Farmers cheated as Kingston exporter goes MIA

dat only help to scare away birds dat eating di crops !

Tell dem fi me, dem farmers too gullible.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        Tell dem fi me, dem farmers too gullible.
        It's always easy to blame the victim, but never forget career criminals are exactly that, they spend a lifetime studying(some even have degrees in thieving) how to rob poor people. These are scumbags who will always behave as scumbags.

That's true.........

Thanks.

Not blaming them...but if you want to engage in business learn the game before you play...makes no sense to bawl down the place now...not like this is some extravagant scam or something...

Really?. How do you know how extravagant it was?.

The article is pretty clear...they supplied goods to the exporter and were to be paid fortnightly after the delivery...can't get any simpler than that...even after not being paid for the first delivery they sent another delivery...sound complicated to you?

Look, in any scam someone is simply paid(in cash, goods, or kind) by another, and the someone makes off with the cash, goods, or kind, without giving the promised cah, goods, or kind, but within that seemingly simple transaction there may be layers and layers of complicated trickery. Do you know the type of agreements made, with respect to the contractual agreements made by the farmers to supply certain quantities in a certain time etc. ?. What, the thief just went to the farmers and said, "All a unnu put all a unnu pepper, punkins, etc inna da trailer ya, and stay ya so me soon cum back?". Come on, they are farmers, may not have gone to UWI, but give them some credit. Tom might be drunk but Tom not necessarily fool. There must be some degree of sophistication to the scheme. Many of the persons robbed by Bernie Madoff had PHds. Many of the Cash Plus victims have degrees from UWI, no less. A thief studies the system, and knows every possible scenario that can arise ansd how to get around them, and it is made easier in Ja, where the thief is usually in bed with the police, the government, and the haberdashers. Give the farmers a break with this, they-must-be-stupid nonsense.

They even signed a contract, didn't the farmers?

Okay, I know all about contracts, but let's be easy on the victims here.

In this case Tom is a fool...you supply goods...aren't paid...so you supply more goods...sound smart to me

There you go again. Have you ever ran a business?. I have been chief of surgical departments where vendors supply the departments with millions of dollars worth of supplies, on the condition that they get paid by a certain time, and for some reason they never got paid by the planned date, but hospitals and surgery being what they are, require constant supplies by the same vendors, especially in cases where a particular hardware/prosthesis is made only by a single company. These vendors don't just cut the hospital off, but they continue to supply the department, and they eventually get paid for all their supplies. It is called trust and honesty. It is not that Bard Surgical, Boston Scientific or Ethicon are stupid, but business requires a certain level of trust, goodwill and honesty between parties involved. The farmers were simply robbed, and unlike you Bricky, I am not about to blame the farmers, or see them as fools. Cut the farmers some slack here. What I would like to see happen, is the farmers get about 5 to 7 minutes in a room with this guy so they can ask him why he did it, after which we could call 119, or Maden to do the rest.
                          Last edited by Reggaedoc; March 19, 2013, 03:11 PM.

Trust and honesty...and a million dollar legal team...good try though

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                              What I would like to see happen, is the farmers get about 5 to 7 minutes in a room with this guy so they can ask him why he did it, after which we could call 119, or Maden to do the rest.

What I would love to see is the thiefing business man being paraded through the community with some karate blows hailing down.

Yes, this time I have to think violence, for it nuh easy to toil the land in the hot, hot sunshine.

Trust and honesty...and a million dollar legal team...good try though
                                How many sheisters(lawyers) should the farmers retain to sell some pmmkins, pepper, calaloo etc for them not to be considered fools in your book Bricky?.