• Moody's downgrades Jamaica’s rating to Caa3

Moody's downgrades Jamaica’s rating to Caa3

8:17 am, Thu March 7, 2013

Jamaica has been hit with another downgrade by the ratings agency, Moody's. The firm on Wednesday cut Jamaica's sovereign foreign currency credit rating to Caa3 from B3, citing the recent domestic debt exchange as a distressed event that still leaves the country with a high debt burden.
    Jamaica last month launched a National Debt Exchange (NDX) to alleviate the financing pressures of its sizeable debt load.
    Moody's in a statement outlining its reasoning for the rating action, said Jamaica's still high debt burden remains unchanged since the announced restructuring did not impose any principal haircuts. Moody's has projected that Jamaica's 2013 debt metrics, at 119 per cent of gross domestic product and 470 per cent of revenues, are among the highest of all rated sovereigns.
    On Wednesday, Standard & Poor's raised Jamaica's credit rating to CCC+ from default, following the completion of the NDX which received support from 99 per cent of bondholders.

Gwaan Moody's!!

hope you not cheering.

Why not??

Moody's is doing an excellent job of risk assessment...I apprecilove excellence of any kind and try to look for the positive in all situations
        Last edited by Don1; March 7, 2013, 12:22 PM.

Seems kinda creepy that you would cheer.

Creepy? Mi nuh undastan dat atall

I have seen you post so many times that you're a positive person...has this outlook changed for you?

No this nuh mean nothing positive for Jamaica, that is why mi nah cheer.

Yes them do their job but put Jamaica in Junk or close to that. Can't cheer at all.

Still positive and how we can reverse the trend.

I wasn't cheering Jamaica's plight...in fact I didn't comment on that as there's nothing new there.

I just recognized Moody's good job...they've took a battering during the meltdown suh mi juss waan show dem some love

Yuh wrang mi??
                Last edited by Don1; March 7, 2013, 12:57 PM.