Posh cars for public officials - 120 sports utility vehicles

• Posh cars for public officials - 120 sports utility vehicles

Karl will say that we cannot expect our public officials to drive Corollas. And I agree, but how about a Camry, is that too demeaning as well? How do we compare with the richer Caribbean countries?
    And we have the nerve to deride Haiti and poor African countries.

Posh cars for public officials - 120 sports utility vehicles (SUVs) counted in 10 Gov't ministries
    published: Sunday | April 15, 2007

Tyrone Reid, [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Enterprise[/COLOR][/COLOR] Reporter

Harry Douglas, Junior Minister in the Ministry of Local Government, walking away from his assigned 2004 [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Toyota[/COLOR][/COLOR] Prado outside of Gordon House on Thursday. - Rudolph Brown/Chief Photographer
    An apparent love affair between government officials and gas-guzzling [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]sports [COLOR=orange! important]utility [/COLOR][COLOR=orange! important]vehicles[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] (SUVs) is costing the country millions of dollars to procure them and to buy petrol to keep them running.
    Sunday Gleaner calculations based on documents obtained under the Access to Information (ATI) Act show no fewer than 120 [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]SUVs[/COLOR][/COLOR] on the books of 10 government ministries. Some are old now but others are spanking new. The high fuel consumption of these SUVs is compounded by the practice of drivers sitting or sleeping in the vehicles with the air condition running while they wait on their respective ministers.
    Attempts to get the government's petrol bill from the Ministry of Finance failed after more than a month of telephone calls and emails. The Sunday Gleaner had initially sought the information from Manufacturers Credit and Information Services Limited, the company contracted by Government to supply advance cards to its ministries and agencies for the purchase of petrol and other such supplies. However, the company said that while the information is readily available, they needed approval from the Ministry of Finance to send it to the The Sunday Gleaner. But the ministry has not yet granted the permission.
    Despite weeks of waiting, the ministry is also yet to answer questions regarding the Government's Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Policy including whether fuel efficiency is considered by government when purchasing a vehicle. However, Sunday Gleaner calculations based on figures submitted by 10 government ministries showed that more than $47.9 million was spent to purchase fuel for a 12-month period. The estimated national fuel import for 2006 was US$1.5 billion.
    There seems to be no set rules governing the amount of petrol allotted to public officials. There are cases where the junior minister receives more money to purchase fuel than the minister.
    Aloun Assamba, Minister of Tourism, Entertainment and Culture, is allotted $30,000 a month to gas up the 2006 Toyota Landcruiser assigned to her, while her security officers receive another $30,000 to fuel the 2002 Landcruiser assigned to them. Mrs. Assamba's ministry has made a request to the Finance Ministry for a $5,000 increase to the allotment to her security personnel. Wykeham McNeill, the minister of state, is allotted $25,000 a month. But, a request has been made to increase his allotment to $32,000.
    Over in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Minister Anthony Hylton gets $25,000 per month to purchases petrol for his assigned 2006 Landcruiser while his junior minister, Delano Franklyn, is allocated $35,000 a month for the 2001 Mitsubishi Pajero he drives. The monthly allocations to the public officials for purchasing petrol is not necessarily exhausted in all cases.
    An additional $44.8 million for the year was spent by five of the 10 ministries on maintenance of their vehicles. The Ministry of Transport, Housing, Water and Works spent the most in both categories with $24.9 million and $33.3 million on fuel and maintenance, respectively, for its fleet which includes 30 SUVs, in 2006.
    The Ministry of Labour and Social Security, the Office of the Prime Minister and the Cabinet Office were not included in the survey. The Ministry of Agriculture and Land was also included, however, the lateness of their response excluded them from the investigations.
    Government's business
    In general, the information provided showed that six ministers and seven state ministers are assigned SUVs. Ministers are not the only ones driving SUVs but also permanent secretaries, other officials and security personnel.
    Of note is the fact that Finance Minister Dr. Omar Davies drives his own vehicle, according to Helen Rumbolt, director of documentation and information at the ministry. While Maxine Henry Wilson, Minister of Education does not drive an SUV, when she is about the Government's business, she rides in a 2006 3series BMW. Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller is still using the S80 Volvo bought for her in 2004 while she was Minister of Local Government.
    National Security Minister Dr. Peter Phillips has two vehicles at his disposal. The transport manager at the Ministry of National Security, Wilbert Johnson, revealed that Dr. Phillips still has the 2003 Toyota Crown motor car bought for him while he was Minister of Transport and Works and a 2001 Toyota Landcruiser, which belongs to the Port Authority. Some time last year, when the latter vehicle broke down, a 2006 Landcruiser was bought and temporarily assigned to Dr. Phillips until the 2001 vehicle was up and running again. Now the newer vehicle is assigned to the ministry's executive division and used in cases of emergency such as transporting much-needed infor-mation to the minister when he is in Parliament or to pick up important visitors at the airport and to carry them around during their stay on the island.
    Motor Vehicle Policy
    Motor vehicle purchases within the government service is guided by its Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Policy, which says that "the general upper limit for motor vehicles purchased by the Government of Jamaica for assignment to public officials" should not exceed US$27,500 c.i.f. (cost, insurance and freight), which translates to a little over $1.8 million.
    However, this does not include other local charges and the supplier's mark-up. As a result, some vehicles end up costing close to or more than a million dollars above the stipulated c.i.f.
    Usually, the ministries, which only pay five per cent concession on motor vehicles, end up paying somewhere in the region of $2.5 million for a 2006 Toyota Landcruiser Prado.
    However, according to the policy, the Minister of Finance and Planning reserves the right to give approval for the purchase of assigned vehicles above the general upper limit c.i.f. of US$27,500, where the minister deems it warranted. The policy failed to stipulate the grounds on which the minister could grant approval. Efforts to ascertain if Dr. Davies has invokedthis power during his more than 13 years as Finance Minister and on what grounds, were unsuccessful. tyrone.reid@gleanerjm.com

What is wrong with them driving Corollas?

That is our problem, we too big for our britches. If and when they get the country moving well on the way to real sustainable prosperity, then we can talk about big cyar.

Right now, they barely deserve bus fare. Steeeuuupps.

We are always putting the cart before the horse. Neva see come see business killing us.

So what happen when them use to drive Lada alone? How fast we forget?

I wonder if Karl ever visit Britain? You see some a the small car that Police and other public officals driving. We put the cart before the horse all the time. What is wrong with Carolla?

Oh please! Our elected officials deserve the best. Unuh expect the country fi run like patty shop? Carolla? Thats for commoners.

Jamaicans ... murcy!

Jamaica now paying the price for luxury
          While the Ministry of Justice does not appear on the Government's list of "ministries which may require rough-terrain vehicles", it has 11.
          At least one ministry has admitted that the purchase of high-end motor vehicles
          has hit the country where it hurts: in the coffers.
          "(It has been) recognised as a shortcoming and it is something that we are looking to correct," said Wayne Robertson, director of administration and asset manage-ment in the Ministry of Local Government and Environment. Mr. Robertson revealed that his recommendation to purchase motor cars for fleet drivers instead of SUVs has been accepted. However, he said that the nature of the work undertaken by the Ministry of Local Government does create the need for rough-terrain vehicles. Still, he admitted that SUVs were not needed to deliver mail, which is a current practice.
          He also noted that provision has been made in the ministry's budgetary allocation for the financial year that began last week Sunday to procure tracking devices for the vehicles owned by the ministry. This move, Mr. Robertson explained, is to prevent theft. Already, two vehicles under the ministry's portfolio have been stolen. A Toyota Landcruiser was stolen at gunpoint from Permanent Secretary Devon Rowe at his home, while a 2006 Toyota Hilux belonging to the Meteorological Division was also stolen. Neither of the vehicles has been recovered.
          While the Ministry of Justice does not appear on the Government's list of "ministries which may require rough-terrain vehicles", it has 11. Permanent Secretary in that Ministry, Carol Palmer, told The Sunday Gleaner that the list in circulation, which appears in the Government's Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Policy, is archaic and needs to be amended. She explained that approval for the purchase of all vehicles, including the SUVs, was received from the Finance Ministry.
          Mrs. Palmer pointed out that only three of the 11 SUVs are used for daily operations while the other seven are assigned to qualified officials such as judges.
          Mrs. Palmer defended the use of SUVs to transport equipment needed for the maintenance of the courts as well as plumbing supplies, "Yes, it is justified," she insisted. "It is not a frivolous operation that we run here." She said all but one of the ministry's SUVs use diesel fuel, which is cheaper than gasolene and is said to be more efficient.
          Mrs. Palmer, who was driving her own vehicle at the time of the ATI request in January, was assigned an SUV last month. She stated that her decision to acquire an SUV was not a fashion statement. She stressed that she needs to be able to get to the Ministry in cases of emergency caused by natural disasters. Additionally, Mrs. Palmer said that she needed a female-friendly vehicle that can take on the terrible road conditions. "As a woman, I need a vehicle on which I can rely," she said.
          Mrs. Palmer made it clear that she was not justifying the actions of the entire public sector. "I don't know what other people do," she said. Mrs. Palmer also gave the assurance that her ministry would not be purchasing anymore SUVs because the current complement would suffice.
          In addition to its SUVs, the Ministry of Justice has four 5-series BMWs and two S60 T5 Volvos.
          Glibert Scott, permanent secretary in the Ministry of National Security, also justified his ministry's decision to purchase the 21 fuel-devouring SUVs that are a part of its internal fleet. He argued that the bottom line is not panache but durability. "You have to get vehicles appropriate for usage," he said.
          While conceding that SUVs consumed more petrol than cars, Mr. Scott pointed out that when purchasing a vehicle, "the nature of our roads and terrain" were factors that must be taken into consideration.

Last edited by Mosiah; April 16, 2007, 12:01 PM.

Rahtid ... Mosiah yuh bringle bout dis. Apparently yuh nuh see the one bout BOJ.

I thought it was KArl and Jawge alone that can find flimsy excuses just like that.

She stressed that she needs to be able to get to the Ministry in cases of emergency caused by natural disasters. Additionally, Mrs. Palmer said that she needed a female-friendly vehicle that can take on the terrible road conditions. "As a woman, I need a vehicle on which I can rely," she said.

Of course mi bringle! Why does this poor ass country believe that our public officials need to be driving the biggest gas-guzzlers out there?! And this talk about some ome of them being deisel - crap! The other day the price of deisel exceeded regular 87! The difference is not that great. And even if deisel was efficient, I'm sure a sedan would be even more efficient than an SUV.

Lazie - let me outline the number of public entities that are slated to lose billions this year. I hope you have time.

1. Air Jamaica
              2. NROCC (Highway 2000 people)
              3. JUTC
              4. Sugar

I wish I had the numbers but billions is billions! So we don't need greedy politicians in SUVs!

Imagine the balls needed to come up with the reason - "we need good vehicles that can handle the bad roads."

Nuh fi di road!?!?

And by the way, Lazie, I don't expect the JLP to do anything different when they win the next election. Would be great if they surprise me, but I won't hold my breath.

I see yuh start to pay attention to reality. Better late than never. Lazie in a way is aware of the continued waste. Mi glad yuh post it still, hopefully Karl, Jawge and the other Komrades nuh matter what will see what yuh saying.

"And by the way, Lazie, I don't expect the JLP to do anything different when they win the next election. Would be great if they surprise me, but I won't hold my breath."

I see yuh still trying to be fair. I know, nobody expect anything good from the JLP. By the way, if you all nuh expect nothing good from the JLP, why yuh assume they gonna win the election? Careful, yuh almost sound like Karl and JAwge.

Dem is full of ********************. What the hell is wrong with them driving Corollas, Civics etc. The country will NEVER progress forward at the rate of how these fools are thinking. Let them buy the vehicle themselves and the Govt. reimburse them mileage.

And the stupid arse poor people are kept illiterate - them buying BMWs and people don't even have water that them can upgrade from the pit latrines.

BoJ's 'bashy' cars! - Approximately $150 million used to purchase cars for senior staff since 2004

Tyrone Reid, Enterprise Reporter

The Bank of Jamaica (BoJ) has spent close to $150 million in the last three years on motor vehicles for 40 of its 75 directors. At the same time, the [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]central [COLOR=orange! important]bank[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR], which has a total staff complement of 492 at the end of February 2007, is paying out $41.6 million per annum in upkeep to the remaining 35 directors who opt not to be assigned a [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]bank-owned[/COLOR][/COLOR] vehicle.
                    The bank's policy allows a qualifying officer, "who owns a suitable vehicle", to take the maintenance money instead of being assigned a bank-owned vehicle. One director, who opted for the cash, is taking home close to $2 million dollars a year or $162,500 monthly for vehicle maintenance.
                    Ten BMWs, including a $6.4 million 5-series sedan and five other 'Bimmers' that cost more than $5 million each, five Mercedes Benzes and 23 sports utility vehicles (SUVs) paint a picture of pure opulence in the parking lot at Nethersole Place - home of the central bank.
                    Official documents obtained under the Access to Information (ATI) Act showed that approximately another $37.5 million, was spent by the BoJ between January 2001 and September 2006 to buy 20 vehicles and a motor cycle, which are designated pool vehicles. Thirteen of the 20 vehicles were bought between 2004 and 2006. This pushes the total expenditure to approximately $185 million for 60 motor vehicles and a Honda bike, with the only six of them being more than five years old.
                    Louise Brown, senior director in the Economic Information and Publications Department at the BoJ, told The Sunday Gleaner recently that the central bank would not be able to respond to questions seeking justification for the money spent to purchase the cars and the upkeep being paid to the other senior staff members who are not assigned a bank-owned vehicle.
                    Justifying the expenditure "I am just not able to. I have so many other things doing. The information requested is not available today," Mrs. Brown said .

These public officials have no conscience. The country is in such a sad state, where politicians have no regard for saving the taxpayers money. They rule with impunity and all critics can just fu@k off. I hear some people say change must come by any means necessary, even if it means a French Revolution, where thieves disguised as politicians are shown the guillotine. But alas, the masses are low-literates, and their supporters only care if dem a eat a food!

" and their supporters only care if dem a eat a food!"

Stop throw word pon Karl and Jawge dem. I recall Maxine Henry Wilson saying that these scandals won't adversely affect the PNP. A man that constantly abuse his woman and knows she sees the abuse as love, yuh think him gonna stop?

Mosiah: As I have said on numerous occasions to Lazie - The cars are not the problems.

Hire persons who perform! Hell give those performers the cars and more! GET RID OF THE NON-PERFORMERS! I would rather give performers Benz and or whatever the most expensive car there is in the world to ride in...than give half-arsed performers donkeys!

...but, as so many in Jamaica think and see give the workers creature comforts and they would prefer to have a country of all equal as paupers...equally living under insufferable conditions. Sooooooo...the concentration is on the cars rather than the getting rid of the under-achievers and promoting achievers???? Go figure???!

I will stick by my hope that one day...one day, in the not too distant future, it shall be fiyah-ing of underachievers and the rewarding of those who will lead the country out of the pitiful state in which she now finds herself. Bout waste time pon cars??? Wake up, I beg you...to focus on who gets these rewards...achievers or underachievers???

PUT ACHIEVERS IN THE CARS - (just...if by chance, it is now taken to begin and end with the cars? CARS = proper salaries, etc., etc. = proper reward for those who would provide good return on such investment in competent persons...achievers) ..and, soon all JAMAICA will ride in such cars!

...bout mek fus bout car??? Unnnuh waaan som b@#$%t@#$$h lick!

Karl the cars are not the problem cause any well thinking person in the Minister of Finance would not allow these SUVs to be bought with tax payer money.

Jamaica for one reason that they use too much gas to be taken out of the peoples purse. If they must have SUVs why not RAV4 and smaller ones that get much more gas to the gallon. It is important for Government to set example and try to reduce expenditure. With all the SUVs and things the government giving can't they get people who can make simple decisions?

Government can't buy police cars, but they can buy SUV for other workers?

Karl the cars are not the problem cause any well thinking person in the Minister of Finance would not allow these SUVs to be bought with tax payer money.

Jamaica for one reason that they use too much gas to be taken out of the peoples purse. If they must have SUVs why not RAV4 and smaller ones that get much more gas to the gallon. It is important for Government to set example and try to reduce expenditure. With all the SUVs and things the government giving can't they get people who can make simple decisions?

Government can't buy police cars, but they can buy SUV for other workers?
                              Agree 100% with the stance of setting an example as far as it relates to impact on the environment. ...but, totally disagree with fighting the working over 'creature comforts'.

Assasin - The uproar is not about cars. It is about someone enjoying benefits...when I cannot! It just does not make sense fussing over 'tuppence' when what you need is 'millions' as production.

What would you say to everyone 'living high' if the production made the poorest millionaires? Would it not then be worth it! ...or, do you prefer everyone living in 'wattle and daub' ...or, put another way everyone driving SUVs or everyone walking? The problem is the output of each of those given an SUV. Some may deserve the car...others do not! Get rid of those who do not deserve it! ...so it should be in every area of our Jamaica life/society! Therein lies the problem - getting the producers where they should be! ...and, getting rid of the wasters!