Music Royalties

• Music Royalties

On the subject of music royalties. It might be sad but in the case of Coxone and Studio one, he may not owe the artists anything because if he had them sign that their work was “work for hire” or can prove that he doesn’t have to pay any royalties. He can say he hired the artists, same as he hired the band. Let me clarify this. This is the same thing the Bob Marley reps proved against the wailers that somehow Bob only use them in the recording studio and was paid for the work there and then and are not entitled to any royalties.
    It sound harsh but the even today you develop a relationship with an artist and most want money to record, some of the want big money to record. Now if you invest your money in studio time, musicans, video, promotion and then turn around and pay artists, it could easily cost easily 15 grand to get an album out there, now wouldn’t it be wise to make back your money first or have the artist sign as “work for hire”? The artist can’t have it both ways, the money upfront and then cream off all the royalties and take no chance. If you can remember No Doubt got Bounty Killer to do a tune and paid him for “Work for Hire” and then the song became a big hit and he was upset he wasn’t getting any royalties.
    Sad that in the old days it was just friend and friend a do a thing but sometimes some of the friends had a little knowledge and set himself straight and nuff a the artist can’t get any royalties as other people who think they have claims to royalties might be getting it.
    It would be nice if we all share but in the music biz it nuh always go like that. People like Burning Spear have been able to move on and have done very well so give thanks for that but the young musicians and singers certainly not learning from this as so many just want a money upfront as they are use to the “dubplate special culture”. They need to work with producers, help promote it and not to think every song play on radio is gold record.

sorry again. Move this for me Mr. Admin.

Yes sass. if you remember the big fight between the engineer scientist and Greensleeves who bought the rights to lot of the songs he mixed at tubbys. The court and Lloyd james claim then it was strictly work for hire and you got paid for your work and nothing else. Ironically Grand Teft Auto video game was using the tracks and Scientist was trying to claim royalties.

Writer typically gets 50% of mechanical royalties...Dodd never write nuttin...

if it is work for hire, the writer gets nothing more than the sum he agrees to. See it all the time.

thanks I-man, that is a classic case.

I doubt Spear wrote on a work for hire basis...work for hire is usually studio musicians...not writers...they wouldn't be sending him royalty checks if that were the case...just that it looks like Dodd them are under reporting the money that the songs have generated...which would explain a $250 check for a financial quarter...

"work for hire is usually studio musicians...not writers". No you got that wrong.

Yes if he is getting royalties it should be consistent as collected. Studio may just point to the fact that that is what they collected, but they also could take everything and say it was work for hire. Either way it is a sad state of affairs.

"A work made for hire (sometimes abbreviated as work for hire or WFH) is a work created by an employee as part of his or her job, or a work created on behalf of a client where all parties agree in writing to the WFH designation. It is an exception to the general rule that the person who actually creates a work is the legally recognized author of that work. According to copyright law in the United States and certain other copyright jurisdictions, if a work is "made for hire", the employer—not the employee—is considered the legal author".

From Wiki

They can try and take everything if they want...but they are gonna get sued...Spear now has legal defence and they will be forced to open up the books...they can say whatever they want to...they have just now started paying him royalties...which is an admission that it wasn't work for hire...they have to prove it was work for hire which they now can't...the writer has no burden of proof...once he writes the song 100% of those royalties are automatically his...if there is a publishing deal then he splits it 50/50...

doesn't have to be 50/50 if there is a publishing deal, it is what they agree to. What about the musicians if the singer didn't write the music, just the lyrics?
                      In some case some producers split and give musicians their cut which is reasonable.

We will see how it play out in court and Spear should definately do it.

doesn't have to be 50/50 if there is a publishing deal, it is what they agree to. What about the musicians if the singer didn't write the music, just the lyrics?
                        In some case some producers split and give musicians their cut which is reasonable.

We will see how it play out in court and Spear should definately do it.
                        Typically 50/50 in a publishing deal. With live musicians producer doesn't usually give the musicians a cut. They are work for hire. They are just playing what the producer tells them to play. Unless they arrange or composed something. Nowadays the producer makes his own music electronically anyway. In some instances he will buy the beat or give points on a purchased beat. Dodd would have to explain why he decided to pay royalties to someone who he claims was work for hire. That doesn't make sense.

the wise musican will ask for some royalties.

For what? If I as a producer compose and arrange a song all I need is a musician to play it. I pay him a one off payment. He doesn't deserve anything more.

in may cases the producer don't compose anything but work with a band or a beatmaker. Now if I was the band or the beatmaker I would make sure some royalties are due to me. Just for insurance in the future. Even a 10 percent royalties better than nothing at all. An example of this is Dean Fraser arranging most of Luciano's eary work. He more than deserve some royalties if you ask me.