• Political objectivity

Political objectivity
    Rev Raulston Nembhard
    Saturday, April 14, 2007

In the context of the tribalised political context that we have in Jamaica, the difficulty that faces a pastor is how to maintain political objectivity while being true to his or her divine calling. If you want to remain true to your calling, it is difficult to juggle the severe responsibilities of a pastor while being fully involved in partisan political activism. Those who do so have discovered that far from being the ambassadors of reconciliation that their vocation requires, they have become agents of division and high sources of embarrassment to their flock. It is for this reason that this writer, as a priest, has refused to be a card-carrying member of any political party despite encouragements to do so.

A congregation inevitably is made up of people of all political stripes. Partisan loyalties strain the bonds of affection that should unite them. Fairness and objectivity are often the first casualties of partisan politics. Pastors who are prepared to mortgage or outsource their integrity and intelligence to a political party must answer for themselves as to where their true loyalties lie.

This is not to say that a pastor should not be concerned with political matters. Indeed, if he knows anything about the prophetic tradition in the Old Testament, he will understand that he shares in a great heritage of defiance against all principalities and powers that would visit injustice upon God's people. He has no choice but to realise that God takes an option for the poor, marginalised, powerless and voiceless in society. These are largely political matters about which he should be concerned. A great deal can be achieved by civil protest to achieve the objectives that God would require, but jumping on political bandwagons as prophets and seers or as political activists does not seem to me to be what the Lord requires.

It is a travesty to pin God to a political process whenever it becomes expedient to do so. It is okay for any religious leader to have religious faith. Values that are shaped by faith can be of immense help in the execution of one's professional office. This is true of politics as it is of any other profession. But it is disingenuous to use the name of God to secure political advantage. Those who would want to perpetuate this travesty must be warned that God may not be too patient with those who would want to besmirch His name in this way.

There are two other concerns that merit commentary at this time. The first is the prime minister's achievements in the first year. I believe that it is a bit disingenuous for the prime minister to have claimed the spectacular success that she has after having been in office for one year, when it seems quite obvious that she merely rode on the back of her predecessor. Furthermore, the country has not seen any attempt to correct the excesses of government that are of great concern to the people. This is especially so in the area of corruption and overruns and especially in the credibility gap created by the Trafigura issue. Instead, and at her own admission, she has elected to continue the work of Mr Patterson, even against rational empirical evidence that she ought to move in decisively new directions. Hopefully, with divine guidance and prophetic sustenance from her soothsayers she may yet see the light.

The second matter regards Mr Mike Henry's call for increased salary for parliamentarians.To begin with, it is injudicious to be making such a call at this time. The people certainly are in no mood to grant parliamentarians an increase when it is obvious that many of them are not doing the work they have been elected to do. Too many of our parliamentarians do not know where the interests of their political parties end and where those of the people of Jamaica begin when they are placed in that august body.
    They seem not to realise that as legislators they are sworn to protect and defend the people and constitution of Jamaica.

This means, among other things, ensuring that Parliament functions in a way that serves the best interest of all the people of Jamaica. All 60 representatives in that noble house (a nobility that has been degraded over the years by the childish petulance of some) must go into deep soul-searching about how much they have lived up to their oath to protect and defend the people of Jamaica. The rampant criminality that is destroying so much of our national life is a clear indication that those whom we elect to protect us have failed miserably to do so. Mr Henry and those who think like him must be told in no uncertain terms that being a parliamentarian is not essentially about whom you bury, how many funerals you attend or even which road gets fixed.
    There is a higher standard to which you are all called. Too many of you have forgotten what this standard is. And you dare to ask for a salary increase.Fahget it!

- stead6655@aol.com

Captured by the election fever
    Shirley Williams
    Sunday, April 15, 2007

Sunday, April 1 marked the end of Portia Simpson-Miller's first year as prime minister of Jamaica. The People's National Party (PNP) placed full page advertisements in the two leading newspapers, lauding the prime minister on her major achievements in her first year.
    Shirley Williams
    Then, on Monday night, they held a celebration rally in the car park of the National Stadium. I cannot recall anytime in recent memory when such a hullabaloo was made over a prime minister's first 365 days in office. Amidst all this excitement, she must be judged by the reality of the facts.

Achievements

I find the claimed list of achievements an insult to the intelligence of the Jamaican people as the majority of them were not initiated within the past year, nor could they have been achieved in one year. A blatant example is the: "record levels of investments as a result of a stable economy - primarily in the tourism and housing industry".

Precisely what is being claimed here? Is it that since March 31, 2006 investors rushed into Jamaica, dumped cash and or investment proposals into the tourism and housing sectors? Or is this a reference to the several hotels on the North Coast which were approved for construction years ago, some of which have since been completed while others are still under construction? What right does the prime minister have to claim these as her achievements?

Equally unfortunate are the attempts to similarly ascribe praise to the prime minister for the "increased tourist arrivals and increased hotel rooms with investments primarily from Spanish Hotel chains." As previously stated, these investments materialised years before the prime minister assumed office and ought not to be credited to her period of tenure.

Unemployment rate

There is the claim that unemployment is at 8.9%, the lowest rate in 40 years? The fact is that more than half of our work force (over 600,000 persons) currently do not work, that is, they are non-productive. These persons are not included in the number of persons who are unemployed, hence, the misleading representation of a 8.9% unemployment rate.
    I question this method of presenting the statistics. Further, I am not aware that there is any other country which classifies its unemployed as is done here in Jamaica. In the final analysis, whatever maybe the classification, no country can move forward with such a large percentage of its population being non-productive.

Here is a reality check prime minister, drive through your constituency, or any other inner-city community, and note the number of young persons 'sitting on the wall'. Or perhaps, you may wish to brief yourself on the number of university graduates, not to mention school leavers, who find it impossible to find a job. Politicians fool only themselves when they talk about a low unemployment rate in Jamaica.

Interest & inflation rates

The advertisements give the impression, that interest rate is the lowest in 20 years and that an inflation rate in 2006 of 5.8% as against 12.9% in 2005 are achievements of Portia Simpson Miller's tenure.

Data published on the Bank of Jamaica website show that the average commercial bank's lending rate in March 2006 was 21.84% and 21.9% in March 2007. So there has been no downward movement in interest rates since Portia Simpson Miller assumed office. Incidentally, perhaps the prime minister needs to remind herself that average lending rates at the end of 1989 was 28% (Jamaica Economic & Social Survey) and that it was the current administration, of which she has since been a part that rocketed the interest rates to 55% and more throughout the 1990s. It would serve the prime minister well to realise that her government has an obligation to reduce lending rates to levels competitive with our trading partners. A visit to the website of the Central Bank of Trinidad & Tobago will show you prime minister that prime lending rate in that country is 11.75%. Our current lending rates of which you boast are non-competitive!

A review of the monthly inflation rates between March 2006 and March 2007 show the rate moving from 0.1 in March 2006, peaked at 1.5 in June 2006 and moved down to 0.3 in February 2007. So inflation has increased, not decreased during Prime Simpson Miller's one year tenure.

NIR

Now, here we have the PNP lauding the prime minister for record levels of NIR. Bank of Jamaica's website states that the estimated gross official reserves in weeks of goods and services imports were 20.1 in March 2006 and 16.44 in February 2007, a clear decline.

Sports

Including the improvements to Sabina Park and the completion of the stadium in Trelawny in the prime minister's list of achievements is a desperate attempt to build points where none exist. Improvements to both these facilities were in progress before the Prime Minister assumed office; their completion for the start of World Cup Cricket is the least that the Jamaican people expected.

Party financing

During her speech at the recent rally, the prime minister is reported as saying that the PNP is prepared to open its books to Jamaica but claimed that the 'JLP cannot do that'. If the PNP is willing to disclose the names of its contributors, as she claims, what is the reason for its objections to presenting confirmation to the country that the funds were indeed returned to Trafigura? This is needed in light of conflicting statements from the party's spokespersons as to the mode of payment. Prime Minister, you have offered to disclose the names of contributors to your party, go ahead and do it, why wait? While you are doing so, give us the confirmation of the return of funds to Trafigura.

Realities
    The fact is that the prime minister during her first year in office has failed to lead from in front, but rather sadly has followed from behind, failing to take charge when needed. Here are a few examples.

Cement crisis

During the most severe crisis to hit the country in recent memory, where thousands were laid off and hundreds suffered financial losses due to the issue of non-conforming cement in the market place, the prime minister failed to take control in a timely manner to avert the impending disaster to the construction and distributive sectors.

Trafigura scandal

Then came the Trafigura scandal when her silence was deafening for quite some time. The country will not forget her words when questioned about the return of the Trafigura funds, "Ask the PNP" was her response.

LNG fall out

Within one month of taking office, the prime minister visited Trinidad & Tobago (in April 2006) 'to seal a deal for the supply of natural gas'. At the end of the visit, the country was told that she had negotiated an agreement with Trinidad & Tobago for the long term supply of natural gas by the year 2009. Before the end of the year the country would be told of the cancellation of the agreement, despite the apparent close ties between the two countries. I question whether the prime minister has indeed satisfied the country that she has reached an understanding with Venezuela's Chavez to 'pick up the slack' in supplying natural gas to Jamaica.
    I sense instead, a wait-and-see attitude having had a failed agreement with Trinidad, a close ally and trading partner.

World Cup Cricket

The government failed dismally in its preparation for World Cup Cricket. In my opinion, with the exception only of the opening ceremony which was professionally executed, critical aspects such as the clean-up and beautification campaign, remain at less than desirable levels.

Then there was the unfortunate murder of Bob Woolmer. The handling of his murder with to date three conflicting cause of death is more than unfortunate for the country and the family of the deceased. I said in my then column, and I now repeat my concerns for the constant disclosure of intricate details of the investigation. In other jurisdictions, (as I believe is the case in Canada and the UK), such details would have been the privy of only the coroner as their disclosure would be prejudicial to the inquest. I again urge Mr Shields and his team to desist from this detailed disclosure of the investigations.

Overview

In summary, it is my view that the lack of tangible achievements in the prime minister's direct handling of governance has led the PNP to ascribe to her, credits for which she has no ownership. The prime minister and her party are captured in an election fever which has forced them to misrepresent the facts to the people of this country. It is my wish that our citizens will hold tightly to their common sense and not allow themselves to be pulled into the deceitful web of the election fever.

The Rev Nembhard and Shirley Williams are guilty of expecting dispassionate persons to blast the PM for failures that occured during the past year and at the same time...looking at the same one year period, separate the PM from successfully carring on programs which she inherited.

I am sure, Rev Nembhard and Mrs. Shirley Williams would...as we all would, lamblast the PM if those successful projects the PM inherited and had presided over this past year were lead down the path of failure. If I am correct...and, I am in no doubt of that...then equally if new projects signalling success come on stream and others which were being successes on-going, continue on that path of success then they must be added to/counted as achievements of the PM. That's fair! ...that's right! ...isn't it?

Truth is Rev Nembhard and Mrs. Williams are joined together in trying to perpetuate a falsehood. It does not even 'make sense' saying successes under the PM's watch are not her's to claim, but failures under her watch are her's. Cannot be! The actions of Nembhard and Williams - corrupt actions! ...but, it is par for the course. The entire society has rampant corruption!
      Last edited by Karl; April 16, 2007, 10:26 PM.

"It is my wish that our citizens will hold tightly to their common sense and not allow themselves to be pulled into the deceitful web of the election fever"

Common sense? Please! After hearing her response to what her plans are for Jamaica, I figured this is just another con artist.

The Rev Nembhard and Shirley Williams are guilty of expecting dispassionate persons to blast the PM for failures that occured during the past year and at the same time...looking at the same one year period, separate the PM from successfully carring on programs which she inherited.

I am sure, Rev Nembhard and Mrs. Shirley Williams would...as we all would lamblast the PM if those successful projects the PM has presided over this past year were lead down the path of failure. If I am corect...and, I am in no doubt of that...then equally the if new projects signalling success come on stream and others which were being successes on-going, countine on that path must be added to achievements of the PM. That's fair! ...that's right! ...isn't it?

Truth is Rev Nembhard and Mrs. Williams are joined together in trying to perpetuate a falsehood. It does not even 'make sense' saying successes under the PM's watch are not her's to claim, but failures under her watch are her's. Cannot be! The actions of Nembhard and Williams corrupt actions! ...but, it is par for the course. The entire society has rampant corruption!
          Thank yuh Karl. Yuh just proved my point that common sense isn't too common with you people.