On the subject of music royalties. It might be sad but in the case of Coxone and Studio one, he may not owe the artists anything because if he had them sign that their work was “work for hire” or can prove that he doesn’t have to pay any royalties. He can say he hired the artists, same as he hired the band. Let me clarify this. This is the same thing the Bob Marley reps proved against the wailers that somehow Bob only use them in the recording studio and was paid for the work there and then and are not entitled to any royalties.
It sound harsh but the even today you develop a relationship with an artist and most want money to record, some of the want big money to record. Now if you invest your money in studio time, musicans, video, promotion and then turn around and pay artists, it could easily cost easily 15 grand to get an album out there, now wouldn’t it be wise to make back your money first or have the artist sign as “work for hire”? The artist can’t have it both ways, the money upfront and then cream off all the royalties and take no chance. If you can remember No Doubt got Bounty Killer to do a tune and paid him for “Work for Hire” and then the song became a big hit and he was upset he wasn’t getting any royalties.
Sad that in the old days it was just friend and friend a do a thing but sometimes some of the friends had a little knowledge and set himself straight and nuff a the artist can’t get any royalties as other people who think they have claims to royalties might be getting it.
It would be nice if we all share but in the music biz it nuh always go like that. People like Burning Spear have been able to move on and have done very well so give thanks for that but the young musicians and singers certainly not learning from this as so many just want a money upfront as they are use to the “dubplate special culture”. They need to work with producers, help promote it and not to think every song play on radio is gold record.
It sound harsh but the even today you develop a relationship with an artist and most want money to record, some of the want big money to record. Now if you invest your money in studio time, musicans, video, promotion and then turn around and pay artists, it could easily cost easily 15 grand to get an album out there, now wouldn’t it be wise to make back your money first or have the artist sign as “work for hire”? The artist can’t have it both ways, the money upfront and then cream off all the royalties and take no chance. If you can remember No Doubt got Bounty Killer to do a tune and paid him for “Work for Hire” and then the song became a big hit and he was upset he wasn’t getting any royalties.
Sad that in the old days it was just friend and friend a do a thing but sometimes some of the friends had a little knowledge and set himself straight and nuff a the artist can’t get any royalties as other people who think they have claims to royalties might be getting it.
It would be nice if we all share but in the music biz it nuh always go like that. People like Burning Spear have been able to move on and have done very well so give thanks for that but the young musicians and singers certainly not learning from this as so many just want a money upfront as they are use to the “dubplate special culture”. They need to work with producers, help promote it and not to think every song play on radio is gold record.