Atlanta Housing Authority salaries stand out

True, I know a bunch who moved back too. Visited Atlanta once and didn't "feel" the place.

Still a good place. You have a lot more black professionals in high profile position. Time is hard now like in most places but there is a lot of black professionals here. Tell you the truth if I was single and 20, maybe I wouldn't like it that much(but then again more single girls down here) but for the family it is great.

Visited twice and neva like it. Has an eerie...HeLlish...feel about it!

Yikes!

where did you guys visit? Nobody much live in Atlanta unless it is Buckhead, other than that everybody lives in the suburbs. Nice.

Yes, it was the burbs but still boring.

I guess I would have to have been there for a while. I find most of the USA boring because it is a highway country, for the most part.

Give me NYC over any of them any day of the year! There is life in NY!

As I say as a single man NYC is better, but there is a lot more family oriented activities here in Atlanta and its environment.

I visited the Tri-state area last June for (a weekend)-- the first time since moving to ATL.

I found myself saying naaaah....naaaah...would not move back to NJ or NY even if i was paid....

I am extremely happy in my new habitat.

Any further movement will be further SOUTH

Misconception held by manyNew Yorkers who land here and lived in the Boroughs. Travel an hour north into the Hudson Valley and you enter a different world of peace and harmony and greenery and better quality of life and better schools and where the streets are salted, sanded and ploughed before and after a snow storm and where there are many parks and playgrounds for your kids to run around and where many travel north to go leaf-peeking.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I use to live in the Hudson Valley but it can be very expensive Jangle and I am not talking about the rich areas now.

I decent house in Rockland, Orange or West Chester county is 300,000. not to mention the taxes. Nice living that I enjoyed but it was expensive and around my area in Atlanta a lot more things for the kids to do at affordable price. Hudson Valley still nice though.

Misconception held by manyNew Yorkers who land here and lived in the Boroughs. Travel an hour north into the Hudson Valley and you enter a different world of peace and harmony and greenery and better quality of life and better schools and where the streets are salted, sanded and ploughed before and after a snow storm and where there are many parks and playgrounds for your kids to run around and where many travel north to go leaf-peeking.
                      Could not have said it better.

When i moved from NY to NJ, I found it a better quality of life

I recalled inviting some friends from Brooklyn over to my house when i lived in East Windsor, NJ. They said it was too "quiet", too dead...country!!

It's sad to say but many Jamaicans do not have an appreciation for what [actually] are these United States.

Everything is relative Sass. Yes the taxes are high but the pay scale in NY is higher (so is the cost of living) in comparison to other States. I remember just a few years ago during the real estate boom, many New Yorkers packed up and moved down south to mainly Florida and Atlanta to buy houses because they were much cheaper than those in NY. However, they were in for a very rude awakening when they realised that the jobs were paying 1/3 of what they were paying in NY. These were the people which helped to trigger the housing market demise. There is a very good reason why NY is the gateway for immigrants pathway to the American dream.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015