The supervisor was scolded by Senior Resident Magistrate Judith Pusey after insisting that David Searchwell, who was fired for eating a bun on the job, be sent to prison over the assault.
The court heard that 18-year-old Searchwell and the supervisor got into an altercation after Searchwell breached the company's policy and was fired. The court also heard that the supervisor was punched in the face during the dispute.
The supervisor told the court that he wanted the young man to be sentenced as he was very disrespectful.
But the magistrate did not agree with his stance.
"I don't like it when people visit young people with the maximum," Pusey told the supervisor.
She told him that people needed to be given second chances and that he, as a manager, should not be quick to fire people but extend a hand of mercy.
"This young man is a working man and is not a multiple father and the first thing he said when he got up was that he was sorry, and he acknowledged that he was wrong," she said. "I can't send him to prison for that. If it was me I would not fire him. I would just lay him off for two days."
But the supervisor was not moved.
"Your Honour, with all due respect," he said, "I hear what you are saying, but I don't agree; and this is why the country is like this."
But Pusey shot back: "And it's people like you why we have criminals. As a manger you need to be flexible and understanding."
Eventually, the accused man was given 40 hours of community service.
Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2PtSndeJn