HL, I see that you are bored and trying to stir up trouble, boss.
Anyway, this recording by Culture is merely one of those all too familiar, forgettable odes to marijuana and law breaking. The rhythm played by the studio band is monotonous, the desperate efforts by the keyboard player is uninspired while the rather predictable horn arrangement makes little difference to the whole. The recycled bass line is obviously a watered-down version of that memorable bass line which, if my memory is correct, first appeared on the Mighty Diamond’s “Have Mercy.”
Vocal harmony doesn’t get any more simplistic, dull and trite than this!
Despite my critical comments above, I will always have a soft spot for Joseph Hill (leader and lead singer for the group Culture). Hill, for example, taught me my first basic major and minor chords, back in the days before he became a dreadlocked rastaman. Not many people know that Hill started out as a drummer, but was replaced as drummer in that band (I cannot remember the name) some months later by singer Glen Washington, who was a superb drummer in his early years.
I really liked Joseph Hill as he was a down-to-earth fellow, and he was always willing to share.
But there is really nothing special about this damn recording.
Not really into ganja gloryfying music , unless its about legalising it.
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Historian i know you are not a fan of blogs but with your writing style you could easily produce a high quality one doing pieces on music, track, among other topics. I suspect that the occasional idiotic comment would probably annoy you greatly though. LoL.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Historian i know you are not a fan of blogs but with your writing style you could easily produce a high quality one doing pieces on music, track, among other topics. I suspect that the occasional idiotic comment would probably annoy you greatly though. LoL.
Thank you very much for the compliments, Islandman and Mo.
And you’re correct, Islandman, I have very little interest in blogs. I will choose the traditional (reputable) mainstream media any day as they (the reputable ones) are generally more credible because they seek to be accurate and balanced in their research and dissemination of information. Fact checking and other ethical considerations are of far more importance to dedicated mainstream journalists when compared with the average Tom, Dick and Harry who create blogs.
I see blogs as a distinct two-edged sword that can be good as well as dangerous, depending on the ethics of the writer. In a sense, the future for the mass media is exciting because it allows ordinary citizens and the community to become more intimately involved, but at the same time this aspect is frightening.
BTW, among the journalists who I think the world of are, to cite just three examples here, CNN’s Christiane Amanpour, Ivan Watson, and Anderson Cooper. Journalists like these are passionately committed to unearthing the truth; many/most bloggers do not share this dedication.
Amanpour has being accused of being pro-Bosnian and also biased in her reports against Israel which she has of course flatly denied. Also, she as some strong political connections by virtue of marriage....I like her a lot when when she was young and outspoken...now she has become more measured and cynical I guess..
BTW Historian, for one with such conservative views, it's amazing your selections are more on the liberal side...
Thinking the same about my brethren Hisss, suh yuh bun out di weed man dem (roots man ) but love dem musical craft ?...yuh soun like a Jazz man..lol
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
BTW Historian, for one with such conservative views, it's amazing your selections are more on the liberal side...
Despite what my views appear to be like as expressed here (lol), I am actually a liberal – in fact, “quite liberal” – in my views and approach to life.
I have always paid more attention to the liberal journalists, because they are the ones most likely to, for example, bring about/influence necessary changes in our world.
Those who know me in my everyday life (that is, those who know me personally) are certainly aware that I am most definitely generally more liberal than conservative.
In some things I am NOT liberal though. For example, I believe that qualified Jamaicans should ALWAYS be singled out for first preference when it comes to employment within Jamaica’s borders. Also, I do not support the idea and practice of having a West Indies cricket team. I would much prefer to wait patiently while we build a world-class Jamaican cricket team.
Bricktop will no doubt recall an extended argument we both had on this forum back in 2008 when I insisted that a permanent ban should be placed on work permits for foreign girls (Russians, Latinos, etc.) who dance in our nightclubs. There are many lovely Jamaican girls who are desperate for the chance to make an honest living, and they should be always given first preference, along with protective contracts.
I am a nationalist to the core, and so when it comes to a strict policy of placing Jamaicans first, I will never change. Maybe that makes me a conservative…. I don’t know.
Good talk sah about been nationalistic. I find Anderson Cooper good but sometimes pander a little too much to the left. I guess we all have our bias and can't fair and open on every subject.
I read blogs but try not to let it be the major plank in my opinions. It is important to find credible source to back it up.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I am the first person to promote the idea of a Jamaican cricket team.
I agree with the ban on foreign dancers, but for a different reason. I think many of these farin girls could actually have been human-trafficked to our shores.
I agree with most of what you say about blogs. However the blogs I find most valuable are not the ones by the "average Tom, Dick, and Harry" as you put it, but by people who have some kind of a reputation in their field but would probably not have a regular opinion piece in a mainstream media outlet.
There are a lot of people like that out there who I believe add significant value with diverse viewpoints. I would not want to go back to a world where a handful of people at major media outlets shape opinion for so many of us.
But you are correct, there is a lot of noise out there posing as information.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
HL, I see that you are bored and trying to stir up trouble, boss.
Anyway, this recording by Culture is merely one of those all too familiar, forgettable odes to marijuana and law breaking. The rhythm played by the studio band is monotonous, the desperate efforts by the keyboard player is uninspired while the rather predictable horn arrangement makes little difference to the whole. The recycled bass line is obviously a watered-down version of that memorable bass line which, if my memory is correct, first appeared on the Mighty Diamond’s “Have Mercy.”
Vocal harmony doesn’t get any more simplistic, dull and trite than this!
Despite my critical comments above, I will always have a soft spot for Joseph Hill (leader and lead singer for the group Culture). Hill, for example, taught me my first basic major and minor chords, back in the days before he became a dreadlocked rastaman. Not many people know that Hill started out as a drummer, but was replaced as drummer in that band (I cannot remember the name) some months later by singer Glen Washington, who was a superb drummer in his early years.
I really liked Joseph Hill as he was a down-to-earth fellow, and he was always willing to share.
But there is really nothing special about this damn recording.
Your topic said it all Historian. I am just trying to cause trouble!!
I know the views on the topic is polorized as far as you and X are concerned.