An Industry of Scammers

• An Industry of Scammers

Insurance scam: Lawyers, doctors, 'accident victims' collaborate to swindle millions

Published: Thursday | March 21, 2013 10 Comments

Peter Levy, vice-president-elect of the IAJ

SSP Radcliffe Lewis

Livern Barrett, Gleaner Writer
    Still grappling to contain the scourge of the deadly lottery scam, the Jamaican police say they have uncovered an emerging insurance scam which criminals are using to bilk local companies out of millions of dollars.

Insurance company executives and police investigators say the scam is being perpetrated by a "very organised" group of persons, who pay individuals to make false reports claiming that they were passengers in motor vehicles which were involved in legitimate crashes.

According to one senior investigator, these 'victims', who usually complain about whiplash and other injuries common in crashes, are paid as much as $1 million by the insurance company to settle their claims.

"We don't know how they get the information (about the legitimate crashes) …. This is something new to the police," the senior investigator said.
    The Insurance Association of Jamaica (IAJ) confirmed that it was aware of the practice, which it says drives up the cost of insurance for "all the innocent people and all the good drivers".

INCREASE IN PREMIUMS
    Seeking to explain this increase, vice-president-elect of the IAJ, Peter Levy, said if insurance companies make payments on claims that are not genuine, then it adds to their costs and "we have to charge more premiums to cover those costs".

Levy reasoned: "If the insurance companies … collect $1 billion in premiums in a year and that was sufficient to cover the claims and then you add another significant level of claims for fraudulent activities, the premium is no longer sufficient."

He said in recent years, local insurance companies have seen a "dramatic increase" in claims for soft-tissue injuries with a significant number of them "coming from a handful of attorneys who seem to specialise in this field".

"The sums [of money] involved make it vulnerable to fraud, but it's hard for us to find any direct evidence of fraud," said Levy, who has responsibility for general insurance at the IAJ.

He said insurance companies are seeing cases where injuries are exaggerated. There were other cases in which the person filing the claim was never in the vehicle "at all", and there were instances where an accident did not occur.

"You get two people to collaborate with a story and you don't need the accident anymore. The two supposed drivers go to the police station and report it and now there is a police record," the IAJ executive explained.

"Often, the police are not necessarily going to the scene, unless it is a serious accident with significant life-threatening injuries or fatalities, so it's very easy to get that into the record," he added.

Senior Superintendent Radcliffe Lewis, who heads the Police Traffic Division, revealed yesterday that the police are aware of the scam and said preliminary investigations have indicated that "several prominent lawyers and doctors" are involved.

According to Lewis, the lawyers are responsible for recruiting the 'stagers' - the persons who find the volunteers to be used in the staged motor-vehicle crashes - while the doctors charge a fee of between $250,000 and $300,000 to supply 'medical certificates' that attest to the injuries supposedly suffered by these 'victims'.

One investigator disclosed that he was aware of one case in which a motorist who was involved in a crash reported receiving a telephone call shortly after and was told that he was "suffering from whiplash and pain in the lower part of his tummy".

"That person (motorist) was told that they can earn as much as $1 million and was instructed which doctor to visit," the investigator told The Gleaner yesterday.

Lewis revealed that the police are aware of several cases that will be turned over to the Major Organised Crime and Anti-Corruption Task Force (MOCA) and the Organised Crime Investigation Division (OCID) for a joint high-level probe.
    He explained that the probe was being turned over to MOCA and OCID because the police want to nip it in the bud before it turns violent like the lottery scam.

livern.barrett@gleanerjm.com

Jamaica's biggest product is now tief?

I for one am not shedding any tears for the insurance companies...talk bout scams...

More like a nation of scammers.

With all due respect to any Forumite that works in the industry, but insurance is the biggest scam! Would love to laugh at them when they get tricked but they will have the last laugh.

My excess is damn near more than my yearly premium...yeah they will always get the last laugh...

I had a serious MVA a few yeas ago...faulty traffic light [both green] and a car rammed me from the side..was hospitalized for a short while..luckily right in front of a pvt hospital....my friends got video footage..as well as eyewitnesses...long story short...insurance company fixed my car [lost my no-claim] BUT claimed I was wrong and ran a red light....EVEN with all the evidence...even got the municipality to say the lights were working...if I never insisted and threatened legal action PLUS go to the top wldn't received a cent....

More like a nation of scammers.
                the USA has more people scamming insurance companies of all types than any other..

We have people, including corporations, scamming everybody all the time. And even worse many of us take pride in that.

"Jamaicans can beat any system, hah hah hah"

Sounds very typical. One of them tried to rip my family out of paying a life insurance claim one time...backed off when they thought it might get to the press.

i was just thinking that they must have got this from the US. A lot of it was been done in the 90s. The Fed clamp down on a lot in the 90s but it is still around.

With all due respect to any Forumite that works in the industry, but insurance is the biggest scam! Would love to laugh at them when they get tricked but they will have the last laugh.
                        Biggest thief fi real. Look pon the destruction that Sandy reek pon people, and the bitches give every excuse in the book not to pay.

Me had to throw out everything, file claim, but no reimbursement. Everytime I think I have an issue, I call them, make them pay smaddy to come out and inspect, for mi done know that them not giving me anything. Mi call them three times aready and man come out.............

The last man come, mi feel sorry for him, for him couldn't even set the ladder right to go on the roof. Mi laff so till...............

Medicare/Medicaid is still very corrupt. Estimates as high as 30-40% of claims are fraudulent

Wow, I guess we are lucky here. Insurance dear but dem tend to pay without a fuss. In the US and Jamaica, it seems its their raison d'Etre NOT to pay...

A Haitian youth try one on me. One night he trailed me in a Jamaican store, His girlfriend sitting accross the street in his car. Them days a use to drive a sports car. He watch me come out of the Jamaican story. He bought soup. He was standing on the sidewalk, knock on my window and said, you nearly hit me". Next thing I know my insurance telling about claim that I hit someone.

He said I hit him and he fell, people accross the street was shouting(mind it was his girlfriend and she never said a word) The story owner could see outside and never saw nothing. He went to a medical place that was lter busted by the feds for this kind of behavior. I had to go to insurance court with the guy. His girlfriend got afraid and didn't show up and he got nothing. As did a background on him, it wasn't the first he did this and he had no job, basically it seems he had some success before.

The guy who owned the Medical facilities got busted on day and the feds clean out his place, his home and took his range rover amongst other things.