'Cheers to the Lefties' - New ergonomically designed left-ha

• 'Cheers to the Lefties' - New ergonomically designed left-ha

'Cheers to the Lefties' - New ergonomically designed left-handed Heineken coming

Published: Thursday | April 4, 2013 3 Comments

Jermaine Hue

1 2 3 4 5 >
    Heineken Jamaica is set to roll out its newest variant in the marketplace, one specifically ergonomically designed for left-handed people.
    Brand Manager Nasha Douglas said, "Most people who were born left-handed have always had to compromise comfort because the world designs most things for right-handed people. Desks and chairs in schools, fountain pens and even scissors have always compromised left-handers. We at Heineken have always celebrated being cool and different, so in that spirit, we knew that this is something that we had to do."
    Jamaica has many personalities in sports and entertainment that are quite famous worldwide, and here are some of the people who they want to celebrate with this new Heineken Beer.
    Popular dancehall artiste and producer Leftside had this to say: "Left-handed people are known to be 'next-level genius'. We ourselves are already a 'special limited edition', so this is a genius invention from the Heineken group."
    West Indies batsman Chris Gayle, possibly the most famous left-handed batsman of active cricketers, went on to praise Heineken for this initiative. "As a left-handed batsman I get to see the game of cricket from a different perspective, sometimes in life, seeing things from a different perspective makes all the difference in the world. In this case, I'm happy that Heineken sees things from our perspective, it's so much cooler over here."
    Heineken International has been the centre of much attention with the recent launch of its UEFA Champions League sponsorship that is being activated in Jamaica. Local left-footed footballer Jermaine Hue had this to say: "I am a left-footed footballer and I am definitely special because I possess certain skills that give me an advantage over my opponents. Left-footed football stars like Maradona, Lionel Messi and Robin Van Persie have all made their mark on global football and I'm glad that Heineken is paying attention."
    Jamaica's star left-handed tennis player Dominic Pagon also had this to say. "My famous left arm is well taken care of since I keep it by my side. Racquet by day, Heineken at night. Always serving from the left, never from the right ... big up Heineken!"
    April 2 Launch
    Left-handed Heineken will be available at supermarket locations: MegaMart - Kingston (Waterloo) and Portmore, as well as Hi-Lo Barbican, Manor Park, Pavilion and Cross Roads, where we will be showcasing the new product for its initial roll-out stage, which commenced on April 2.
    Heineken country manager Bob Sprenger noted, "Heineken definitely seeks to create more adorers with this new product by reaching out to the disenfranchised set. The world is definitely filled with all races and types of persons, and we know that we want to celebrate all of them the world over. Cheers to the lefties! We love you just as much."

This one baffle mi .... What is a left handed beer bottle? Is not like beer bottles have handles....

Nice gimmickry though

I was thinking the same thing....marketing...to the 10%...

Article:
        Study Reveals Why Lefties Are Rare

LiveScience Staff
        Date: 27 April 2012 Time: 08:03 PM ET

inShare24

Scientists have long wondered why left-handed people are a rarity. Stories about being slapped on the wrist for being a lefty aside, there must be some deeper, evolutionary reason, scientists figure. A new study suggests lefties are rare because of the balance between cooperation and competition in human evolution. The findings come thanks to some data from the sports world.
        Representing only 10 percent of the general human population, left-handers have been viewed with suspicion and persecuted across history. The word “sinister” even derives from “left or left-hand.”
        Researchers at Northwestern University now report that a high degree of cooperation, not something odd or sinister, plays a key role in the rarity of left-handedness.

They developed a mathematical model that shows the low percentage of lefties is a result of the balance between cooperation and competition in human evolution.
        Professor Daniel M. Abrams and graduate student Mark J. Panaggio—both right-handers—are the first to use real-world data (from competitive sports) to test and confirm the hypothesis that social behavior is related to population-level handedness.
        The results are published this week in the Journal of the Royal Society Interface.
        “The more social the animal—where cooperation is highly valued—the more the general population will trend toward one side,” says Abrams, an assistant professor of engineering sciences and applied mathematics at the McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science.
        “The most important factor for an efficient society is a high degree of cooperation. In humans, this has resulted in a right-handed majority.”
        If societies were entirely cooperative everyone would be same-handed, Abrams said. But if competition were more important, one could expect the population to be 50-50. The new model can predict accurately the percentage of left-handers in a group—humans, parrots, baseball players, golfers—based on the degrees of cooperation and competition in the social interaction.
        The model helps to explain our right-handed world now and historically: the 90-10 right-handed to left-handed ratio has remained the same for more than 5,000 years. It also explains the dominance of left-handed athletes in many sports where competition can drive the number of lefties up to a disproportionate level.
        Cooperation favors same-handedness—for sharing the same tools, for example. Physical competition, on the other hand, favors the unusual. In a fight, a left-hander would have the advantage in a right-handed world.
        Abrams and Panaggio turned to the world of sports for data to support their balance of cooperation and competition theory. Their model accurately predicted the number of elite left-handed athletes in baseball, boxing, hockey, fencing, and table tennis—more than 50 percent among top baseball players and well above 10 percent (the general population rate) for the other sports.
        On the other hand, the number of successful left-handed PGA golfers is very low, only 4 percent. The model also accurately predicted this.
        “The accuracy of our model’s predictions when applied to sports data supports the idea that we are seeing the same effect in human society,” Abrams says.
        Handedness, the preference for using one hand over the other, is partially genetic and partially environmental. Identical twins, who share exactly the same genes, don’t always share the same handedness.
        “As computers and simulation become more widespread in science, it remains important to create understandable mathematical models of the phenomena that interest us, such as the left-handed minority,” Abrams says.
        “By discarding unnecessary elements, these simple models can give us insight into the most important aspects of a problem, sometimes even shedding light on things seemingly outside the domain of math.”
        The James S. McDonnell Foundation supported this research.

Yuh ever try holding a beer bottle in yuh left hand? It just doesn't feel right.

I applaud Heineken, my favourite beer, for finally doing something about it. Maestro deserves to be comfortable when he is having a cold one on the warm bench.

Interesting but it seems incomplete ..... Cannot put my finger on what is
            missing

How can a bottle in the left hand feel right?

Depends if I'm multi-tasking...

If left alone?

Heineken does not want it to feel right. They want it to feel comfortable.