Mosiah I put the question sign because I can't believe this was what Omar was responding to. I don't see direct reference to Omar.
Where in this Mark not telling giving recollection of what happened in the 90's? Please show. Again Omar just believe he did nothing wrong.
Do you know the interest rate the IMF is cutting right now is a direct response to bonds sold at high interest rate 5-10 years ago at the least????
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
If I recall there were 3 finance ministerd during the 1990s. Froggy Mullings, Hugh Small, and Omar Davis. Nowhere did Mark said everything happened under Omar Davis. No where did Mark talk about the national reserves.
Did he? That NIR is the only positivie economic factor that Omar left us with. Let him name another during his tenure. Ask anybody who study a little economics, you don't have to believe me. The NIR is just money put aside, it doesn't tell how well the economy and economic principle. I can Davis a so many questions to answer as durning his days you had the most tax dodgers and people not paying taxes, you had the highest inflation rates, the highest interest rates, the highest bond rate, lowest productivity and the biggest drop in GDP. He might a decent man but it doesn't take away from the polices he made.
He is the longest serving finace minster Jamaica has ever seen for 14 years and if he couldn't correct the ship in 14 years, he need to try to be help in what he did wrong or go oneside, not pop up defending everything that went wrong.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Mo, its a minor point and probably not related to Wignall. Columnists dont usually choose photo captions, rather its the editorial staff.
Omar himself says that the text does not mention his name, so its a minor gripe.
As to the NIR, that is expensive borrowed money that is causing us problems now.
With all that is facing us, this is a red herring.
Its a bullshyt letter. I dont blame Omar for writing it to ensure a certain precision and to deflect from the many areas where he is culpable, BUT, I dont see why sensible people like us should give it too much mileage.
So who is the GodFaada of the Tivarli Development Moggle? Shearer?? LOL
Seaga, Wills Isaacs, Manley, Tony Spaulding et al ... but Seaga sit at di head ah dat table
Dat JLPNP underdevelopment & crime syndicate moggle results in a -7% GDP/year haircut...mi guesstimate bout US$60 Billion in lost output since it start inna di 1960s...dats 400% of current GDP