• Remembering the late former Prime Minister Michael Manley

Remembering the late former Prime Minister Michael Manley

Thursday, March 07, 2013

Yesterday marked the 16th anniversary of the passing of former Prime Minister Michael Manley who died on March 6, 1997. Family members and members of the Michael Manley Foundation gathered yesterday at National Heroes Park in Kingston, where the late People’s National Party president is interred, to lay floral tributes in remembrance of him. Manley was the fourth prime minister of independent Jamaica and is especially remembered for a slew for social legislation and institutions in the 1970s which changed Jamaica forever. These include: equal pay for women; maternity leave with pay; status of children (abolishing bastardy); national minimum wage, and the National Housing Trust. Here are some scenes from the ceremony:

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2MtxOHtuh

He changed Jamaica forever fi chue.... for the worse..

Let me call you out,I need specifics,how he did that?
      If you can't find anything worth saying regarding that then do reconsider...
      Adduce facts in support of of what you said.

Call me out ??

Only a Manley Cultist would not see the obvious...

<However, the country’s economy was stagnant long before the credit crunch. In real terms Jamaicans are no richer today than they were in the early 1970s. And most of the island’s enduring problems, like its public finances, are home-made.> - Economist

When yuh tink we left the path of prosperity unto the road of perdition ?

And nuhbaddah tell mi bout which beach mi can guh and where mi can get nuh job as a teller.. Mi can guh duh dat in any Caricom Country..