The newspaper and police need to do a better job

• The newspaper and police need to do a better job

When certain people get arrrested, they are nameless and then it just goes away. An example is a "a pobular entertainer". Which leads to a lot of suss and speculation and people start suspecting numerous people. Yet the police can publish anybody name who they want to question and act as if they are criminals only for them to let them go and place no charge on this people. The people's name are already in the public domain even if they are innocent of any charge.

Interesting Point

When certain people get arrrested, they are nameless and then it just goes away. An example is a "a pobular entertainer". Which leads to a lot of suss and speculation and people start suspecting numerous people. Yet the police can publish anybody name who they want to question and act as if they are criminals only for them to let them go and place no charge on this people. The people's name are already in the public domain even if they are innocent of any charge.
    Interesting point, boss!

In Jamaica, defamation lawsuits are not the norm. If this were so, I strongly suspect that the cops would not be so discriminating as to whose character they potentially defame and those whose they go to lengths to protect.

BTW, I am not sure if the mass media are as guilty as the cops are.

My personal view is that islands with small populations are often at a disadvantage when it comes to fairness in the application of the law by police and the judiciary, because too many people are either acquainted with (directly or indirectly) or related to the people who are brought to justice. This may be a fallacious view, but it’s how I’ve often felt.

The constabulary and the rags that we have prtending to be newspapers are just failures when it comes to informing the public about arrests of the so called "Mr. Big". Total waste of ink and trees. I cant even understand why they w puould blish the article if they are not going to name the accused.

A closer look will show the ones that the media have no problem naming are from the PNP(Tesha "cellphone where"Miller ,DONald"put hym wha where"Zeeks, and the unnamed ones(maybe it has to do with being blessed with good lawyers)are from the other party.
        It was true in the case of the Western Kingston don that remained unnamed until a few days ago,it certainly was that case with Dudus too.
        I remember Observer Mark wrote an article in which all the dons he referred to were named except Dudus.
        Did not blame him though as no amount of well wishes can replace his front teeth, very wise of him BUT there IS that undeniable pattern.
        Last edited by Rockman; March 30, 2013, 11:27 PM.

look closely and you will see the poor people names are the ones who are not been called and the wealtier people are not. Often times you hear PNP or JLP area dons and "businessmen" evne though some are no businessmen.

It has a lot less to do with politics than with status. They have failed to name many PNP associated people as well. Miller and Zeeks were named only because they were in prison.

Miller and Zeeks had status, they were named by the media without any concrete evidence substantiating those embarrassing claims, it happened with Joel Andem, Dawg Paw, Danhai Williams(reported he was the one Adams got the illegal gun to plant in the Crawle/Kraal....,also leaked info he was snitching to the US authorities...).
            They were largely men of significant status with the common factor being supporters of the PNP party.When you think of entertainers that ran afoul of the tax laws, you can't help but picture BetweendeMan.
            KD Knight was vilified and Hugh Small propped up, despite the issue at hand being contentious for the JLP.
            Hell, even PJ was named in the suitcase of money which REALLY amounted to nothing.
            To be honest, I can't think of one PNP person....,can you?
            Okay, let us pay close attention to future cases.....

It was Adams who spoke to Danhai. Not untli long after Miller was charged his name wasn't in the public as even I was wondering who is this St.Catherine businessman/Don as I never hear of him before. Keep the watch and you will see it is more status than anything political. Look how long the M6 fellow took before his name was in the public domain.

Even Dudus name became public at some point. Tesha has not been punished for that disgusting thing that was alleged.

neither is Dudus or any one of them.